We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Zocalo

Save Saved
You added Hostal Zocalo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Zocalo
Calle 63 #508 Planta Alta, Col, Merida ., Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty lodging in Merida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Beautiful building and location. The only downside was the smell of the bathrooms that are actually in the female dorm. Really terrible smell and the wifi doesn't reach the room I was in. Great breakfast and very helpful staff and awesome location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    80
    29
    6
    11
See reviews for
14
93
89
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

i'm in mexico for a month alraedy...
is the best hostel untill now, clean, nice,
and the people are really kind....
easy going place, no rush, no stress, you can find the time for yourself and find new friends

and...the hostel is in the center, right on the zocalo...



good place

andrea

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We got a room overlooking the plaza with its own balcony, which was magical. Nice high ceilings, friendly staff. The bathrooms could use some work, but the breakfast was nice, and the location is absolutely fantastic. The dorms didn't look special, so shoot for the rooms just to the left of the check in desk. Those are the good ones, and worth the extra money. There's two beds, so you can split the cost if you're traveling with a friend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in the mixed dorm that had the female bathroom - all the females had to walk through the dorm to get to it, so it was a little bit inconvenient . Otherwise the room was okay; the hostel is located right at the central plaza.

The staff is friendly, and helpful to traveling to areas around Merida.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Excellent location, average hostel. I stayed one night in the women's dorm for 140 pesos. The layout makes it so that all the women have to walk through the women's dorm in order to get to the bathroom. That's my biggest complaint--lots of disruption during the evening, night, and morning. Otherwise, the hostel is pretty clean, has pleasant decor, and a filling breakfast. There is a well-stocked (though not super clean) kitchen available. I was impressed with how comfortable my bed was. Staff and guests smoke all throughout the common spaces of the hostel, even though there is a '100% smoke-free' sticker posted. There is wi-fi and a computer available, though it was down during the time I was there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

After traveling from Hawaii, many hours later, we arrived in Merida and at the door of Hostal Zocalo. Just like we'd been warned online, they had no record of our reservation....even though we had prepaid 10%, luckily it was slow season and the place was probably only 30% full. We were greeted warmly upstairs, and shown to a private room with bathroom downstairs, and it felt great to stretch out on a comfy bed.
At 11p we were unsure what would be available to do/see/eat, but headed out to the plaza to find out. What a sight. The plaza is directly in front of H Zocalo, and what a beautiful scene it is at night. There were still plenty of people relaxing on benches and chairs, mariachi musicians awaiting someone to play for, horse drawn buggies to be rented on every corner, a lovely open air art exhibition, the main attraction on the plaza is the old church/fort and it is lit up beautifully at night, an ice cream parlor, an espresso cafe next door to the hostel, a few pharmacias, and some lively and friendly young men selling the best (the best, we went again in the morning) fresh fruit popsicles i have ever had!
The plaza is perfect for a late night stroll, the scene was gorgeous in the late night June humidity, and those still about were friendly and not bothered by a picture snapping tourist.
The offering of omelettes and fresh fruits with coffee and tea and juice were a perfect touch for weary travelers, and the place to interact with fellow travelers from all over the world. English was somewhat widely spoken within the staff and visitors, and any attempt at my poor spanish speaking was appreciated and met with smiles and a laugh.
Great stay on a picturesque and friendly plaza. 20 minute walk to ADO bus station, or 4 minute cab ride which ran about $5 us.

Room Tip: downstairs room was very quiet, with huge high celings and working fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

I really loved the place, it's an historical big house very well located. And the staff: it's the best ever =)

Guillermo

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zocalo

Address: Calle 63 #508 Planta Alta, Col, Merida ., Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty lodging in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Zocalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Zocalo Hotel Merida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Zocalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.