We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xcanatun for a very special evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Xcanatun - Casa de Piedra

Hacienda Xcanatun - Casa de Piedra
Calle 20 S/N por 19 y 19A, Merida 97302, Mexico
(999) 9302140
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hacienda Xcanatun - Casa de Piedra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 394 Restaurants in Merida
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Yucatan, Mexico
1 review
“Xcanatun for a very special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a beautiful setting for a special dinner experience. The food is excellent, the menu is extensive, and the service is impeccable. I must specially compliment the staff which is beyond accommodating without being intrusive. As a New Yorker I have been taught to expect the best and Xcanatun delivers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    29
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

A lovely patio where the waiters lit all the candles to provide a magical ambiance (even though we were the only ones dining!)
Beet salad starter was good but a bit mundane. The entre of Grouper (a whitefish) nestled on a bed of garlic mashed potato and sauté spinach topped with zuchinni and pumpkin seeds was outstanding. The flan, crepes in dulce le leche and the chocolate madness cake were all first class. Service was attentive and courteous. Don't miss this dining experience !

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The maitre'd was rude, acted like he did not want to be there. never a smile on his face. The waiter was wonderful. happy cheerful and greeted us. The food was delicious. but the maitred ruined the entire experience for us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Is a Must when you are in Merida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Is out of Mèrida City, but you have to go, try please the "filete relleno de cochinita" or the Duck, olso the fishes are very very good, some times they had special´s , so ask for them, the drinks and the wines are very good, and the "hacienda" because xcanatun is a hotel boutique, that used to be a "hacienda Yucateca" is very Beautiful

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, very good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We heard great things about this place, lots of good reviews for dinner and lunch and then someone told us about breakfast and then this lastweek we decided to give it a try. The place really is beautiful and peaceful. We were there for a late breakfast, around 10:30 am ( they only serve breakfast until 11:30 am) and it was not crowded but there were like busy 5-6 tables outside ( terrace by the garden) and only one more inside.
The food was quite good, several options for ommeletes with different combinations of veggies and cheeses; also the option of fruit plates and pancakes, and crepes.
We had two types of omelettes one of them was the the goat cheese one, and the mushroom spinach crepes with poblano sauce, and I cant remember what else but everyone liked their food. The pastries ( banana bread, and croissant like pastries) were good too, and the orange juice was fresh and delicious. Service was outstanding really, and our food arrived quickly. I would love to go back, but, even though breakfast was really good, I would definitely try to be here for dinner next time. I would love to see this place at night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Xcanatun - Casa de Piedra also viewed

Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Hacienda Xcanatun - Casa de Piedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Xcanatun - Casa de Piedra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.