We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WEEKEND TO REMEMBER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa San Angel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa San Angel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Casa San Angel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Montejo #1 x 49 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 87 hotels in Merida
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A WEEKEND TO REMEMBER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just stepping into the central patio of this architectural jewel located in the very start of the Elysean-like Paseo de Montejo, is an invitation to travel in time. The owners have respected the atmosphere of the 19th Century glamour and every room is unique in ammenities and decor. We stayed in a second floor suite with a balcony overlooking the Remate park, where on saturday night´s trouvadors stroll by ready to offer a serenata to any couple in love. The romantic trio music is soothing and melodious, filling the archways of the large main patio of this beautiful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
86
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

All the reviews were accurate! This is a wonderful hotel centrally located in Merida. Outstanding service rendered by Roberts and his team. The small restaurant serves very good food along with professional service. Beautifullyddecorated and very comfortable. An elevator is being installed to make access to upper floor even easier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playadelcarmen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was Location Location Location!! We were centered between the Centro Plaza and the famous Paseo de Montejo. They provide parking and we never had to use our vehicle until the last day when we drove out to the Gran Museo del Mundo Mayan. The restaurant was also excellent. Especially the coffee. We thought the menu was a little small but everything we ordered was absolutely wonderful!! I cant wait to return. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful when we arrived. The gift shop is also a must see. A wonderful selection of items from different parts of Mexico with high quality material. The seating area of the lobby was peaceful and beautiful and the rooms were very clean. My favorite was the hammock hanging inside the room. I slept all night and felt very rested in the morning! This was an extra sleeping accommodation. There were also the two beds in our double room. I cant tell you how comfortable the beds are because I only slept in the hammock, but my room mate said she slept well too. I look forward to returning soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Casa San Angel for 2 weeks while in Merida on business. My colleague and I were both very happy with our rooms, the service, the restaurant, and the hotel staff. The rooms were comfortable and so relaxing. Bathroom is spacious and the walkin shower was wonderful.

The food at the restaurant was great--I loved the lemonade, chicken salad, and cucumber soup. Breakfast is the best around.

We really enjoyed the parrots and the cats were pretty cool too.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just got back from another great breakfast. The staff, the food and the service are the best in town. Treat yourself to a great breakfast and head to Casa San Angel, The huevos Motulenios, they are the best in town...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hotel Casa San Angel was fabulous from the moment we walked in the door. From the open courtyard, and the two adorable housecats, to the great King sized bed, it was a delightful experience.The hammock in the room was a nice touch as well! The entire staff did everything to make our time comfortable and memorable, with a special shoutout out to Roberto, who was a gem in helping us with our car issues through his great translating. Air conditioner and fans worked perfectly and were greatly appreciated in the 100+ degree weather. If you're looking for the perfect Yucatan experience in your hotel, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARUBA/CURCAO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel very quiet and full of ambience. Rooms and hotel exactly as shown on their web site. All the staff were so helpful and knowledgable about the city and what it had to offer. The best boutique hotel i have ever stayed in. Don't miss the beautiful pariots in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa San Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa San Angel

Address: Montejo #1 x 49 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#7 Family Hotel in Merida
#10 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa San Angel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Angel is an intimate, independent, family-owned small boutique hotel. With an excellent location in the heart of Merida at the beginning of the Paseo de Montejo, it is the perfect base for your travels in the Yucatan. With a personalized service, modern comforts in a beautiful setting and direct attention from the owners, you will always feel at home in our house of angels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa San Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Angel Merida
Casa San Angel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa San Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.