We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, really surprised by the waiter...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pancho's

Pancho's
Calle 59 No. 509, Centro, Merida, Mexico
999 923 09 42
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 394 Restaurants in Merida
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Uno de los mas antiguos y queridos restaurantes en el centro histórico de la ciudad de Mérida, a solo dos cuadras de la plaza principal o plaza grande.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good meal, really surprised by the waiter...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Was just finishing my coffee when the waiter returned to my table and explained that I had not left enough money. I was sure I had placed at least 10% more than the bill for adequate (not good) service but was quickly schooled of my short-comings and was told to increase my tip by at least 50 more pesos. To avoid any type of public display of disgust, the 50 pesos were placed on the table, and my party quicky left the restaraunt. Not sure if this is common practice, or if anyone else has experienced it, but it was the last time they will ever get the chance to do that to me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    105
    42
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Lovely atmosphere, staff and cocktails. However it is a little overpriced, and service was a tiny bit slow. Returned many times while I stayed in Mexico, and my favourite cocktail was the Pancho Villa. Would love to return one day!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner and it was a great night. The staff quickly made up a table for our group of twelve and were very attentive. One wierd thing with the happy hour that goes from 6-9pm was they wouldn't give us those prices at our table but were happy to seat us near the bar in a small courtyard. We paid for the drinks then took them back to the table for dinner - odd! The food was really good and the 4 cheese empanadas were fantastic. The waiter initially brought me the wrong dish but was vety apologetic and my dish was ready in less than five minutes.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is a great place-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great at night- climb to the very top and there is a table that overlooks the city. ask for the 2 appetizers (Guacamole and something mayan with pumpkin seed) that are prepared table side and it's you will have a unforgettable experience!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Average Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Located in the heart of Centro, this restaurant an incredible patio. The drinks were good, the service was great, but unfortunately the food was mediocre. I'd recommend going here for the drinks and soak in the charm, especially during the daily happy hour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Pancho's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancho's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.