We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, but great seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pigua

La Pigua
Cupules at Calle 62, Merida, Mexico
(999) 920 11 26
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 393 Restaurants in Merida
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Busy, but great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Enjoyable restaurant, though always full. Liked the one in Campeche (small, more elegant) a bit more. Try the fish in green (cilantro) sauce.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    47
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“one of the best seafood spots in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

only open for lunch...possible going to do dinner
but a can't miss for seafood lovers...place great...food the best

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Yucatan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The best upscale seafood Restaurant in Merida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

When my clients want great seafood, I take them to La Pigua. The seafood is always fresh! The presentation is always first class! The service is always excellent! The portions are large and the ambiance is comfortable and clean.

Everything is excellent here but a few of my favorites are the Ensalada de Mariscoes - Sir Frances Drake! OMG - a plate overflowing with fresh shrimp, octopus, conch, onion & cilantro in a spicy vinegaret. Order it as a starter. It will easily serve 4.

My favorite dish on the menu is the "Caracol en Escabeche". This is a great garlicy, vinegary sauce of onions and peppers washed over tender conch - fabulous. The coconut shrimp are crunchy and the mango/apple that accent's - is the perfect accompaniment. The fresh fish filet with the mostaza, huitlacoche, mojo de ajo or méniere sauces can't be beat!

Don't miss desert! I always end up ordering the helado de coco but there are some other sumptuous delights. Tell Louis at the door that Mitch from Mexico international sent you. He'll take good care of you.

Recently, they have now opened for dinner as well as lunch.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Less than perfect service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have eaten here several times and each time the waiters have screwed up my order. We don't speak Spanish and our waiter didn't seem to want to give us over to a waiter who did, so that made ordering difficult. Then I was brought something other than what I'd ordered. Their menu is difficult to decipher, mostly in Spanish with some very questionable translations. The food is o.k. but nothing to write home about. I won't be going back.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“La Pigua- Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Great food and service. Try the crab claws and the pigua in garlic sauce and the pan de cazon. The freshest seafood i have tasted. It is pricey.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pigua also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to La Pigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.