We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Almendros

Los Almendros
Av Colon Esquina Paseo de Montejo, Merida 97000, Mexico
999421111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 394 Restaurants in Merida
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Celestun, Yucatan, mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great traditional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Everything about this Mexican restaurant was great, service was great , traditional Mexican flavors, fair prices, will return many more times

i would highly recommend this jem

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    38
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful yucatecan dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We were told by some locals that they had the best soap de Lima in the city and we weren't disappointed. The soup was delicious as was the pechuga de pollo yucateca. We also ordered a side of the green habanero salsa and it was one of the hottest that I have tried and I loved it. The prices were very reasonable and on the Sunday afternoon when we were there we also enjoyed the live traditional music of the local trio that performed. The service was top notch and I really couldn't have hoped for a better experience. I'd definitely go back to this place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Going back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

The location off of Calle 52 is a classic local restaurant that has a feeling of Mexico in the 60's. The regional specialties were excellent and the service was outstanding. If you are staying at Anna's b&b(highly recommended) this is just a short walk away. There is a good chance you will be the only non-local eating at this charming business and family restaurant. Reasonably priced as well.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had visited Merida in the early '70's and eaten a wonderful dinner at Los Almendros, and again a few years later, so I was really looking forward to eating there again. Walked to the address and found it is now called the Grand Almendros and is only open on Sunday. so we went around the corner to the plain old Los Almendros and ate dinner in a very ordinary room with a glass wall and a view of a parking garage. (seriously!) Besides the room itself being a disappointment after expecting the other Los Almendros of yesteryear, the food was just plain ordinary and
not all that good. I had Sopa de Lima, expecting it to be wonderful, and it was not even slightly better than I can make myself at home without all those years of Mexican cooking expertise. I was so bummed!!! Husband can't remember what he had, so that about says it all. Won't be going back! Place was
clean and the wait staff was friendly and fine. I just had my own idea of how it would be and it was definitely not. Such a lovely memory of the old days!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in all of Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Yucatecan is one of my favorite regional cuisines in Mexico and nobody does it better than Los Almendros.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Almendros also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Los Almendros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Almendros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.