We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Relaxing Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Mujeres Palace

Save Saved
You added Isla Mujeres Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Isla Mujeres Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Garrafon Vista Alegre Mz 63 Lote 1 SM 007, Isla Mujeres 77400 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #7 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Relaxing Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I visited Isla Mujeres Palace last week for my honeymoon. It was everything I expected and more. The facilities are very clean - you constantly see employees of the resort cleaning everywhere. From the moment you arrive you are greeted with welcoming staff. The front desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. The wait staff in the restaurant were all very friendly and helpful - They rarely let you bring your own plate of food to your table! The food was as expected - not 5 stars but we were very happy with it. There is a huge selection at the restaurant and there are new items added everyday. The bartenders were very nice. This place is very quiet and relaxing. There are only about 60 rooms. When we went there were probably only about 40-50 people staying at the resort. We enjoyed the small town feel of the place becuase you got to know other guests and you never ever had to deal with standing in a line or waiting on other people. It was also nice that it was couples only - no kids. The rooms are great, very modern, comfortable and equipped with everything you need (shampoo/conditioner, hair dryer, alcohol, soft drinks, etc.) We chose not to upgrade our room becuase we were not in it very much - we were still pleased with our view of the island, very beautiful!

The $1,500 resort credits were awesome. You only have to pay the tax, so even if you use them all your looking at around $150. We did the dolphin adventure, the boat ride around the island, went to Garaffon park (zip lining costs extra btw), had the romantic beach dinner and did the couples massage. You can also purchase upgraded wine with the credits, so we did that a couple of nights.

The island of Isla Mujeres was great. I felt very safe the entire time. You have to rent a golf cart at least one day and drive around the island. There are beautiful sites to see and friendly people to meet.

We loved our stay at the Isla Mujeres Palace. It's definitely a place to go if you want to relax and not party. We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    79
    28
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
336
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slinger, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We chose the Isla Mujeres Palace because we were looking for something a little more laid back and quiet. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we felt like the most important people staying in their resort.
The pool was awesome, although a little chilly. The pool at this resort is not heated. However, Dario was always there with cocktails and good conversation, so the temperature of the pool made no difference to us. Thanks Dario!!!
The beds are very comfortable but on the soft side. Plenty of pillows and the bedding was luxerious.
The restaurant had excellent food. I truly appreciated Paulo and the entire restaurant staff as they were constantly going above and beyond for us. If there is something you want that is not on the menu, just ask and they will be very happy to make it for you. Thank you Paulo!!
There is plenty of shopping on the island and things to see. We rented a golf cart for the entire week which I would strongly recommend that you only rent it for what you need it for. We wasted a lot of money because there were days that we just stayed by the pool all day and didn't even use it. However, it is nice to have so you can come and go when you feel like it instead of taking taxi's.
The entertainment was awesome thanks to Leo!!! He goes out of his way to help people have fun and laugh. You rock Leo!!!
The entire front desk staff, I apologize that I do not remember everyone's name, went above and beyond just to greet you in the morning. Whatever we needed they stepped up to the plate to assist us, even when it wasn't really something they needed to handle. Kudos to all of you!!
Every single person at this resort went out of their way to make our stay the best it could be but one individual stands out for making us feel secure and sharing the culture with us. Josefar is at the security gate and was awesome to talk with. We made a true friend with him. Thank you so very much Josefar!!!
Daniel, the General Manager is running a first class establishment. He has the respect from the staff as well as the guests. Thank you Daniel!!
This may sound like a letter thanking the staff at the resort individually but once you try this resort you will feel exactly as I do about it. Everyone, and I do mean everyone, went above and beyond to make us feel like royalty. Thank you all very much for that!!!
With every good, there must come some bad, so here it is:
The transportation that was provided to us by the resort was less than sub-par. It took us almost 4 hours from the time we touched down in Cancun to finally get to the hotel. We were forced to sit at the airport for over an hour because they were not organized even though they knew months in advance when we were arriving. This is truly a small complaint because once we got to the resort that part no longer mattered. But I felt it important enough to share so something can be done with the company that is handling the transportation for the Palace Resorts.
Recommendation: Request an ocean view room that does not face the party boat that comes in daily. Although the "noise level" was acceptable given the proximaty, you may hear it less if you are facing the other direction.
I highly recommend this hotel and hope that anyone that reads this review will give it a try.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room facing the ocean. You will never see more beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As Palace members, we have been to many of the Palace locations but had not yet stayed at the Isla Mujeres Palace. We chose Isla for our November getaway for its couples only and smaller size. We were looking for a quiet serene location out of the hustle and bustle. What we found was a hidden gem in this small resort with exemplary service and the quiet that we were looking for. The staff is great and make every attempt to take care of whatever you need. You can explore the island by boat, taxi, golf cart. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were treated as VIPs by the entire staff. I wont single them out by name because they were all great. We will definitely return to Isla Mujeres Palace for another visit in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrade for an Ocean Front Room. You will hear a little noise from the beach club next door but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wonderful resort to visit for a quiet vacation. Love this resort. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Nice beach and pool areas. Good food, nice bars. Rent a golf cart in town to tour the island. Snorkel at garaffon park. Scuba through many of the PADI certified dive shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

So you have decided to spend your vacation in Cancun and are ready to make choices for your accommodation. If you want the noise, crowds, mega-malls, nightlife and mass-production of Cancun, then sadly, this hotel is not for you. If, however, you want to stay in an oasis of cocooning and intimate luxury, welcome to Isla Mujeres Palace Hotel. Your holiday here will be a memorable one.

With only 62 rooms, this hotel will lavish every luxury upon you and yet within days the wonderful staff will make you feel like you are one of the family. On arrival we were greeted very warmly, and as we had booked a room on the concierge level (the best rooms available), for eleven nights, we were told that we had the best room in the hotel. Upon checking into our room, we were immediately aware that this was the case; absolute ocean front views from the balcony and a pleasing atrium aspect from the front door. The room itself was very tastefully and luxuriously appointed; a pleasant space to be in, and the in-room coffee machine was appreciated and used very regularly. The centrepiece was the bed; luxuriously soft and yet supportive. The bathroom and double hot tub were replenished daily with L'Occitane bath products (another benefit of booking a concierge level room). Lighting and air-conditioning were all very easy to adjust and all room furniture and fittings were in excellent condition. Housekeeping and mini-bar re-stocking usually take place at 0900, but if you have your DND light on, you can always call for them later and the staff will oblige instantly. The housekeeping staff are meticulous down to the finest detail. Every day our room was returned to pristine condition; floors cleaned, clothes folded, electronic gadget cables neatly coiled and each day a beautiful towel sculpture left with a flourish to complete this welcoming picture.

We had some slight concerns at there only being one restaurant on-site at the hotel, but after the first few days, these fears were allayed. The menu is varied regularly and the food is of excellent quality. Breakfast and lunch is buffet-style and the five-course a-la-carte dinners offer plenty of choice and are beautifully presented. At breakfast and lunch, the staff are on hand to cook anything especially for you that you may happen not to see at the buffet. Despite the fact that it was off-season, we were very impressed to see daily quality controls in the restaurant; food temperature and presentation were checked regularly. Not once did we leave the restaurant dissatisfied, after breakfast, lunch or dinner.

The hotel grounds and facilities are well-maintained and visibly kept in good repair and the entire facility is kept scrupulously clean. We especially enjoyed the hammock area; perfect for whiling away a lazy afternoon. Safety and security were also impressive; no-one passes the front gate unchecked and the gates are closed from 2200. There are a few options as to what to spend your resort credits on; don't forget you can also use them for tours and activities at other Palace properties on the mainland and the on-site tours director is only too happy to assist.

So impressed were we with our choice to stay at this hotel that with each passing day we became less inclined to leave it, and such was our emotional attachment to the place that, towards the end of our stay, we felt pangs of jealousy when we would see other couples check-in, knowing that our stay was soon to end while theirs was just beginning. Surely this is the hallmark of an exceptional hotel. Because it was off-season, we were able to secure an extra night and extend our stay to eleven nights, though we could have happily moved in permanently. There is one (very) minor annoyance of which you should be aware. The hotel is located next door to a pier and open-air club that acts as a drop off point for the 'booze cruisers' from the mainland. They descend on the island daily and their cliched Latin music fills the air nightly, but they are usually gone by around 2200, and if anything they can be a source of mild entertainment. In an ideal world we would have Palace resorts acquire this pier and the land housing the club and extend the IM Palace with luxury villas. Wishful thinking perhaps, without much regard to the income generated from the tourists, but nonetheless, just imagine...

And finally, a word about the staff at the IM Palace. They are the true assets of this property and are clearly well-trained in the provision of superior customer service. They are all unfailingly gracious, welcoming and obliging. Within days they will address you by name, have your food and beverage preferences memorised and offer to carry your plate to your table (unnecessary but much appreciated). In this regard we especially acknowledge the staff at the Azul Restaurant for their excellent and very personalised service.

A quietly luxurious hotel with excellent facilities supported by wonderfully welcoming staff, the IM Palace will provide you with a superior end-to-end resort experience. We left it with some of our most pleasant holiday memories and will ,most definitely return.

Room Tip: Concierge level rooms are well-worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I am a travel agent in wichita falls tx and recently visited isla mujeres island and drove over to isla mujeres palace resort to see it for myself. After showing my iatan card my wife and I were allowed access to the property. Mario Valle kindly let us check out the hotel and beach and pool area, then showed us a room, the property is beautiful the rooms were incredible and I will go back and stay there soon, thanks for allowing us access to view your property! Glenn Jennings, Parkair travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I don't know where to begin on Isla Mujeres Palace..it was one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed at and had the friendliest staff ever! The rooms were immaculate and so gorgeous. They clean and restock them everyday for you if you wish. The fridge was full of beer and the liquor dispensers were too much fun. The balcony was great. Ours overlooked the pool; it was gorgeous. The pool itself is wonderful and it kept extremely clean. The food was good and the waiters were SO friendly and worked with you if you wanted to order something special. I had read other reviews cautioning me on the hotel's beach, saying it was rocky and full of seaweed, so I was speculative, but I thought it was wonderful! There was seaweed maybe 7 feet out, but prior to that the beach was perfect. The $1500 they give you in hotel credits during their off season was AWESOME and a wonderful perk. We used ours to swim with dolphins, go zip lining, get massages on the pier (amazing), have a special chef prepared meal, and a romantic beach dinner (also amazing and too much fun.) The island itself is so wonderful. I have been to Mexico many times and this was one of my absolute favorite places! Playa Norte on the opposite end of the island was just gorgeous and Punta Sur on the hotel's side of the island is a MUST to go see. Everyone was so wonderful and friendly to us. If you can, rent a golf cart for at LEAST a day! We had one the entire time and it was a great way to see the island. The weather was nice, I would have preferred a little warmer temperatures so when we return we may go at another time of year. It gets chilly at night!

On another note, I was disappointed to see so many people not ever tip the staff at the hotel and I just wanted to urge people to get a few pesos at least and tip the staff!! They are all SUCH WONDERFUL people and deserve it! A little really goes a long way.

Room Tip: 118 was wonderful. Great view of the pool and right next to the gym!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isla Mujeres Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Mujeres Palace

Also Known As:
Isla Mujeres Palace Hotel
Isla Mujeres Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres
Hotel Isla Mujeres
Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres
Address: Carretera Garrafon Vista Alegre Mz 63 Lote 1 SM 007, Isla Mujeres 77400 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Mujeres Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better location for this small haven than at a small island once a sanctuary to Ixchel, the Mayan goddess of childbirth and medicine? Isla Mujeres (Island of Women) with its scenic views, tranquil beaches, marine parks, and sculptured cliffs, is nature at its best. Small and luxurious, this all-inclusive couples only resort is sure to guarantee a private and relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Isla Mujeres Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Mujeres Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.