We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R&R Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Mujeres Palace

Save Saved
You added Isla Mujeres Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Mujeres Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Garrafon Vista Alegre Mz 63 Lote 1 SM 007, Isla Mujeres 77400 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #8 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“R&R Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As Palace members, we have been to many of the Palace locations but had not yet stayed at the Isla Mujeres Palace. We chose Isla for our November getaway for its couples only and smaller size. We were looking for a quiet serene location out of the hustle and bustle. What we found was a hidden gem in this small resort with exemplary service and the quiet that we were looking for. The staff is great and make every attempt to take care of whatever you need. You can explore the island by boat, taxi, golf cart. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were treated as VIPs by the entire staff. I wont single them out by name because they were all great. We will definitely return to Isla Mujeres Palace for another visit in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrade for an Ocean Front Room. You will hear a little noise from the beach club next door but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    87
    32
    14
    8
See reviews for
37
359
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wonderful resort to visit for a quiet vacation. Love this resort. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Nice beach and pool areas. Good food, nice bars. Rent a golf cart in town to tour the island. Snorkel at garaffon park. Scuba through many of the PADI certified dive shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

So you have decided to spend your vacation in Cancun and are ready to make choices for your accommodation. If you want the noise, crowds, mega-malls, nightlife and mass-production of Cancun, then sadly, this hotel is not for you. If, however, you want to stay in an oasis of cocooning and intimate luxury, welcome to Isla Mujeres Palace Hotel. Your holiday here will be a memorable one.

With only 62 rooms, this hotel will lavish every luxury upon you and yet within days the wonderful staff will make you feel like you are one of the family. On arrival we were greeted very warmly, and as we had booked a room on the concierge level (the best rooms available), for eleven nights, we were told that we had the best room in the hotel. Upon checking into our room, we were immediately aware that this was the case; absolute ocean front views from the balcony and a pleasing atrium aspect from the front door. The room itself was very tastefully and luxuriously appointed; a pleasant space to be in, and the in-room coffee machine was appreciated and used very regularly. The centrepiece was the bed; luxuriously soft and yet supportive. The bathroom and double hot tub were replenished daily with L'Occitane bath products (another benefit of booking a concierge level room). Lighting and air-conditioning were all very easy to adjust and all room furniture and fittings were in excellent condition. Housekeeping and mini-bar re-stocking usually take place at 0900, but if you have your DND light on, you can always call for them later and the staff will oblige instantly. The housekeeping staff are meticulous down to the finest detail. Every day our room was returned to pristine condition; floors cleaned, clothes folded, electronic gadget cables neatly coiled and each day a beautiful towel sculpture left with a flourish to complete this welcoming picture.

We had some slight concerns at there only being one restaurant on-site at the hotel, but after the first few days, these fears were allayed. The menu is varied regularly and the food is of excellent quality. Breakfast and lunch is buffet-style and the five-course a-la-carte dinners offer plenty of choice and are beautifully presented. At breakfast and lunch, the staff are on hand to cook anything especially for you that you may happen not to see at the buffet. Despite the fact that it was off-season, we were very impressed to see daily quality controls in the restaurant; food temperature and presentation were checked regularly. Not once did we leave the restaurant dissatisfied, after breakfast, lunch or dinner.

The hotel grounds and facilities are well-maintained and visibly kept in good repair and the entire facility is kept scrupulously clean. We especially enjoyed the hammock area; perfect for whiling away a lazy afternoon. Safety and security were also impressive; no-one passes the front gate unchecked and the gates are closed from 2200. There are a few options as to what to spend your resort credits on; don't forget you can also use them for tours and activities at other Palace properties on the mainland and the on-site tours director is only too happy to assist.

So impressed were we with our choice to stay at this hotel that with each passing day we became less inclined to leave it, and such was our emotional attachment to the place that, towards the end of our stay, we felt pangs of jealousy when we would see other couples check-in, knowing that our stay was soon to end while theirs was just beginning. Surely this is the hallmark of an exceptional hotel. Because it was off-season, we were able to secure an extra night and extend our stay to eleven nights, though we could have happily moved in permanently. There is one (very) minor annoyance of which you should be aware. The hotel is located next door to a pier and open-air club that acts as a drop off point for the 'booze cruisers' from the mainland. They descend on the island daily and their cliched Latin music fills the air nightly, but they are usually gone by around 2200, and if anything they can be a source of mild entertainment. In an ideal world we would have Palace resorts acquire this pier and the land housing the club and extend the IM Palace with luxury villas. Wishful thinking perhaps, without much regard to the income generated from the tourists, but nonetheless, just imagine...

And finally, a word about the staff at the IM Palace. They are the true assets of this property and are clearly well-trained in the provision of superior customer service. They are all unfailingly gracious, welcoming and obliging. Within days they will address you by name, have your food and beverage preferences memorised and offer to carry your plate to your table (unnecessary but much appreciated). In this regard we especially acknowledge the staff at the Azul Restaurant for their excellent and very personalised service.

A quietly luxurious hotel with excellent facilities supported by wonderfully welcoming staff, the IM Palace will provide you with a superior end-to-end resort experience. We left it with some of our most pleasant holiday memories and will ,most definitely return.

Room Tip: Concierge level rooms are well-worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I am a travel agent in wichita falls tx and recently visited isla mujeres island and drove over to isla mujeres palace resort to see it for myself. After showing my iatan card my wife and I were allowed access to the property. Mario Valle kindly let us check out the hotel and beach and pool area, then showed us a room, the property is beautiful the rooms were incredible and I will go back and stay there soon, thanks for allowing us access to view your property! Glenn Jennings, Parkair travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I don't know where to begin on Isla Mujeres Palace..it was one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed at and had the friendliest staff ever! The rooms were immaculate and so gorgeous. They clean and restock them everyday for you if you wish. The fridge was full of beer and the liquor dispensers were too much fun. The balcony was great. Ours overlooked the pool; it was gorgeous. The pool itself is wonderful and it kept extremely clean. The food was good and the waiters were SO friendly and worked with you if you wanted to order something special. I had read other reviews cautioning me on the hotel's beach, saying it was rocky and full of seaweed, so I was speculative, but I thought it was wonderful! There was seaweed maybe 7 feet out, but prior to that the beach was perfect. The $1500 they give you in hotel credits during their off season was AWESOME and a wonderful perk. We used ours to swim with dolphins, go zip lining, get massages on the pier (amazing), have a special chef prepared meal, and a romantic beach dinner (also amazing and too much fun.) The island itself is so wonderful. I have been to Mexico many times and this was one of my absolute favorite places! Playa Norte on the opposite end of the island was just gorgeous and Punta Sur on the hotel's side of the island is a MUST to go see. Everyone was so wonderful and friendly to us. If you can, rent a golf cart for at LEAST a day! We had one the entire time and it was a great way to see the island. The weather was nice, I would have preferred a little warmer temperatures so when we return we may go at another time of year. It gets chilly at night!

On another note, I was disappointed to see so many people not ever tip the staff at the hotel and I just wanted to urge people to get a few pesos at least and tip the staff!! They are all SUCH WONDERFUL people and deserve it! A little really goes a long way.

Room Tip: 118 was wonderful. Great view of the pool and right next to the gym!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The prmary reason for the trip was our daughters' wedding, which was wonderful and beautifully executed. The resort and staff were wonderful, food was good and non-mixed drinks were good. Manuel did an excellent job taking care of us, he knew what I wanted before I did (pretty close). The only thing that would have made the trip better would have been better margaritas!

Room Tip: All rooms were nice, persona preference on view. The resort is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have stayed at other Palace Resorts (LeBlanc & Sun Palace) and loved them, but this is the one to stay at if you really want to relax. We were there in the off season and the hotel was at less than 50% occupancy -- there were days we were the only two people at the pool until early afternoon. Resort is safe, quiet and above all, CLEAN. It is showing some age and the rooms aren't as nice as the previous two Palace Resorts we've stayed at, but all is maintained well and that's what matters. Food was above average, but the Chef's Dinner was outstanding. Unfortunately with only a single restaurant onsite, options are limited and we had the same dinner menu a couple days in a row. At lunch waitstaff and kitchen staff were very good at making whatever you might be craving at the moment. All the staff is very accommodating and very, very pleasant -- Rosa, Wilma, Dario, Eduardo and many others whose names I can't remember (sorry!)-- always have a warm greeting and smile for the guests. Downside is all the seaweed on the beach -- could barely go out into the water. Also, missed that this resort didn't have a monitor at the front desk with the weather forecast like other Palace Resorts do -- helpful for planning your days. Gift shop was also lacking -- looked to buy some silver earrings or a bracelet and the selection was very, very small and of poor quality, unlike other Palace Resorts. Keep in mind that the negatives mentioned are inconsequential and not things that could ruin a vacation -- we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isla Mujeres Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Mujeres Palace

Address: Carretera Garrafon Vista Alegre Mz 63 Lote 1 SM 007, Isla Mujeres 77400 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Mujeres Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better location for this small haven than at a small island once a sanctuary to Ixchel, the Mayan goddess of childbirth and medicine? Isla Mujeres (Island of Women) with its scenic views, tranquil beaches, marine parks, and sculptured cliffs, is nature at its best. Small and luxurious, this all-inclusive couples only resort is sure to guarantee a private and relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Isla Mujeres Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Mujeres Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres
Hotel Isla Mujeres
Palace Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Mujeres Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.