We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not the best we had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia

Olivia
11 Matamoros | centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
998 877 1765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 151 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Very good but not the best we had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at Olivia and thought the food was very good, but it wasn't quite as good as reviews implied. We did really appreciate that we could get decent wine (after a while margaritas and beer got old), and the setting is lovely. So totally recommend, but the food struck us as very good not excellent or the best on the island. It was also probably our most expensive meal on the island. Service was great. Make a reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    131
    39
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice atmosphere, great food and very kind staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

One place you really need to go when your on the island. Also one of the few places that serves good wine! Maybe the best service we had at any restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best food on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved the food!! Mediterranean food. great service! Look for Olivia (the cat). Great mojitos, great atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Hidden in the middle of town behind two wooden doors.. You walk into beautiful trees and twinkle lights with tables tucked in here and there. Such a great date night place.. Not to mention the food is always top notch and the staff are always nice!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had all week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had some great dining experiences on the island but none as amazing as Olivia's. It was a nice change in cuisine and absolutely delicious!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olivia also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Olivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.