We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Honeymoon Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Sirena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Sirena Hotel
Save
You added Casa Sirena Hotel to your Saves list
Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$135 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 27 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Chicago, Il
1 review
“Greatest Honeymoon Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Now that it's been over 6 months since our honeymoon, my husband and I are finally giving Casa Sirena the review it deserves from our stay. First, let us say that we could not have asked for a better place to stay on our honeymoon.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a substitute manager (Kate) while Steve was on a 3 day trip. Kate greeted us warmly, offered us a much needed cold beer, and made Casa Sirena feel immediately comfortable. After a few days with her, we weren't sure we wanted to give her up as our host. But, getting to know Steve was equally as wonderful - he is warm, funny, and very easy-going. Although my husband and I were unsure if wanted to stay in such an intimate place (we're usually more private) we were VERY happy we did. We loved drinking and chatting with him at happy hour. Everyone on the island knows him, which comes in handy just about everywhere you go. He became a friend that we hope to see at least once a year!

We also met great people, had great conversation, and learned a lot of insider tips on the island from frequent guests during the infamous happy hour. Who can argue with free margaritas, hors' oeuvres, and a panoramic view of the island? The perfect way to end the day and begin the night.

In the morning, breakfasts were served for a reasonably timed two-hour period, so no pressure to wake up early. The food was spectacular - fresh, authentic, and accompanied by great coffee.

The room (#6) was simple, decorated beautifully, had a view of the water, and was a great place to come back to after a day at the beach. LIttle touches, like animal-sculpted towels and rose petals on the bed gave it romantic touches while the mini-fridge and IPOD dock were convenient additions.

We plan to make Casa SIrena a yearly destination (one day, hopefully more). We fell in-love with it the day we arrived and have missed it since the day we left.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
46
450
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Casa Sirena for six nights and had a wonderful experience. We met a bunch of fun people and had a blast at the rooftop Happy Hours. The location is excellent on the island-right next to the center of town, easy walking distance to Playa Norte, the docks, and lots of amazing food. Steve was incredibly welcoming and helpful. The hotel was very clean and private, a perfect refuge. The trip from Cancun was incredibly easy-we went through Steve's friend Jose, who organized a private shuttle through USA Transfers-incredibly easy and cheaper than a taxi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

The island was quite different than we had expected...happy to say we enjoyed it more! Tons of local flavour and so much to see and do. Casa Sirena was the perfect spot, outstanding in all aspects. We really felt like it was our home for the week! Our biggest regret was that we were only able to meet the famous Steve B. for a few moments before leaving as our trip coincided with his thanksgiving trip home. Robert and Jose took wonderful care of us though...and let me tell you...BEST margaritas on the island...hands down! The staff made delicious meals and kept the hotel spotless. We so enjoyed meeting everyone.

We made it our mission to try out all the "suggested" spots on the map given by the hotel..and we did pretty good. Our favs: Zama (wow!), the Ribs at The Soggy Peso, lobster fetachini and coconut shrimp at Brisas and The Mango Cafe. At our request, Jose booked us a private driver to visit Chichen Itza (ruins), a cenote and Ek Balam (ruins that you can still climb)- Well worth the money and long day!

If we had 2 wishes it would be to have softer beds and a TV in the room- sorry but we had to say it :)

We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Everything about Casa Sirena is perfect. Hip rooms with excellent views and wireless access. The owner Steve understands how to entertain and guide guests to the right places without being too intrusive. Happy hour is relaxed and fun. Breakfast is great. Great music and sunny days make it a place you could stay all day and not miss anything. I like the location and isla is a place to return to and Casa Sirena is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

"There is an emanation from the heart in genuine hospitality which cannot be described, but is immediately felt and puts the stranger at once at his ease." This completely describes Steve Broin, and the wonderful attention we received at Casa Sirena. Steve's home is right in the middle of the island, convenient to everything, and when I say "home," that's exactly how he made it feel to us. Not only was everything beautifully appointed, but it was the most relaxed and fun vacation that my husband and I have taken (we go to Mexico twice a year). Steve is a superb host, and makes you feel like an insider on the island. Thanks to his recommendations, we experienced dinners and adventures outside of the regular tourist ruts.
As mentioned in other posts, the happy hour was the highlight of the day, but breakfasts were wonderful, and the company of the fellow travelers in the hotel was even better.
Thanks, Steve and kudos to you for a most excellent vacation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flourtown, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Casa sirena is definitely a piece of paradise! Everything about it, small boutique hotel,wonderful host, extremely clean, comfy beds,great location, and awesome margaritas are what make this place the best. Steve is a master at making you welcome to his house and island. Everything he recommended was a charm and made our stay fabulous. You definitely get to experience the real Mexican culture when you come to the island, and Steve is very proud to point out all of its highlights. Happy Hours were the best, you meet great people and get to experience Steve's famous Margaritas. Casa Sirena is a wonderful place that we will definitely come back to for many years!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My partner and I spend seven wonderful days at Casa Sirena. The room was immaculate and extremely confortable. Thanks to Steve and his staff our stay was outstanding. The breakfasts were delicious and the Happy Hour every day added to the conviviality and enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sirena Hotel

Address: Av. Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende | Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who feel the best part of a journey is the people you meet along the way. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood the heart of the quaint island village, Casa Sirena guests are a short walk from wonderful restaurants, colorful shops, and the finest white sand beaches. Breakfast and happy hour are the heart and soul of our hospitality. Start your day with a hearty gourmet breakfast, and enjoy the company of fellow travelers at our complimentary "Sunset for the Fun Set" cocktail party. Our 80-year old Spanish colonial-style residence has been carefully restored, preserving its unique historic ambiance while adding the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Sirena Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Sirena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.