We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Rooms Keep Us Coming Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ixchel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ixchel Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location and Rooms Keep Us Coming Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have stayed at Ixchel several times over the past few years, we love the location right on North beach and the fact that it's only a few steps to Centro. I must say I do prefer the privately owned condos as opposed to those that are operated by Ixchel. They are always decorated much nicer with a better quality furniture and bedding also the kitchens seem to be much better equipped. Overall the property is kept spotless, units are cleaned daily and really nice towels are provide for both indoor and beach use. We love that you don't have to be at the beach at the crack of dawn in order to secure a chair and umbrella although we have noticed over the years that they are really packing the loungers closer and closer together which is a bit of a bummer. I guess this is due to the increase in popularity and the addition of a few new beach bars. The staff at Ixchel are always so friendly and helpful, they really do go out of their way to make sure your stay is a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    237
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
265
396
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I choice this hotel primarily on the advice of Trip Advisor. We were going to a destination wedding and needed reasonably priced lodging. The hotel turned out to be much more than that. I won't go into the details, as they have been covered well in numerous reviews here, however, I do want to stress a few points. First, the service is outstanding. The rooms are very clean and well appointed—good water pressure and really good air conditioning (though the noise took some getting used to).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Deasr WS_from_OKC,

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Is so wonderful to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay and for choosing us based on the other travelers review, thank you for trusting in us. You satisfaction is our most important achievement.

We always be looking forward to host you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great location on the beach and north shore with tons of fantastic restaurants. Staff was very caring and helpful (Cristobal is great!). Rooms are clean , a/c works well, secure or safe feeling place. Besides the pool and beach not too many amenities..which is fine because we were out most of the time.

The drawbacks are the Internet access is abhorrent: many folks had to congregate in the lobby to get wifi access. Now if you want to disconnect from the world this is a plus. But if you like to check in with family, share photos the day of your adventures, etc this was a setback and a joke. Even to log on to review local restaurants or book local excursions or check on flight statuses you had to go the lobby.

The gym is a joke. If a hotel is going to state that they have a gym, it should not be as pathetic as this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Jim S

Thank you for your valuable review.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience mentioned. All of your comments boost our commitment, and are highly useful to adjust in the areas where needed, we are improving our internet connection looking up to deliver an strong signal.

We invite you to come back and be witness of how your comments helped us to enhance our services in order to deliver the best and enjoyable experience!

All the best!
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights at the hotel. Luz, and all of the staff members go out of their way to make your stay the BEST! The poolside bar and restaurant have the best snacks and lunches! Cheaper to bring your own, but certainly more convenient to sign the ticket! The beach is ranked 10th in the world...you would have to travel a long way to find one comparable to. North Beach, Isla!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juno Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We spent a week in room 2601. I mention that up front because it's important to note that Ixchel is a condo hotel. Each unit is privately owned and decorated by its owner. So I can't tell you how similar any of the other suites are to 2601.

The hotel is located at the north end of the island with a great beach. In addition to the very good beach service provided by the hotel restaurant there are two other beach restaurants nearby.

They also have an arrangement allowing you to charge meals at a number of downtown restaurants to your room. That's a very convenient arrangement for guests wanting to conserve their cash since some restaurants don't take credit cards. I've never seen this before.

The hotel sits on the north end of Hildago meaning you are just minutes away from hundreds of great restaurants and shops as well as the lively street entertainment. But it's also just far enough away that it's quiet and peaceful.

Our room was actually a very large suite - nearly 1000 sq feet. The living room was comfortably furnished with a 47in Sony Bravia and home theater sound system. There was another only slightly smaller Bravia in the bedroom. This was great for those nights when one of us wanted to read while the other watched TV or if we wanted to watch different things. However, though the unit had a premium cable package, only 3 or 4 channels were in English.

The kitchen was fully equipped with granite counters and ss appliances. We went to the very well-stocked supermarket just a few blocks away and stocked up on drinks, fruit, bread and pastries. A coffee maker and coffee were provided.

The bedroom was not huge but certainly big enough with nice furniture and more than adequate storage. The bathroom was clean and modern.

Ixchel is comprised of 2 L shaped buildings with the long part of the L perpendicular to the beach. So most rooms don't front the beach. Instead you have a right angle view from the patio on the side. Our suite was in the short leg of the L, parallel to the beach, meaning we had a great view from the living room and bedroom. I'm pretty sure the suites in that section are bigger than the others but don't know for sure.

The front desk staff was very pleasant and services were very efficient. We had three separate occasions to call for service and in every instance, someone was at our door in less than 5 minutes. Housekeeping was also very good.

All in all we were very pleased with Ixchel. At a cost of somewhere in the neighborhood of $150 per night (we booked a package with air through an online travel site), we thought it was a great bargain.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Greetings dear LouVil,

How great to know that you recent stay was a memorable time.

We appreciate how you highlight our services, accommodations and location. To serve with quality and commitment is our daily target and your feedback is the most powerful tool to learn abut your recent experience as in this case, about the cable TV package in specific. This is the only service available on Isla Mujeres which only offers limited English channels, however we are attentive to the improvement of service delivered for the supplier.

We hope to have a new opportunity to host you back in another time and welcoming you with open arms.

All the best!
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is located right on the most beautiful beach, with the most pristine water you will find!! The hotel is clean, quiet and has very friendly staff...in particular Mauricio who always had a smile on his face and happy to help with anything! They are very generous and even provide unlimited complimentary water in the foyer and room. The room service is great and we would definitely stay again. You are a minute walk to all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Sim7700,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments.

Positive reviews like yours always inspire us to keep up the good work aiming to your satisfaction to deliver the most pleasant and enjoyable time during your holidays.

We wish you all the best and look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzelia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 6 days and we really enjoyed it.
First of all it has the best beach on the island! The water so calm, it's like a pool. The pool is also nice, not so big, but enough.
The service was great, everybody was really nice and helpful. The restaurant food was also very good, and the beach waiters were so nice and energetic.
We took the suit room which has a bedroom and a living room with fully accessorized kitchen. This room was only worth it because of the nice terrace and the amazing view. We didn't really used the living room and the kitchen.
The one thing that was really annoying is that the wifi did not work and when it did so it was disconnect all the time. The hotel staff knew about it and they said it's a problem they don't have an answer to.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Coshani,

We highly appreciate your review.

How great is to know that you have enjoyed our location accommodations and services during your recent holidays. We are committed to deliver the best possible experience to our Guest however, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience experienced because of the wireless internet connection which is an area of ​​opportunity where we are redoubling efforts to improve.

Please consider Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home in Isla Mujeres and invite you to come back and experience this improvements. We will welcoming you with open arms.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixchel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.