We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Problematic wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ixchel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ixchel Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Herzelia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel! Problematic wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 6 days and we really enjoyed it.
First of all it has the best beach on the island! The water so calm, it's like a pool. The pool is also nice, not so big, but enough.
The service was great, everybody was really nice and helpful. The restaurant food was also very good, and the beach waiters were so nice and energetic.
We took the suit room which has a bedroom and a living room with fully accessorized kitchen. This room was only worth it because of the nice terrace and the amazing view. We didn't really used the living room and the kitchen.
The one thing that was really annoying is that the wifi did not work and when it did so it was disconnect all the time. The hotel staff knew about it and they said it's a problem they don't have an answer to.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Coshani,

We highly appreciate your review.

How great is to know that you have enjoyed our location accommodations and services during your recent holidays. We are committed to deliver the best possible experience to our Guest however, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience experienced because of the wireless internet connection which is an area of ​​opportunity where we are redoubling efforts to improve.

Please consider Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home in Isla Mujeres and invite you to come back and experience this improvements. We will welcoming you with open arms.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    216
    58
    21
    13
See reviews for
242
353
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gowanda, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great location - very short walking distance to all shops/restaurants and ferry. Seven day stay in room 2406, which was clean & spacious with a great balcony overlooking the pool area and beach. Great bed and shower. Service was attentive (in fact, our refrigerator died and they immediately brought up a new one!). Mauricio, the concierge, was wonderful and took great pains and time to answer questions and attend our needs - a definite asset to the hotel. He added greatly to the enjoyment of our stay and was critical in securing a doctor's house call during a 2 day visit by "Montezuma" to my wife and me. Beach was the best I have ever seen.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies (patio on first floor) facing the pool area with great views of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Robert G,

We highly appreciate your kindest review!

All direct comments from our Customers are the most valuable feedback that we can have. We are definitely lucky to be located in one of the most beautiful beaches, but most important for us is to know that our Guest can enjoy every single and wonderful experience at Isla Mujeres and Ixchel Beach Hotel.

Our most valued achievement is to be considered as your host; if you may return, we will be looking forward for a new opportunity to serve you with gladly pleasure!

Warm regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

we stayed in 302/302 from May 5th to May 19th. 2014
the unit was all that we wanted. from the well appointed kitchen ( used for breakfasts) to the incredible sunsets while enjoying a beverage on the spacious balcony.
This unit is great .....very clean ...great beds. We stayed in 302 ..it has two doubles ...large enough bathroom ...water...and a small fridge as well as flat screen tv..there was a ton of room to spread out ...Our friends had 301 which is the larger king suite ...they had no complaints at all!!!
the apt. is well furnished and the photos describing it are spot on...
the circular counter top is great to congregate around.....the ac is excellent and thee is a ton of hot water

thanks again sheryl for coming through for us

we will definitely use your unit again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston , MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

First off what impressed me the most was the friendly and helpful service of the location.. being Mexico, the attitude is always a little relaxed.. not here all request were handled promptly and correctly.. even to the point on our departure, we missed our flight (having too much of a good time?) and Maurico, the concieire, literally was a god send in helping out with straightening out the problem... thank you so much.. the rooms, were big and spacious and well appointed.

the only issue we had was when we got there we were allocated a room on the first floor, and in the back. we overlooked the back of the restaurant and the bathrooms. to top it off there was no patio furniture, no way were going to stay in a room all week where we couldn't open the blinds or sit on the balcony. so we exchanged rooms, they were very accommodating, then again the hotel was, what 35% OCCUPIED., but the room we got was only marginally better, on the second floor, pretty much the same location. We've had this problem before with condo/hotels, when they aren't facing the beach, but perpendicular, the back corners really leave something to be desired.

Other than that, all was perfect... so again, request minimum third floor and higher closer to the front. The island is a great place to visit and relax, we really enjoyed the atmosphere and hospitality.. we had been going to Cozumel before, (8 trips) and finally gave up with way too many cruise boats ruining the island atmosphere.

Room Tip: make sure you are third floor or higher, DO Not take first or second floor unless you are real near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We just got back from a 7 night stay at the Ixchel and couldn't be more pleased! The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the water ferry port, even with luggage. There are taxi's and transportation readily available if you don't want to walk. The Ixchel is located directly on the beach, and it looks to be one of the biggest on the whole island in terms of size. There are 2 buildings, and we were booked in "Phase 1". We stayed on the 3rd floor, room 303, in a room that has 2 double beds, no balcony, with what we would call a partial ocean view. Air conditioning was FANTASTIC, and we had no problems with our room. We booked directly through the hotel's website using the "Stay 6 nights, get the 7th free" for a room rate of $136 a night... and they even left a nice note and free bottle of Cabernet for booking directly! Such a nice surprise! Our room looked to be adjoining to the suite next door, hence the no balcony... but we didn't care since we were on a budget! Provided for us was a microwave, mini-fridge, and a 10 gallon water cooler that was changed during our stay when we emptied it. Not having to buy bottled water was a nice surprise, at no extra cost! The hotel was really quiet, and we had no problems with noise (despite some of the other reviews we read on here prior).

There are 2 pools, both in full sun during the entire day (despite another review we read that said otherwise). There were a few times that we used the pool and had a staff person set an umbrella up for us to avoid a sunburn. The pools were clean, beautiful, and warm... with an equally clean outdoor restroom connected to the pool bar. The staff is very attentive, always asking if you need anything. Beach towels are exchanged daily for dry ones with no hassle at the front desk.

On the beach, the staff is eager to set up chairs and umbrellas as soon as you set foot on the sand. There is a bar next to the hotel with waiters that are eager to keep you hydrated. Drinks were really cheap on the beach, buy one get one free margaritas, rum punch, daquiris, etc for ~70 pesos! Check out was a breeze, and I honestly wouldn't hesitate staying here again in the future. I really can't come up with anything negative! If you're on the fence about staying at the Ixchel, DON'T BE! You honestly won't be disappointed. We loved every minute!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The one bedroom suite with balcony was nice. Felt less like a hotel room and more like a home. The location was good, an easy walk up Hidalgo for eating out. Make sure to try a marquesita from a vendor near the hotel. The main negatives were not getting an umbrella on a pretty still day when it was sprinkling. I guess they viewed the weather as unstable, but it seemed overly cautious when we could walk 10 feet and pay $15 for one. The other issue is how the beach is setup, with an unaffiliated beach club dividing up their beach. For us, it ended up not being as relaxing as we would have liked. Just a bit too crowded for our tastes, with chairs right next to each other.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Greetings dear jaydfwtx,

Thank for your valued review.

Your input will help us to pay special attention where we need to as you mention, the beach is our charm and it's our daily challenge to keep it safe and clean to deliver the most enjoyable time.

We look forward for a new opportunity to host you back and for sure, we will be waiting for your return with joy.

All the best,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is in an amazing location with very clean rooms with very good facilities in the room including a fridge water dispenser and dehumidifier. We were a group of three and booked a room for 3 persons - we checked in fairly quickly but on arrival in the room there was only a double bed. After contacting reception we were advised that the tariff we had paid for was for only 2 persons and would have to pay more. The hotel then went away & advised that we had indeed booked for 3 & would send the maid to make up a sofa bed. A maid arrived & threw the bedding down & we were left to make the bed up. There was also a dirty rag left in the room which we all agreed is not acceptable. There is no bar in the hotel. For the negatives we would go back for location on the island.

Room Tip: Take confirmation with you & double check to avoid extra fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Greetings dear frian,

Thanks for your input!

We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed our accommodations and location however, we would like to apologize for the inconvenients that it may cause the lack of information upon arrival and the maid services. Your valued feedback will help us to adjust and improve where we need to.

Perhaps, if you might return to Isla Mujeres in the future and if you consider to stay with us once again, we will be looking forward to become your holidays in to a memorable experience.

We wish you all the best!
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixchel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.