We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ixchel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ixchel Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The one bedroom suite with balcony was nice. Felt less like a hotel room and more like a home. The location was good, an easy walk up Hidalgo for eating out. Make sure to try a marquesita from a vendor near the hotel. The main negatives were not getting an umbrella on a pretty still day when it was sprinkling. I guess they viewed the weather as unstable, but it seemed overly cautious when we could walk 10 feet and pay $15 for one. The other issue is how the beach is setup, with an unaffiliated beach club dividing up their beach. For us, it ended up not being as relaxing as we would have liked. Just a bit too crowded for our tastes, with chairs right next to each other.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Greetings dear jaydfwtx,

Thank for your valued review.

Your input will help us to pay special attention where we need to as you mention, the beach is our charm and it's our daily challenge to keep it safe and clean to deliver the most enjoyable time.

We look forward for a new opportunity to host you back and for sure, we will be waiting for your return with joy.

All the best,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    248
    65
    25
    14
See reviews for
277
416
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is in an amazing location with very clean rooms with very good facilities in the room including a fridge water dispenser and dehumidifier. We were a group of three and booked a room for 3 persons - we checked in fairly quickly but on arrival in the room there was only a double bed. After contacting reception we were advised that the tariff we had paid for was for only 2 persons and would have to pay more. The hotel then went away & advised that we had indeed booked for 3 & would send the maid to make up a sofa bed. A maid arrived & threw the bedding down & we were left to make the bed up. There was also a dirty rag left in the room which we all agreed is not acceptable. There is no bar in the hotel. For the negatives we would go back for location on the island.

Room Tip: Take confirmation with you & double check to avoid extra fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Greetings dear frian,

Thanks for your input!

We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed our accommodations and location however, we would like to apologize for the inconvenients that it may cause the lack of information upon arrival and the maid services. Your valued feedback will help us to adjust and improve where we need to.

Perhaps, if you might return to Isla Mujeres in the future and if you consider to stay with us once again, we will be looking forward to become your holidays in to a memorable experience.

We wish you all the best!
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was my third trip to Isla and third times a charm. This beautiful condo is close to everything. Directly on the beach, one block from town. Shopping, restaurants, bars. Mauricio helped us so much from internet issues, to restaurant reservations. He directed us to Hotel Rolandi for my birthday dinner. Outstanding restaurant, dinner, and service. Mauricio, Thank you again for making our trip perfect. Clay & I will be back in the fall.

Room Tip: were were on the 6th. floor. great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I almost don't want to review this sweet hotel in fear that there will be no availability the next time I try to make reservations there. Stayed in Building 2--awesome as long as your room is above the second floor. Second floor rooms can be at palm tree height and therefore block your view of the sea. Very spacious and clean room. Master BR is separate from living/dining/kitchen area. Very nice pull-out sofa that easily accommodated a hefty 18 year old boy. The beds are too firm and the pillows were a little lumpy but they give you lots of them! Clean room and excellent service, clean white sand beach. Beach service was perfect--service did not improve with tipping which proves that they train their staff well and with pride. I tipped every day for them to set up my chairs and for food/drink service but it was not necessary. One day when I was on the beach and had forgotten to bring cash, I still received top-notch service! The proximity of restaurants to this hotel could not be more perfect. Lots of delightful options to please anyone's palate! Love the casual lifestyle of this island. It is a complete opposite of Cancun and an easy, short ferry ride over. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Views of the sea are blocked by the tops of palm trees in many 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dearest scubaprop4,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience!

We are more than pleased to know that you spent such a wonderful time with us and also appreciate the way that you highlight our accommodations, beach services and location. Positive reviews like yours, boost our energy and cheer up our service commitment.

We certainly be looking forward to a new opportunity to host you back and welcoming you with open arms.

All the best!
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Third stay at Ixchel, second in building 1, room 201/202, which is a 2BR/2BA. Ixchel is the most upscale property on Isla's best beach, North Beach, and one of the most luxurious on the entire island. This condo is spacious, comfy, and modern. You pay a little less because the view isn't the panorama other units offer, but it's still a lovely ocean view. Interior has: strong A/C, nice leather living room furniture, flat-screen TV, DVD player, some movies, big beds with cushy memory-foam toppers, spacious walk-in showers, pretty art, and ceiling fans. I sleep so well here. The location is superb - only one block to the heart of town. Beach chairs/umbrellas and towels are provided. The customer service is top-notch. Wifi kicks you off a lot and you can hear a lot of bangs and thumps echoing through the building from your room, but those are minor compared to the luxuries here. Also, the beach in front of Ixchel is more crowded with chairs from new beach clubs that now share this area, but on the plus side, the day boats don't encroach into the swimming area anymore.

Also, the food is fantastic, and delivered to the room or to your beach chair. Residents have signing privileges.

Walk west to Chi Chi and Charlies and find Juan Campos, a professional sailor who offers sailing, sunset, snorkeling and fishing trips on his 36' boat. You can just flag him down in the water, too - I've done this twice! He'll be paddleboarding or windsurfing. Just yell "Juan!" Great prices, great guy. Lots of fun and a real pro.

Room Tip: The higher the room number, the better the view, but 201, 301, 401 and 501 still have good views for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The location can't be beat. The beach is beautiful (chairs and umbrellas provided) and shops and restaurants are just steps away. The service is OUTSTANDING. The best customer service I've received in ages, from all levels of staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear IxchelGuest,

Thank you for such kind comments!

Your smile is our purpose. If we achieved this target then we know you enjoyed your stay and you may return to Isla Mujeres in the future. If so, please consider the Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home in the Mexican Caribbean and we will gladly be looking forward to your next visit.

Very best regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the best location on the island. We checked them all out! The other hotel beaches cannot compare. Ixchel is on the nicest stretch of beach. The service was excellent and was very clean. The room we had was not plush but certainly met our needs. I think other rooms were all a bit different as they are time shares so some may be nicer than others. We loved our stay. It is very close to all restaurants etc. EXCELLENT LOCATION

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixchel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.