We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the staff are the 5 star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ixchel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ixchel Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the staff are the 5 star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have been to Isla many times in the past but not for the last 10 years. We always stayed at Na Balam and loved the location. I was looking for a place to stay and came across Casa Sirena a top rated B&B. and it just so happens that they own a rental condo in Ixchel. Beach Hotel. we shared 2 bedroom 2bath condo with another couple and could not have been happier. Since I am a coffee snob I was able to make my own coffee every morning and sit out on the ocean front balcony and watch the colors of the water change as the sun rose. We were also able to enjoy a post dinner drink before bed. Another couple that we went with rented a standard room but there was enough room on the balcony for all of us. We spent 9 wonderful days there.
The rooms were immaculate as were the public spaces, the staff was professional yet friendly. I must name our housekeeper Noelle as wonderful, every morning I washed out the coffee pot and yet I know that every day she rewashed it. Maurisius the concierge was great he must be asked the same things 50 times a day but always answered with a smile and a personal observation. The 2 ladies at the front desk ( can't remember their names ) were professional and patient. And Giovanni the manager of the restaurant was the best, always a smile or joke. The small open air restaurant had a nice menu and good food. One night they cooked the fish my husband a friends caught and Giovanni stayed to serve us.
All in all it was a wonderful place to stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    237
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
265
396
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We just completed a stay from Feb 22-March 1 and stayed in units 2105-2106 (West building). This is a two bed, two bath unit with a kitchen and living room.

Let me start by saying that this is the best location on Isla, right on Playa Norte and also at the end of Hildalgo, where all the restaurants are. The property has two pools. The pool near the West building is heated (almost like a hot tub) because the West building doesn't get sun in the afternoon. The pool at the East building isn't heated and was very comfortable. You can use both pools. The grounds are clean and well maintained. Before the trip, I was a little concerned that our unit would be a little far from the beach/pool, however, that wasn't case at all. All the units are very close to the pool and beach.

The beach is larger than most other resorts, which is nice because the beaches do get crowded on the island. It wasn't a problem to get chairs and umbrellas. The resort has staff on the beach willing to set up your chairs/umbrellas however you want. There are other non resort operators that share the beach and use yellow chairs, but for a fee. Just make sure you go to the Ixchel people and you'll be taken care of. I read stories of people having problems getting beach chairs, but we had no problems at all, even if we didn't get out to the beach until noon. There is a large Pallapa right on the edge of the property between the property and the beach that is not owned or controlled by the resort. I'm told that it is sometimes rented out for parties, however, that wasn't the case for our stay. All in all, the beach is awesome and so is the property.

The room (2105-2106) was great. It was clean and well appointed and comes with all the purified water you need. This is a ground floor unit (which we wanted) and was actually one of the farther units from the beach, but as I mentioned before, it wasn't a problem at all. There is still a view of the water and it is very close to the pool. Perhaps the best part is that it is right next to the bar/restaurant and the staff will serve you right at your patio. Believe me, this was a very nice perk. The restaurant was never noisy and actually closed at 8, so noise was never an issue.

One of the main things that will keep me coming back is the staff. It's really unbelievable how attentive they are. And I'm talking about ALL the staff, not just the servers. Everyone will go out of their way to accommodate you. I've never stayed at a resort where it was like this from top to bottom. Mauricio is the concierge and will help you with any other needs you may have.

All in all, this was a really great place and I would definitely stay here again. I would have a hard time believing that there could be a better place on this island. Email me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear drp2002,

We highly appreciate your kindest review!

All direct comments from our Customers are the most valuable feedback that we can have. We are definitely lucky to be located in one of the most beautiful beaches, but most important for us is to know that our Guest can enjoy every single and wonderful experience at isla Mujeres and Ixchel Beach Hotel.

Our most valued achievement is to be considered as your host; if you may return, we will be looking forward for a new opportunity to serve you with gladly pleasure!

Best regards,
Customer Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our first time at the Ixchel and Isla Mujeres and we enjoyed it very much. If you to visit Isla, the ixchel is the place to be.

Rooms:
Each room at the Ixchel is a condo so they are all unique and different. We booked our stay a bit to late so we had to switch rooms midweek. The first room was on the first floor in the first building.It had a lovely wrap around deck and had lovely furniture. You can find it listed on vrbo as "Ixchel closest to the sea". The second room was on the sixth floor of the second building. No one owned this condo, the hotel did. The room did look nice except it felt like an office or lobby (it even had a plastic plant).The high rooms do have excellent views of the beach.

Beach
Playa Norte is a beautiful beach, however it feels more like a lake.The whole beach in general is pretty flat but if you go more towards the avalon you can get more waves and there is a sand bar. There is a limited amount of beach chairs but the staff can get you a chair and umbrella

Restaurant
At both Ixchel's at the pool there is a restaurant where you can eat at the beach, at the pool, or on your porch if your room is on the first floor. The food is okay however it was expensive.




towels

Room Tip: Rooms at the very north end (09, 10) have a bigger balcony that wraps around
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Rachel B,

Thank you very much for such valuable review.

Our Customers input is a powerful tool to imprive and accomplish our mission to making you experience the most greatest stay that our Guests can enjoy.

If you may return to this colorful island please consider us as your home in the Mexican Caribbean. We certainly be honored to host you back soon!

Kindest regards,
Customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

After a poor experience at another local hotel, we were so pleased to get a room at Hotel Ixchel. The room was clean and very pretty. The pool was great -- nice and warm. The spa and massages were great. The staff aimed to please and were quite friendly. They went out of their way to make sure that we were happy and accommodated for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our first trip to Mexico and it was great. Our room was fantastic with a real nice view of the pools and the beach. Mauricio and his staff were excellant. The staff at the beach looked after us very well. They set up umbrellas, delivered food and drinks non stop all day every day we were there. Everyone was always smiling and very friendly. Overall the prices were quite reasonable for the room, food and drinks.

Room Tip: We were with two other couples and it didnt matter where the rooms were they were all good. The corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Location was great! Just a short walk to everything. The staff was awesome and very help full . The beach was great .... lots of chairs. You can enjoy a awesome lunch on the beach, the taco were great! Isla Mujeres is a awesome place to visit. The people on the island were great the food was awesome.

Room Tip: Any room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Greetings dear SueHillhouse,

Thank you for your visit and for your positive review.

Undoubtedly we are here for you and we feel honored to hear that our Guests can return home with great memories to share and remember.

Your smile is our purpose, if we achieve this target then we know you enjoyed your stay and you may return to Isla Mujeres in the future; if so, please consider Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home and we will look for another opportunity to have you back.

All the best,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Indeed the third time's the charm since this was my third time to Isla and it has gotten even BETTER than my previous excellent trips! A big part of that was staying at the Ixchel Beach Hotel. Reserved complimentary beach lounges, check. Beach side wait service, check. Walk to most downtown restaurants, check. No schlepping of beach stuff any further than our front "yard", check. Great views, check. Location, triple check.

In addition, every single one of the staff people were wonderful. That is extraordinary at any property, let alone a mid-priced property off the coast of Mexico. Our room was beautifully decorated by the owners. We asked for photos of each of the rooms that were available when we reserved and chose the one we liked the best. We were not disappointed in our 1 bedroom/1 bath with balcony condominium accommodations.

I am telling you this because I want them to be successful so I can keep coming back, but please shhhhh don't tell too many other people because I want there to be room there for my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask to see pictures of the room before booking. Phase 2 units do not get the late day sun in the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixchel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.