We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Stay & Absolutely Will Stay Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ixchel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ixchel Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“3rd Stay & Absolutely Will Stay Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Another excellent vacation at Ixchel! Staff friendly, helpful & professional. Our oceanfront unit in Phase 2 was comfortable, squeaky clean and had everything that we needed or wanted in terms of amenities, kitchen supplies, linens and staff service. Great location on Playe Norte with easy walk to restaurants & shopping. Our favorite place to stay when on Isla!

Room Tip: Ocean front units have wrap around balcony so there is always one shady/sunny side with awesome view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    217
    58
    21
    13
See reviews for
242
354
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The palapa out front was rented to the locals for a party. Drunken kareoke went in for several hours. The front desk did nothing. I guess I am just expected to pay their rates for a room and suffer through it. I will make sure all my friends know to rent a house on punta sur.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear crimepays1229,

Thank you for your valuable comments!

Receive our sincere apologies for the inconveniences described during this “social event” realized in the palapa in front of our facilities.

This place is not related with Ixchel Beach Hotel, nevertheless we take your input in this case as a serious matter to reinforce our Front Desk assistance to deal with this type of private events in the best way possible. Your useful review helped us as a testimony to keep our Municipal Authorities aware of this kind of irregularities.

Our mission is to serve with quality and commitment in order to deliver the best possible experience to our guests, if you may return to Isla Mujeres please consider to stay with us again and be witness of how your comments helped us to boost and enhance our service.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Ixchel Beach Hotel was amazing. Staff was friendly and attentive but not overly in your face. Location was perfect, right on the North Beach soft sand and perfect water. Hotel room was great we booked the water view suite. Spacious two rooms, large living room/dining area, full kitchen, bathroom sink separate from the toilet/shower, king size bed, lots of closet space and a huge full size balcony/deck area. Loved everything about this hotel, location was right in the heart of it all but there was no offending noise. Isla is amazing and this hotel made our trip great!

Room Tip: Splurge for the water/beach view, totally worth it!! Tower 2 is where we had a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just returned from Isla Mujeres and stayed at Ixchel Beach Hotel, once again, and Ixchel is my favorite place to stay on the island. The staff is very friendly and professional, and they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. Thanks Beto, Selma and all the guys who served food and drinks to us on the beach and in our room (room service was great, too!). Daiby I missed seeing you, since you were on vaca, so take care and see you next time on beautiful Isla! Denise

Room Tip: Any room is great! You are on N. Beach and all have views to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings Denise W,

Thank you for your review about Ixchel Beach Hotel.

All direct comments of our Customers are highly appreciate. Like yours, positive reviews reinforce our mission to provide the best experience for our Guest and help us to keep up the good work.

We always be looking forward to welcoming you back to make your stay unforgettable.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

just back from 10 days here and each was fab! very helpful staff from moments we got there from front desk to pool staff to beach staff...all kept our vacation flowing all be it at a slow pace(mean it in a good way!) which is exactly what we were looking for

will return as soon as possible

Room Tip: we had room in building 1 at back facing water and loved it as it was sheltered from winds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Went to ixchel middle of Nov, to help daughter find a spot to get married. We had a one bd suite on 5th floor. Room was fine with water view. Stafff was excellent and helpful. We will put up our guests next year for wedding.

Room Tip: get close to the water and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The location was excellent. Right on the beautiful swimming beach. The staff was very attentive. The hotel rooms are really apartments with a full deluxe kitchen. Very spacious. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for the 6th floor with an ocean view. We book 6 months in advance and got what we asked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixchel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.