We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IXCHEL IS THE BEST ON ISLA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ixchel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ixchel Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“IXCHEL IS THE BEST ON ISLA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just returned from Isla Mujeres and stayed at Ixchel Beach Hotel, once again, and Ixchel is my favorite place to stay on the island. The staff is very friendly and professional, and they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. Thanks Beto, Selma and all the guys who served food and drinks to us on the beach and in our room (room service was great, too!). Daiby I missed seeing you, since you were on vaca, so take care and see you next time on beautiful Isla! Denise

Room Tip: Any room is great! You are on N. Beach and all have views to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Greetings Denise W,

Thank you for your review about Ixchel Beach Hotel.

All direct comments of our Customers are highly appreciate. Like yours, positive reviews reinforce our mission to provide the best experience for our Guest and help us to keep up the good work.

We always be looking forward to welcoming you back to make your stay unforgettable.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    215
    58
    19
    12
See reviews for
242
346
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

just back from 10 days here and each was fab! very helpful staff from moments we got there from front desk to pool staff to beach staff...all kept our vacation flowing all be it at a slow pace(mean it in a good way!) which is exactly what we were looking for

will return as soon as possible

Room Tip: we had room in building 1 at back facing water and loved it as it was sheltered from winds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Went to ixchel middle of Nov, to help daughter find a spot to get married. We had a one bd suite on 5th floor. Room was fine with water view. Stafff was excellent and helpful. We will put up our guests next year for wedding.

Room Tip: get close to the water and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The location was excellent. Right on the beautiful swimming beach. The staff was very attentive. The hotel rooms are really apartments with a full deluxe kitchen. Very spacious. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for the 6th floor with an ocean view. We book 6 months in advance and got what we asked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We just returned home from Isla Mujeres. We stayed in penthouse 507 & 508. While there were some small issues with the hotel, it wasn't major enough to not want to come back. The rooms were nice and clean and good in size. The roof top terrace with the hot top was amazing and the view was great. Only complaint is that only 2 of the lights were working up there. Also, we had to call the front desk to come up and turn the lights on for us because the switch was in the 3rd bedroom, which was locked. We informed them of the non working lights on the rooftop terrace, and they never returned to replace them. We have an 18 month old, so we couldn't really be up there after dark because we couldn't see much. The other complaint was that the room keys would just randomly stop working. We had to return to the front desk to have them re-activated several times. Not a big issue, just kinda annoying. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is right on the beach. The pools were fantastic. One was super warm, which was great for our daughter. She had a blast in the pool. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. On the beach as well, getting us umbrellas quickly.
I highly recommend paying the extra money for the hotel shuttle service. It was a little pricey, but it was so easy!! They were very helpful, and even suggested a pick up time from the hotel for our trip home!
PLEASE READ!! VERY IMPORTANT!! THIS IS NOT A KNOCK ON THE HOTEL, BUT PLEASE IF YOU RENT A GOLF CART WITH A LUGGAGE CART ON THE BACK, YOU MUST SECURE YOUR ITEMS!! We were headed to the turtle farm and dolphin discovery for the day. We were a few miles from the hotel when a motorcycle came up next to us and ripped the bag right off the back of the golf cart! The golf cart company... comodidad y estilo luxury car rental didn't give us any warning of thieves or to make sure to secure our bags. It made for a very stressful day and a rather eventful trip to the police station.
Other than the golf cart incident, we had no other problems with theft. BUT PLEASE WATCH YOUR STUFF!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear ajecando,

Thank you for your valuable review!

Your information motivates us to keep improving the quality services that we offer, reinforcing our mission to provide the best experience for our Guests.

Above all we emphasize that any situation like the one you describe with this “golf cart thieves” is unacceptable. Nevertheless we take your input and this case as a serious matter, informing all parties involved (Municipal Authorities and Golf Cart Rentals) thus preventing that this situation may affect other future Isla Mujeres visitors.

Please consider Ixchel Beach Hotel as your home; will always look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights. The rooms were disappointing for the price we paid. Bed is not comfortable, blanket was itchy. Sheets were not changed. TV is small. Toilets were bad and soaps were not changed. Window cannot be opened. No laundry service, washing machines ruined some of our clothes. The beach is amazing and the location is good. The drinks on the beach are low in alcohol. Service on the beach was great.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Polina G,

Thank you very much for your input.

Your information is highly valued, it will help us improve in the areas that you mentioned in your review, such as the rooms & bedding options.

Your smile is our purpose; we invite you to come back and experience these improvements, will always be looking forward to welcoming you with open arms!

All the best,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was our second trip to Isla and first stay at the Ixchel. As a group, there were 18 of us in all and only 4 of us had been to the island before. The hotel is beautiful, the location is great, the rooms were comfortable, and most of the staff were great.

My one major complaint has to do with food and drink tabs while sitting poolside. I understand there was a large group of us, but this occurred whether there were 12 of us or 4 of us hanging out by the pool. On more than one occasion various members of our group, including myself, were approached days after cashing out a tab being told that we owed for a drink or a bucket of beers or a shot of this or that. We were all very vigilant about paying tabs and tipping well and verifying that we were all cashed out. Numerous times staff would stop you walking around the resort or just come to your room and say you owed for something that you never even had. When we all would get together and talk about it we would find out that 3 different people in our group paid for the same thing 3 different times. I did not like feeling taken advantage of and other members of our group did not like this aspect of the stay at all and would likely not stay at the Ixchel again for that reason. Again, I understand it was a large group, but when you pay a tab and specifically ask the staff if we are all cashed out and told yes, then that should be the end of it. It is very bad business to come up to people days later asking for payment of something that you didn't even have, and it happened almost daily.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear, aclovelace

Thank you for your valuable review!

Receive our sincere apologies for the inconveniences described while your recent stay with us. Our Guests input is a powerful tool to identify immediate actions to adjust where we need to.

We accept this challenge to improve and look forward to host you back again to be witness of how your comments helped us to provide the best experineces.

Sincerely,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixchel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.