We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Island experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ixchel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Island experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to the island 8/8-8/12 for a wedding. The hotel is located downtown walking distance to everything, but I would recommend renting a golf cart for about $50 USD per day to explore the other resorts and restaurants on the island. Getting to the hotel from Cancun is very easy and I would suggest using AGI Tours for your round trip transportation. They were very punctual on both ends of the trip with English speaking guides. We booked with AGI through the hotel. The pool bar had great food and everything was reasonably priced. Gilmer served us on the beach every day of our trip. He was excellent! We saw him away from the hotel and he approached to say hi and ask how we were enjoying the island! Gilmer also works at Roosters, our favorite breakfast spot. The concierge was very helpful and even made dinner reservations for us at Olivia's, a fantastic Mediterranean spot. All in all we felt very safe and welcomed on the island. We will be back!

Thanks!
The Frasers

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    208
    55
    19
    10
See reviews for
239
330
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are an avid AI people and this time we decided to try Ixchel hotel as it looked beautiful and different when we visited Isla last year (staying at the Excellence Isla Mujeres at that time).

We visited Ixchel in June 2013 for two weeks and had a wonderful time. Thanks to all Tripadvisor reviewers as we planned our vacation according to all your suggestions and tips. We rented PH 705 and really enjoyed it, very spacious with a wonderful terrace and amazing views (please see photos). The only negative for us is that this PH was a bit outdated and terrace did not have any cover from the sun or rain.

HOTEL – great location, right on the best beach on the Isla and walking distance to a great number of cafes and restaurants (catered for various tastes and budgets). We experienced a very good service from the Ixchel staff in the hotel and on the beach. Big “thank you” to all Ixchel Staff!

FOOD – if you are on the budget the nearby loncherias (there are 4 of them) are just down the street from Ixchel and serve really cheap and very good breakfasts and lunches (around $15 for two). They have everything from various omelets, sandwiches, Mexican, French toast, fish tacos etc. Many places have 2 for the price of one drink for Happy Hours.

The main street Hidalgo with all the wonderful restaurants and cafes is just at the back to the hotel. The Hidalgo Street is on one side of the hotel and Guerrero Street is on the other side.

There is a Super Express near there that has about everything you might need. We spend about $100/day on food and drinks for two eating only in restaurants. That is for a LOT of food and drinks.

Our absolute favorite breakfast on the Isla was at the Mango Café, amazing food and superb service! Our favorite dinner was at the Soggy Peso on Sunday (ribs special) – great atmosphere and food.
Our least favorite - Playa Lancheros beach, place where they cook fish called Tix n Chix. Unfortunately we were swamped with flies when we were there and had a very bad service. We also did not like this beach, too crowded with the tourists from the Cancun party boats and very dirty (both beach and water).

MONEY - Usually you get a better deal if you pay for everything with pesos and some places only accept pesos, which you can withdraw from numerous ATMs. The fees are usually very low, about under $2.00 US per transaction. Suggestion is to exchange your money in the bank, much better rates and no fees. We always used a bank located in the electronics store next to Cuerros golf cart rental and near the Municipal Market.

GENERAL: Get a “mapchick” map before you go, there is a wealth of information on them. We found a number of great places/restaurants to visit from this map, carried it with us everywhere – thank you Mapchick! For drinks and groceries try Chedraui, a big super-store mid-island. You'll need a cab or golf cart to get to it but they have a large selection. We also loved the fresh juice from the Municipal Market just a few minutes from the Ixchel. They have a very healthy variety.

Do rent a golf card and explore – it is a great way to see the island and stop where you like!

We will definitely return to the Ixchel Beach Hotel and are already missing picturesque Isla Mujeres.

Happy Travels to you all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I came here with three other adults. We stayed in a connecting suite with king size beds. The view was amazing. I could the entire beach. This is a small, yet comfortable hotel without all of the hustle and bustle of the large resorts in cancun. It is right at the end of the strip so the shops are within walking distance. The beach is beautiful! And a short walk will take you to a beach with plenty of beautiful fish to look at. Be careful about your towels because they cost $20 each if you lose them! I also suggest renting a golfcart for a day to see the rest of the island

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our expectations were not low but what a wonderful surprise to experience a very well managed, well maintained property situated on the most inviting beach on the island. Our family of five (with boys 12, 10 and 5) enjoyed 5 nights in a 2 BR condo in Tower #2 that had everything we needed. I'll list a few items worth noting and try to keep it brief:
- Mauricio, the concierge, was wonderful, professional, friendly, helpful, engaging - I cannot say enough - his recommendations and genuine hospitality absolutely made a difference on our trip - many thanks to him!
- With 3 young sons, keep track of your towel count! Sounds easy but we ended up forking over $20USD for one misplaced towel. The rules were made very clear to us but alas, we got a little lazy - what a racket! It did not, however diminish the overall great experience.
- Our restaurant choices along Hidalgo tended to disappoint - maybe we just made bad decisions and the chefs had a bad night. Our expectations aren't crazy but we do know good food... so for good food, try Zama. It's a taxi ride or golf cart ride away but our meal there was far and away the best food we ate while on the island.
- Snorkeling at Garrafon de Castilla was a kick. Cheaper than the adjacent park and quaint. Lots of fish that can be fairly aggressive if you're in the middle of a 'fish food' feeding frenzy - just ask my 10 yr old who was pretty freaked out by a minor bite on his finger.
- Golf cart rentals were easy and the way to go.
- Hit Covi and the market down by the square for spirits but found the little side stores along Hidalgo to have, in some cases, wine and liquor selections just as good as the larger stores.
- Zalak, the resident Ixchel restaurant served very nice meals. Not the best service in all instances, but god eats in general.
We had a really good time and would definitely recommend Ixchel Beach Hotel to our friends and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was in a great location, the beach was perfect white sand, with clear waist deep water that went out forever. Room was nice and big, we had a 2 bedroom condo with rooftop lounge, which was huge. The lounge would be great if you are a sun worshiper....full sun up there, I prefer to sit under an umbrella , so I would have prefered it to be shaded partially, so I did not use. The rooms were very clean, and well air conditioned. Staff very helpful. Great service on the beach if you need a drink or food, we had Angel all week, and he was great. Beach can get crowded, as it is a public beach area, plus many boats come in and anchor at this beach. It is not a private location. But it is the best beach as far as water conditions. Since we were staying in hotel, we always had a lounge chair...get up early for front row seating. It is also a block to Hildigo Street where all the shops and restaurants are. We rented a golf cart, but you don't need one here unless you want to explore. I would return for sure, but since I need shade, I would downgrade to a lower floor with outdoor shade. If the hotel would put shade (not glass) over the seating area on roof and install a ceiling fan there, that would be perfect for everyone. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Though we visited Isla Mujeres previouisly, this was our first time to stay on the island. We stayed 8 nights at Ixchel in building #1. We rented through Rod on VBRO. We absolutely loved Ixchel. Our condo was large containing a kitchen, dining area, living room, bedroom, bathroom, and balcony. We only used the refrigerator and coffee maker in the kitchen. However, you could cook as much as you wish. There were also 2 flat screen televisions in our place. The place is clean, comfortable, and has air conditioning which is needed on the island. The marble sit-down shower is large and the shower head is about 6 1/2 - 7 feet up from the floor. You don't find a great shower in many accommodations these days. The staff is friendly and helpful. We were especially impressed with Mauricio (property manager), Angelica (front desk), and Gabriel (Kalak Restaurant on the beach). Housekeeping does a great job of keeping your place tidy. We met some people who stayed at PA and came over to our beach to see us and were impressed with Ixchel. We have stayed at many places in Costa Rica, Mexico, Hawaii, and Puerto Rico and Ixchel rates on top of all of them. You are basically right on Playa Norte. I got up at 6:00 am several days for an early swim. Ixchel is near all of the restaurants and shopping in El Centro. Some people have said they didn't like being in building #2 because the sun shines in their windows early in the morning. I read reports about the smallness of the pools. There are 2 pools at Ixhcel. We did not use the pools but went by them several times a day. They were not overly crowded. We prefer to be at the beach when possible. Towels and chairs and umbrellas are easy to acquire. The beach towels are large. You do need to understand that each condo is decorated differently. Rod was great with assisting with our needs. We will definitely stay at Ixchel again when returning to Isla Mujeres. You can send me an email if you have further questions.

Room Tip: 1. Stay in Building #1 if you are not an early riser. 2. Depending on the season, get to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

there was humid in the room, and lots of little ants. the beds were hard and the staff was unhelpful. location was good, close to many resturantes and shops.
Would not recomend this hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Triphege:

Thank you for your valuable comments! Receive our sincere apologies for the inconveniences described while your recent stay with us. Our Guests input is a powerful tool to identify immediate actions to adjust where we need to. We accept this challenge to improve and look forward to host you back again soon!

Best regards,

Ixchel Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixchel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;