We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ixchel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was in a great location, the beach was perfect white sand, with clear waist deep water that went out forever. Room was nice and big, we had a 2 bedroom condo with rooftop lounge, which was huge. The lounge would be great if you are a sun worshiper....full sun up there, I prefer to sit under an umbrella , so I would have prefered it to be shaded partially, so I did not use. The rooms were very clean, and well air conditioned. Staff very helpful. Great service on the beach if you need a drink or food, we had Angel all week, and he was great. Beach can get crowded, as it is a public beach area, plus many boats come in and anchor at this beach. It is not a private location. But it is the best beach as far as water conditions. Since we were staying in hotel, we always had a lounge chair...get up early for front row seating. It is also a block to Hildigo Street where all the shops and restaurants are. We rented a golf cart, but you don't need one here unless you want to explore. I would return for sure, but since I need shade, I would downgrade to a lower floor with outdoor shade. If the hotel would put shade (not glass) over the seating area on roof and install a ceiling fan there, that would be perfect for everyone. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    214
    58
    19
    12
See reviews for
242
344
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Though we visited Isla Mujeres previouisly, this was our first time to stay on the island. We stayed 8 nights at Ixchel in building #1. We rented through Rod on VBRO. We absolutely loved Ixchel. Our condo was large containing a kitchen, dining area, living room, bedroom, bathroom, and balcony. We only used the refrigerator and coffee maker in the kitchen. However, you could cook as much as you wish. There were also 2 flat screen televisions in our place. The place is clean, comfortable, and has air conditioning which is needed on the island. The marble sit-down shower is large and the shower head is about 6 1/2 - 7 feet up from the floor. You don't find a great shower in many accommodations these days. The staff is friendly and helpful. We were especially impressed with Mauricio (property manager), Angelica (front desk), and Gabriel (Kalak Restaurant on the beach). Housekeeping does a great job of keeping your place tidy. We met some people who stayed at PA and came over to our beach to see us and were impressed with Ixchel. We have stayed at many places in Costa Rica, Mexico, Hawaii, and Puerto Rico and Ixchel rates on top of all of them. You are basically right on Playa Norte. I got up at 6:00 am several days for an early swim. Ixchel is near all of the restaurants and shopping in El Centro. Some people have said they didn't like being in building #2 because the sun shines in their windows early in the morning. I read reports about the smallness of the pools. There are 2 pools at Ixhcel. We did not use the pools but went by them several times a day. They were not overly crowded. We prefer to be at the beach when possible. Towels and chairs and umbrellas are easy to acquire. The beach towels are large. You do need to understand that each condo is decorated differently. Rod was great with assisting with our needs. We will definitely stay at Ixchel again when returning to Isla Mujeres. You can send me an email if you have further questions.

Room Tip: 1. Stay in Building #1 if you are not an early riser. 2. Depending on the season, get to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

there was humid in the room, and lots of little ants. the beds were hard and the staff was unhelpful. location was good, close to many resturantes and shops.
Would not recomend this hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Triphege:

Thank you for your valuable comments! Receive our sincere apologies for the inconveniences described while your recent stay with us. Our Guests input is a powerful tool to identify immediate actions to adjust where we need to. We accept this challenge to improve and look forward to host you back again soon!

Best regards,

Ixchel Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here in 2009 it had just opened. Still it was beautiful and a wonderful location for town and for the beach. In a small place like this it is wonderful go out for lunch then just a few feet and you can go back and take a nap. The room had everything a full kitchen and access to the beach from the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We were floored the minute we walked into our ocean front room on 5th floor. Wrap around balcony, crystal blue water, friendly concierge, fun activities! I loved the island and snorkeled with the whale sharks. I will return to Isla and will definitely stay at Ixchel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, our room was beautiful, on-site restaurant was great, beach was great for swimming, the staff was very helpful. Mauricio is the on site property manager, and he greeted us warmly as we stumbled in to reception on our first day, discombobulated (a word that he liked- said it was a good "ten dollar word to have in his pocket") from our travel. He showed us around, gave us the scoop on how to get settled, and treated us with the respect of an old friend. No complaints whatsoever on that score!

I think the issue for us was that you can't pick your neighbors! As with any large(r) property, you will have a higher percentage of loudmouths / yahoos / total [--] staying there, and it only takes one disrespectful group to overshadow the experiences of the other guests. One or two groups of idiots does-not-a-vacation-ruin, but they sure standout among the normal & respectful guests. There is no need for me to go into details- the review is about the property, not the guests.

Our experience of Isla Mujeres was pretty good, but not really what we were looking for as an active, quiet-seeking family with two boys, 10 & 13. So while we had fun driving the golf cart around the island for the day, the beach and the restaurants, I believe that Isla Mujeres is best suited for those who are looking to lay on the beach and not really do anything else but eat. Sure, there are whale shark trips and guided snorkeling trips, but were were not wanting to spend $500 for the former, and we did the latter elsewhere in Mexico for free! (As far as we could find, there was not much self guided snorkeling, but maybe we missed something. There is a resort on the very northern tip of the island, not far from Ixchel, that is accessed by a bridge- a cove there had some cool fish.) We were certainly not looking for a sanitized version of Mexico (we would've stayed in one of the completely cut-off MegaResorts if we did), but the island was pretty trashed by past hurricanes (with a lot of debris strewn about) and a decent amount of trash everywhere. I believe the island's proximity to Cancun keeps the sheer # of visitors high, and their associated impact is immediately apparent.

Enough complaining! Things to not miss if you do go:

*Rent a golf cart & drive to the south end of the island- it's totally fun and you're not tied to getting/paying for a cab.
*Go to the Tortugagranja- (sea turtle conservation farm) the baby sea turtles are indescribably cute, as are the the juveniles. We snorkeled with mature turtles in Akumal, and it was a treat to see them here as well. Do not skip this- it made our stay worthwhile!
*Eat at Rooster, Mango Cafe and Angelo's (if you are sick of Mexican food, Angelo's is great Italian for a change of pace)
*If you have a room with a kitchen & don't mind cooking while on vacation (to save a little cash), take a cab (or your golf cart!) south down the main road to the Chedraui supermarket- better prices & selection than the gringo markets near the main hotels. Get the fresh tortillas, they're delicious!

Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just spent a week in the 2 bedroom condo with full kitchen and ocean front with wrap around porch overlooking the bluest waters and whitest sand beach ever. The rooms minimalist furnished but very well appointed. The staff is wonderful and helpful. Lots of restaurant choices just down the street

Room Tip: ask for master suite with one/two bedrooms and enjoy the full kitchen, with cooktop, microwave and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixchel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.