We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ixchel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ixchel Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Streamwood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

When I booked this hotel for my honeymoon, I did not know it was on Isla Mujeres. It was a pleasant surprise. The island was quiet and beautiful. Our room was an ocean facing suite that was clean and bright with gorgeous views. There were two things we disliked about the room. 1. The bed and pillows were rock hard. My husband and I woke up sore all three nights. 2. The maids took our towels when they cleaned our room, but did not replace them. I needed to call the front desk to have our towels replaced.
This hotel is in the downtown area. There are a ton of different restaurants to choose from. They were all little mom and pop restaurants and the food and drinks were very reasonably priced. Our favorite was Sancocho's Grill. We were bummed we didn't spend our entire vacation on this little jewel of an island.

Room Tip: Splurge on the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    214
    58
    19
    12
See reviews for
242
344
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a one bedroom penthouse suite in building 1. The room was great; if I was only reviewing the room, it would be 5 stars. Well furnished and spacious, but the roof area was the topper. More than enough room to entertain friends and a hot tub with a view of the water. Absolutely wonderful to sit and soak watching the sun set over Cancun without anyone bothering you. We ended up spending little time on the beach because the hot top was so nice and my wife was covered in bug bites after one visit to the beach. (Even with spray, she kept getting bitten.)

The maid service was nearly criminal.

Day 1: used 2 towels and left them hanging so they could be used again. Left a 40 peso tip. Result: maid service took the dirty towels, but did not leave any replacements. Visited the front desk and they had 2 towels sent up. Tipped the delivery person.

Day 2: used 2 towels and left them hanging so they could be used again. Left a 20 peso tip. Result: maid service took 1 dirty towel and the floor bath mat and left 1 dirty towel. Remembered that there were towels in the bathroom upstairs, so we used them. Notified the front desk hat there was a problem.

Day 3: used 2 towels and left them hanging so they cold be used again. Left no tip. Result: 3 used towels removed and 2 clean towels left.

Day 4: all used towels removed. None clean towel left. Acquired the one clean towel on the linen cart.

I was willing to write these problems off to a linen supply problem over the holiday weekend until I started talking to our friends. We were with a group of 44 people attending a wedding, so we were sharing our experiences. EVERYONE experienced problems with the towels. Several people perceived that it was a way for the hotel staff to get tips for delivering the towels. I wasn't sure until a friend shared his story:

My friend called the desk for towels after having none in the room. Someone delivered the towels and directly asked for a tip. My friend was frustrated by the towel game and refused. My friend left the room briefly. On his return, he discovered that someone had entered his room and removed the towels which had just been delivered. There is no reasonable justification for removing clean towels from a guest's room.

Management has a serious service problem. The front desk was notified several times by multiple people and I personally put it in writing in their exit survey. I suspect they get away with their game most of the time because it seems like someone is doing a poor job. With our group's sharing of information, it is clear that the towel shorting is intentional.

Last, the wifi in our room worked well enough to video chat with our daughter at home. I never found a wired connection point for Internet access. At the pool area, I was also able to connect, but I never tried any high-bandwidth applications there.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Guest Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest:
Hope this finds you very well and thank you very much for your detailed review.
Please receive our sincere apologies for the housekeeping service that we delivered while your stay. Your comments are highly appreciated as these clearly shows our opportunity areas to promptly attend. The perceived behavior of our maids is completely opposite to our Quality Service Orientation and we are conscious of where we need to adjust.
Dear Sir, your comments help us to be a better company and an improved place to stay thus we wish you to consider us on your next trip to Isla Mujeres!
Best regards,
Customer Service, Ixchel Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed there with a group of friends in mid-November for 3 nights. W had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with a large balcony. Everything was very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very firm and comfortable but the pillows are hard. Water pressure in showers was great! The staff were very welcoming. The pool and beach were perfect. The view from our balcony was beautiful. All of the amenities of the main street like restaurants, shopping, etc were just steps away so this location can't be beat. It seemed the perfect place to stay and we couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This place was so cheap so we didn't expect much but it was fantastic! We had a 2 bedroom apartment facing the beach on 2nd level of the east tower - newest tower. It was clean, huge, great decor and facilities. Amazing beach out front! The most beautiful water! The hotels restaurant was great and even cooked our fish for us and made us fish tacos after we had caught them on our fishing trip! The hotel manager was so wonderful. He offered us coffee every morning and was very attentive and helpful with local activities, he Spoke English very well and was extremely friendly. This hotel is just a minute walk to the main street with all shopping and great little bars to go to. the hotel helped us hire a 4 seater golf buggy to explore the island with, best idea ever! hotel
Also has a great towel, chair and food service on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent service, spotless rooms, attentive service from Kalak while on the beach, plenty of hot water & good water pressure, comfy beds! Stayed in 5th floor ocean front unit in west (phase 2) tower. Ocean front units with wrap around balcony are well worth the extra money. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ocean front suites have huge wrap around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Ixchel is situated at the end of Hidalgo av (the main pedestrian mall) which makes it a 2 min walk to restaurants, bars, and shops. The beachfront suite has a full kitchen, large dining/lounge room, huge bedroom, huge bathroom and a wrap around balcony with view beach and pool views. The hotel sits right on the beach so the views are amazing. We found the suite very comfortable with all the mod cons - central cooling, flat screen tv, and huge king sized bed with duvet. It was so nice we decided to cook dinner and enjoy the apartment rather than eating out. There's a decent sized supermarket about 15-20mins walk down Hidalgo (opposite a square where the council buildings are).
There are two pools at the ixchel, the east pool is nicer cause it's cleaner and gets more sun during the day. There's a basic gym but it's very very basic.
The beach at playa norte in front of the hotel is the best on the island (although not as good as playa del carmen or tulum), it was a beautiful beach but there was a lot of seaweed when we were there. The beach gets a lot narrow down the beach where other hotels are.
The service was great, very helpful and prompt. They are happy to organise golf carts, tours or just to give you advice where to go and what to see. We hired a golf cart for half day (return by 5pm) and it cost about 350pesos. I found half day enough cause isla is really quite small.
Overall i think Ixchel is the best hotel on playa norte given it's similarly priced to the other hotels but it's got a better beach and pool area. highly recommended !

Room Tip: beachfront suite is amazing !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My first time in ISLA MUJERES, I traveled with my sister and niece, their 2nde. The first four nights we stayed in suite 306.....ahhhhhh! Perfectly decorated, felt like home away from home. The view is priceless from the suite length balcony where you can exit from the living room or master bedroom. Everyday I was up at 5ish am, made coffee and was on my way to what became a daily ritual of an hour walk on the beach with my large cup of coffee. Within about 20 minutes walking I stood at my favorite spot and watched the sunrise, meanwhile the moon was still visible......just imagine. I live in California and have never cared to sit on the sand or, much less, get in the water. Here in this paradise I walked about 50 feet into the clearest water and it was only up to my shoulders (I'm only 5') and I sat in the whitest, softest sand. The staff from the reception area to housekeeping are professional and friendly. The big pluses here outdo the small insignificant minuses not worth mentioning. We actually stayed five nights in 306 and one in 404. Which was a nice room but not as home felt as 306. Each is owner owned, decorations and furnishings are all different. I am at this moment planning for another trip to ISLA MUJERES in May, can't wait to take my husband and adult sons to this lovely place with its lovely people. Everything in the northern part of the island is within walking distance. The ferry is an eight minute walk, so are restaurants, shopping and grocery store.

Room Tip: This entire hotel, phase 1, is owner owned. Visit the rooms online and search for the decor of prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Greetings Ms. Hilda L.

Thank you for your kind words, and for sharing your experiece, how great to hear about your enjoyment of the Isla Mujeres surroundings and that you had a wonderful time at Ixchel.
It will be an honor to host you again should you choose to come back at Ixchel.

Kind Regards
Ixchel Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixchel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.