We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ixchel Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ixchel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ixchel Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed there with a group of friends in mid-November for 3 nights. W had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with a large balcony. Everything was very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very firm and comfortable but the pillows are hard. Water pressure in showers was great! The staff were very welcoming. The pool and beach were perfect. The view from our balcony was beautiful. All of the amenities of the main street like restaurants, shopping, etc were just steps away so this location can't be beat. It seemed the perfect place to stay and we couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    223
    60
    21
    14
See reviews for
251
366
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This place was so cheap so we didn't expect much but it was fantastic! We had a 2 bedroom apartment facing the beach on 2nd level of the east tower - newest tower. It was clean, huge, great decor and facilities. Amazing beach out front! The most beautiful water! The hotels restaurant was great and even cooked our fish for us and made us fish tacos after we had caught them on our fishing trip! The hotel manager was so wonderful. He offered us coffee every morning and was very attentive and helpful with local activities, he Spoke English very well and was extremely friendly. This hotel is just a minute walk to the main street with all shopping and great little bars to go to. the hotel helped us hire a 4 seater golf buggy to explore the island with, best idea ever! hotel
Also has a great towel, chair and food service on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent service, spotless rooms, attentive service from Kalak while on the beach, plenty of hot water & good water pressure, comfy beds! Stayed in 5th floor ocean front unit in west (phase 2) tower. Ocean front units with wrap around balcony are well worth the extra money. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ocean front suites have huge wrap around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Ixchel is situated at the end of Hidalgo av (the main pedestrian mall) which makes it a 2 min walk to restaurants, bars, and shops. The beachfront suite has a full kitchen, large dining/lounge room, huge bedroom, huge bathroom and a wrap around balcony with view beach and pool views. The hotel sits right on the beach so the views are amazing. We found the suite very comfortable with all the mod cons - central cooling, flat screen tv, and huge king sized bed with duvet. It was so nice we decided to cook dinner and enjoy the apartment rather than eating out. There's a decent sized supermarket about 15-20mins walk down Hidalgo (opposite a square where the council buildings are).
There are two pools at the ixchel, the east pool is nicer cause it's cleaner and gets more sun during the day. There's a basic gym but it's very very basic.
The beach at playa norte in front of the hotel is the best on the island (although not as good as playa del carmen or tulum), it was a beautiful beach but there was a lot of seaweed when we were there. The beach gets a lot narrow down the beach where other hotels are.
The service was great, very helpful and prompt. They are happy to organise golf carts, tours or just to give you advice where to go and what to see. We hired a golf cart for half day (return by 5pm) and it cost about 350pesos. I found half day enough cause isla is really quite small.
Overall i think Ixchel is the best hotel on playa norte given it's similarly priced to the other hotels but it's got a better beach and pool area. highly recommended !

Room Tip: beachfront suite is amazing !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My first time in ISLA MUJERES, I traveled with my sister and niece, their 2nde. The first four nights we stayed in suite 306.....ahhhhhh! Perfectly decorated, felt like home away from home. The view is priceless from the suite length balcony where you can exit from the living room or master bedroom. Everyday I was up at 5ish am, made coffee and was on my way to what became a daily ritual of an hour walk on the beach with my large cup of coffee. Within about 20 minutes walking I stood at my favorite spot and watched the sunrise, meanwhile the moon was still visible......just imagine. I live in California and have never cared to sit on the sand or, much less, get in the water. Here in this paradise I walked about 50 feet into the clearest water and it was only up to my shoulders (I'm only 5') and I sat in the whitest, softest sand. The staff from the reception area to housekeeping are professional and friendly. The big pluses here outdo the small insignificant minuses not worth mentioning. We actually stayed five nights in 306 and one in 404. Which was a nice room but not as home felt as 306. Each is owner owned, decorations and furnishings are all different. I am at this moment planning for another trip to ISLA MUJERES in May, can't wait to take my husband and adult sons to this lovely place with its lovely people. Everything in the northern part of the island is within walking distance. The ferry is an eight minute walk, so are restaurants, shopping and grocery store.

Room Tip: This entire hotel, phase 1, is owner owned. Visit the rooms online and search for the decor of prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ixchelbeachh0tel, Public Relations Manager at Ixchel Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Greetings Ms. Hilda L.

Thank you for your kind words, and for sharing your experiece, how great to hear about your enjoyment of the Isla Mujeres surroundings and that you had a wonderful time at Ixchel.
It will be an honor to host you again should you choose to come back at Ixchel.

Kind Regards
Ixchel Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first stay in Isla Mujeres and we absolutely loved it. We stayed in the oceanfront penthouse in June 2012. We had an amazing stay. Planning the trip was easy and we contacted the concierge for the Ixchel several times and always received prompt, kind explanations. They arranged a golf cart for our stay so we explored to our hearts content. The beach was stunning. It was easy to swim/relax and convenient to town. Our stay couldn't have been better! We would return in a heart beat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We love Ixchel Beach and returned in a heartbeat the second my 78-year-old parents agreed to let us show them this delightful little island we had fallen in love with. Ixchel Beach makes the perfect first impression: it is situated in the center of beautiful Playa Norte, with Hidalgo and its restaurants and shops literally out the front door. Ixchel Beach is actually a two-building condo complex, so if you need AI or “resort” amenities it may not be for you, but if you are somewhat self-sufficient and want to feel for one week like you live in a beautiful beachfront residence, it is ideal.
We booked Suite 509-10 in Phase II through an owner this time, which had a few quirks to the process. Once our reservation was turned over to the hotel everything preceded normally. The only reason one would ever need to book through an owner is if you wanted a specific suite. We wanted a 2-BR oceanfront suite in Phase II, on a higher floor. To us, these suites are perfect: in September the immense wraparound balcony always has one half in sun and the other in shade at any time of day. And an upper floor guarantees a bit more privacy.
A 2-BR suite consists of a 1-BR suite (Master BR attached to a living room and kitchen) with an adjacent BR added on. This additional BR is also rented as a standard room, although it has no balcony. And even as travelers who don’t spend the week in our room, why get an oceanfront view with no balcony? To access our balcony from the add-on BR we had to first go to the living room. You can also access it directly from the Master BR. We found 509-10 to be a bit less homey and finished than the suite two years before, #310. However, the suite was spacious and the kitchen area served us well. The four of us were very comfortable.
During our stay we had the occasion to visit PH 503-504 in Phase I, which has a rooftop party area that could easily accommodate 20 people. We also toured Penthouse 709 in Phase II after having admired pictures. Even though it was being remodeled, it did not disappoint—it has by far the best view of any given accommodation on the island.
The beach seemed a little more crowded to us than in 2010, with an additional beach club (“Palapa Leidy”) now operating. Beach service to Ixchel guests is now provided by Kalak restaurant, and the waiters were all enthusiastic and friendly, especially Arturo, or R2D2, as he is known. Front desk staff was also just as friendly and helpful as we recall. Towels are now distributed from the spa out on the beach, which isn’t very handy if one is merely going to the pool.
We had only two minor hitches during our stay: we returned to our suite one afternoon to find that workers one floor above us had struck a water line and flooded our suite. Things were pretty much cleaned up by the time we returned, and the staff was very apologetic, even offering to move us to another suite. In the end, we lost just a few tea bags and condiments. We had a hole in the ceiling above the bar for one night; it was patched the next day.
On our final night on the island, we got to experience one of the dreaded Chimbo’s parties. Yes, the music was loud and the bass was easily felt even all the way up in our suite, but at 11:30 PM they turned down the bass if not the volume. Young Isleños were still arriving by cabs when we went to bed. We had no problem sleeping, but an oceanfront suite in Phase I would have been just steps away from the party.
I always recommend that first-timers stay on Playa Norte if at all possible. If a condo fits your vacationing style, Ixchel Beach Hotel is the perfect choice. We wanted to impress my parents with Isla’s beauty, and these are people who have traveled the world. Even my father, who had warned us before the trip that he wasn’t “a beach guy,” admitted during the week that the view from our suite was as beautiful as any he’s ever had. And while we will occasionally enjoy staying mid-island or in one of the colonias, whenever we want to stay on Playa Norte we will look no further than Ixchel Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend either an oceanfront suite or a penthouse. We also prefer Phase II.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ixchel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ixchel Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ixchel Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the best hotels in Isla Mujeres, visit Ixchel Beach Hotel, a two wing, two phase condotel complex with 117 rooms in Isla Mujeres. East Wing (Phase One) with 48 rooms, 5 stories and opened in June 2006; West Wing (Phase Two) with 69 rooms, 6 stories and opened in August 2007. Both properties (see Accomodation Remark below) are designed in Mexican casual and modern stylish buildings located at the beautiful North Beach on the colorful island of Isla Mujeres (Women Island).Ixchel for the Mayans was the Goddess of love, fertility and the moon. Walking a few steps from downtown of this friendly island and facing the most beautiful white sand & powder touch beaches of Isla Mujeres, in the Yucatan Peninsula and the Mexican Caribbean, our Isla Mujeres hotel offers warm personable service in an upscale, intimate island experience perfect for families and romantics.If you want a great escape to a Isla Mujeres hotel, our hotel is ideal for the relaxing weekend getaway or a romantic honeymoon retreat. Treat yourself to all of the luxury that our Ixchel Hotel in Isla Mujeres has to offer and enjoy the surrounding areas, activities and beauty.Premier in Isla Mujeres hotels, the Ixchel Beach Hotel offers luxurious amenities, outstanding service and a tranquil atmosphere to completely relax and enjoy your Mexican vacation. You won't find a more beautiful or more convenient location to soak in the sun and experience this amazing island of Isla Mujeres.If you are looking among hotels in Isla Mujeres, look no further than the Ixchel Beach Hotel. You won't be disappointed. You, the guest, are our number one priority and your comfort and enjoyment during your vacations in Mexico and lodging experience are our primary concern. We will do everything we can to make your stay nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ixchel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ixchel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.