We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis in the midst of the festive Isla Mujeres atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Espana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Espana
Save
You added Hotel Casa Espana to your Saves list
Francisco I Madero s/n | entre Ave.Rueda Medina y Ave. Juarez, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 27 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
gulf islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A peaceful oasis in the midst of the festive Isla Mujeres atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We found this lovely little hotel upon arriving on the island. It is small and personal with thirteen suites/rooms surrounding a beatiful tropical garden courtyard. My husband and I were traveling with our two children (aged 10 and 13), and we found our suite with two double beds and small kitchen was perfect. The beds were very comfortable and the decor was cheerful and tasteful. Someone with artistic flair decorated the lobby, which has three different colourful and unique areas each with a different theme. The management (a man and his three teenaged sons) were friendly and accomodating - they even lent us a stovetop espresso maker and the youngest son cut open coconuts for my children with a machete! The garden was a lovely place to relax - the palm trees provided lovely shade and the pool was small but deep - a great dip to cool off. This hotel is two blocks from the ferry, one block from the beach and two blocks from the festive pedestrian only tourist street.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    0
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

My spouse and I booked a week in the "luxury borbon suite" at Casa Espana based on the photos and description sent to us by the hotel representative. The price was $100 US per night and we paid 2 nights in advance to guarantee the reservation. This hotel is a couple of blocks from the west beach, and perhaps a 10 minute walk to Playa Norte. It has no view, which we were aware of. I'd read some negative reviews here and elsewhere, but there were also some positive reviews, and the hotel contact person came highly recommended on the Trip Advisor forum.

We were looking for a romantic getaway and this small hotel seemed like a perfect fit for us. When we arrived and saw the room we were disappointed and upset.

First, there is nothing remotely luxurious about this room, nor is it a "suite". A suite suggests there is more than one room. I would describe it as a hostel quality room with a king size bed and a TV, though not as clean as many hostels.

Second, the room looks nothing like the photos we viewed before booking. The bed has no canopy and the room is much smaller and shabbier than depicted in the photo, with a stained blanket in lieu of a bed spread. There were heavy opaque curtains on the large window instead of the breezy curtains in the photo. The large window looks directly out onto other balconies - there is no way to open the curtains without losing all privacy, even during the day. There is no window covering at all on the large window in the door, which is partially shielded by tree branches. Anyone going to the door would have a full view of the room and occupants. There is a flimsy lock on the door and no safe.

Third, we were told the room had a "kitchen" in one email, a "kitchenette" in another, and "cooking facilities" in a third email. The "kitchen" was an old sink and mini fridge beside the bed, with a couple of plates and a few pieces of cutlery. There was absolutely nothing to cook with, not even a microwave or toaster. After leaving, we were told that a coffee maker is available if you ask.

The bathroom has a large window with heavy drapes over the jacuzzi. The view is of other balconies - the drapes cannot be opened without losing all privacy. The toilet seat is of the inflated variety and is too small for the toilet. The bathroom is shabby and awkwardly shaped.

The court yard and small pool are completely shaded. There are a few tables to sit at, but they are close together and offer no privacy. The pool is mostly ornamental. There is a nice water feature on the back wall and the court yard is pretty. It is probably the nicest feature of the hotel.

As other posters mentioned, the front desk clerk was immersed on the Internet every time we saw him.

My husband and I were both upset when we saw the room. We left our bags and went for a walk to think about what to do. We decided that staying in this hotel would ruin our vacation. Since we'd already booked the most expensive room at the hotel, we decided to find another hotel, even if we could not get our deposit back. It took us four hours to find another hotel room for the week, probably because Carnaval was approaching. We returned to Casa Espana and checked out.

We found a room at the newly renovated Roca Mar that was the same price as the borbon suite at Casa Espana, but had a new king size bed, walk in two person shower with rain shower head, balcony with a hammock and deck chairs with a stunning view of the crashing surf, and triple wide patio doors that opened up so that you could fall asleep to the sound of the waves. That's what $100 US per night should purchase on Isla.

A few days after leaving Casa Espana, we met another couple while having breakfast at Elements of the Island. They mentioned they weren't happy with their hotel room, so the hotel had moved them to the best room in the place, but only charged them the rate for their previous room ($70 US per night.) They were still upset with it. We asked where they were staying and it turns out, they had our room at Casa Espana. They didn't like it much, either, and ended up changing hotels as well. They said the bed was uncomfortable. We didn't spend the night there, so I can't comment on that.

We e-mailed the hotel contact person, who was very solicitous and offered to meet with us, but was not prepared to refund our money as she felt it wasn't the hotel's fault we didn't like the room. I didn't feel like arguing about it while on vacation. We'd already spent most of our first evening on the island dealing with it.

If the Borbon Suite at Casa Espana had been $30 US per night and we'd been looking for an ultra-budget vacation, I would not be posting a negative review. At $30 US per night, it was okay. I have happily stayed at $30 hotels in Hong Kong, Thailand, and China, because the price reflected the amenities. At $50 US per night, I would be disappointed and wouldn't book Casa Espana again. $100 US per night for this room is wildly out of synch with the going rate on Isla. I could not recommend this hotel to anyone at that price.

I don't like posting negative reviews, but in this case, I think a heads up is necessary.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

This is a great hotel, with a very cute and peaceful garden, very well located close to the beach. There is a pool but it's very small and you cannot really use it but you don't need to when the sea is so close. Loved Isla Mujeres, the food, etc. Just one negative point: the mattresses were not comfortable, but it was ok for a few nights. staff nice, again beautiful inner garden. We had a great time!

  • Liked — the garden, very relaxing
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa,florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

not proffessional, sketchy people at the front desk,16 year olds running the place,owner unaware had his nose on the internet,not well kept

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

This place is really well located in-town. There's everything you need. 2 Internet stations (free) but you might have to share it with the front desk people as they are chatroom addicted and seem to do it all day long. charming.

ROOM:
Simple. Clean, A/C. Refrigerator (useful!).

SERVICE:

Good

LOCATION:

downtown but a block away from the main beach

Great value - can't beat it. We felt safe there. Stay there when on a budget and spend your money on other fun stuff instead.

  • Liked — location, value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

Great setting, great rooms and lovely peaceful garden with pool make this a brilliantly relaxing location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

We came into town, and were so tired.. we had a friend on the island book this little gem for us, sight unseen. The rooms were clean, and the price was right! Small pool, but wonderful enough to take a quick dip to cool off.. air conditioner was loud and cold, so we had no problems! GREAT owner. Will go to again!

  • Liked — The owner
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Espana

Address: Francisco I Madero s/n | entre Ave.Rueda Medina y Ave. Juarez, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.