We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Kiin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Kiin to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Kiin
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Zazil Ha Num 129, Mz. 30 Lote 23 | Col Centro, Isla Mujeres 97000, Mexico (Formerly Casa Maya Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We used to stay at the Villa Kiin whenever we visited Isla Mujeres, however over the years we found better places to stay. While the location on Playa Secreto is first rate, the owner, Jose' Lima, is quite the opposite. We like the condos on Sunset Beach much better and are looking forward to our next trip there February, 2014.

Sorry Jose'...Maria, but your greed and lack of integrity is why we avoid your hotel now.

Room Tip: They used to have a small kitchen for guests. Not any more. :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    59
    42
    16
    20
See reviews for
27
86
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for just one night as we are bouncing around the Maya Riviera. For the price (USD 69 after tax through hotels.com), we had a lovely little room (room 21) with a shared balcony looking onto a busy little bay at the north east edge of playa norte (looking onto the boardwalk to the Avalon resort). AC was strong (important for my husband), the bathroom was light and bright with some simple stained glass windows, a comfortable (though on the hard side) queen bed and a simple decoration throughout featuring shell lamps.

The little bay Villa Kiin is on is a favorite on the island and has more local tourists than foreign, which makes it more lively and fun and family friendly (lots of young families with little kids when were there). The Villa itself opens onto the public strip of beach but has its own garden with hammocks and palms, flowers and beachy landscaping.

The receptionistas were not warm, but they answered all of our questions in Spanish and were professional.

The breakfast was actually around the beach a bit at Bujo's which was a great low-key beach club -worth visiting even if you don't stay at Villa Kiin. Fenix was great for a drink and some tapas and we also had a drink at Avalon which has a good happy hour (we tried to go visit the King's Bath at the tip of Avalon to swim in the rocky cove with the fish -but were kicked out as we weren't guests of the hotel).

As others have said, this is not a luxury hotel but I thought the details were nicely done -again a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

During our vacation on this beautiful island, my girlfriend made a terrible fell with her bike. She broke her elbow and nose, lost half a tooth and her face was full of scratches and wounds. When we left the hospital and when we checked in this hotel again ,where we already were staying for a few days, we wanted to call our dentist in Belgium to ask if there was an urgency to fix the halfbroken tooth or if it was better to wait until we returned to Belgium 2 days after.

Because our cell phone had no reach, we asked the 2 people at the reception desk if we could use their phone. They didn't allow it, even though if we wanted to pay for it. They didn't even bother to ask what has happened with my girlfriend who was clearly suffering from a lot of pain. They were very unpolite an not helpful at all.

This was by far the worst service I have ever seen in a hotel! Just shocking!

Moreover the breakfast was rubbish and the hotel overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location near the north shore, and location near what in our research was one of the good snorkel spots. Although there was no real snorkeling to be had nearby from shore, the location was quite charming, and the hammocks and beach access were great. However, the rooms were decrepit- our toilet barely flushed and it took 10 (yes ten!) minutes for the water to warm up- both of which belied a real plumbing problem with the hotel. The rooms are no frills, as we expected, but were in terrible disrepair- cracked/broken/peeling wood molding, tiles loose, etc. They also at the last minute said they didn't accept credit cards (though they charged my card a refundable security deposit on check-in....?) and compelled us to pay in cash, upping the exchange rate for Pesos to 13, when it was in fact 11.65 at the time. I debated with this the rude woman on duty to no avail- hence this review. As many other places in Mexico that have been hit hard by the economy, it was beyond clear that this place was trying to squeeze every last penny out of you, while skimping on needed repairs and service. Not worth it- stay someplace else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in one of their budget rooms and it was a big mistake. The view from the window is of some water heater and their were plenty of insects keeping me up at night. The bathroom had windows that were blacked out for some reason and it was not very nice. The worst thing was they said they didn't take Visa and I had to pay in cash...then the next day they did accept my brother's payment with Visa, making me think that they kept my money without the owner knowing. A bad experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have been going to Villa Kiin for probably the past 7 or so years and it never disappoints!
We have become attached to room 26, and as usual, it was perfect for us...we even had a friend join us and the staff could not have been more accommodating...
mornings doing yoga on a spot at the end of the cove over looking the ocean was beautiful!
The swimming is as usual....divine! The cove is shallow enough for a mediocre swimmer, and the tropical fish are abundant....i feel like this is becoming my own special second home....!
I have read other reviews and am confused by people who think this is a 5 star...while you certainly share the same beach as a 5 star hotel...the price is less than half....Villa Kiin often runs discounts and we were delighted to enjoy a 15% discount on our room...the rates could not be beat.....staff are always available, accomodatng and friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Once again what an enjoyable trip we had. Perfect location on the north side. Feels like its your own secret beach. The staff is always very helpful. I am tired of all the bad reviews. People expect a 5 star hotel for under a $100.00. The hotel is perfect for what a beach destination is intended for, sleeping and taking a shower. Nice and clean simple rooms with the best location on the island.

Room Tip: If you want a more modern room ask for the pakal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Kiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kiin

Address: Calle Zazil Ha Num 129, Mz. 30 Lote 23 | Col Centro, Isla Mujeres 97000, Mexico (Formerly Casa Maya Hotel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Kiin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The casa Maya hotel in Isla Mujeres was developed by owner señor Jose Lima as a Mayan town with its palm thatched bungalows around a coconut palm garden and 100 yards of beachfront. It has 22 rooms and offers a very Mexican, very Mayan atmosphere. It has a wide collection of reproductions of the best Mexican painters like Diego Rivera and his wife Frida Kahlo, a large collection of books about Mexican art, architecture, Mayan culture and history and señor Lima has now converted his hotel into a bed and breakfast hotel on the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Kiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Kiin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.