We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less than stellar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ixchel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Ixchel to your Saves list
Casa Ixchel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Salina Chica, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“less than stellar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Disappointed in the size of these "suites." We stayed in "Love" but we saw the inside of another room next door. Just way too small for the 6 days my husband and I stayed. The bed was in the middle of the room which meant we were tripping over each other with the less than 3 feet we had on each side of the bed. The bed was hard as a rock and the pillows felt like sacks of tennis balls. It didn't matter what time of day we showered we never even had warm water. And the kitchenette was too small to prepare anything in (although we did try twice) and the utensils were very slim pickings. Our shower leaked so every time we used it we had a flood in the bathroom. There was a jacuzzi outside our room that wasn't running and had a film floating on it. Over all if there was just a little more room and warm water I might consider this place again. It was nice to look at and the staff was friendly. The ocean view in the back was amazing and the back pool area was actually a nice place to hang out. We also liked the restaurant upstairs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    53
    21
    13
    3
See reviews for
9
93
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at Casa Ixchel. The hotel is in a perfect location on Isla Mujeres. It is on a rocky beach, but within a 10-15 minute walk/5 minute golf cart ride of Playa Norte. I was concerned we might feel like we were far away from things, but it turned out for the best -- we liked being close to town but able to return to peace and quiet, and the proximity to the south end of the island was great. The hotel is pretty, decorated in soothing neutral colors, and the pool area is clean and relaxing with comfy sun beds.

We arrived around 1 pm, and our room was ready. Even though we stayed in one of the smaller rooms (Serendipity), it was more than adequate for our needs. The king-size bed was comfortable, and there was a large dresser and small closet. The room came equipped with a mini-fridge, two huge beach towels and yoga mats. Even though it is billed as "garden view" we could see the ocean if we kept our drapes open, and we could hear the waves crashing. The air conditioning worked well. The hotel provided a pitcher of fresh water each day, and we kept some in our fridge.

Minor quibbles that you should know: the bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a curtain, with no door. I've found this is actually not that unusual in Mexico, but it could be an unpleasant surprise if you are shy about such things. The hotel supplies soap and shampoo, but no conditioner. The shower was warm, but not hot, at peak use times (before dinner and in the morning). On Isla Mujeres, none of the toilets can handle paper, so at Casa Ixchel, like everywhere else, toilet paper goes in the wastebasket. There were plenty of clean, fluffy towels.

There were people staying in the room next to us, and we did not hear a bump or a word. The room was very quiet and private.

When we arrived we were starving and made our way to the roof deck restaurant, where we found friendly servers and the most delicious food. We had two kinds of tacos, guacamole, and tuna ceviche there. The drinks were also delicious, and reasonably priced. The setting is gorgeous and the perfect spot for a welcome-to-vacation cocktail. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but it was inexpensive when we ate there. Coffee was delicious. There are several great breakfast places on the island to try (I recommend Mango and Cafe Mogagua).

We decided to rent a golf cart, and when we asked the desk clerk about it, she offered to arrange it for us and have the cart delivered the next morning. I highly recommend getting a golf cart to explore the island...it is a beautiful place and we loved the freedom of having our own transportation (though cabs really are everywhere so a golf cart is not required).

I would return to Casa Ixchel in a heartbeat, and hope to go back sooner rather than later. It is not a place for people seeking wild nightlife or a 5-star all-inclusive, but it is perfect for a quiet, romantic getaway.

Go, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Even garden view rooms have a peek of the ocean. If you plan to lounge around the room, spring for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cancun
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Casa Ixchel was just what we needed considering how busy life has been. Laid back and relaxing. They have a very nice staff. Moy and Hube took great care of all our needs in the restaurant and bar and any information we needed. There was a minor problem with hot water while we were there but, they took care of it fairly quickly. You couldn't ask for a more beautiful location. It is right on the ocean. Casa Ixchel is in a great location too. It isn't too close to the center of town but it is close enough to walk. Lovely views. I want to go back as soon as possible.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Casa Ixchel has it’s little quirks that take a bit of time to get used to (like no doors on the bathrooms), but it’s setting right on top of the rocky and beautiful Isle Mujeres coast ocean makes it a place to stay, especially for a couple. It is hard for me to judge all the other rooms, but ‘Harmony,’ the room we stayed, was right at the front of the building, with huge windows steps from the pool and the ocean just beyond that. Casa Ixchel is built very well, with the pool area and then the two-story restaurant creating an incredible setting for a relaxing getaway. The central location allowed us to walk into downtown Isla Mujeres to the restaurants and beaches while also allowing us to walk the other direction where we discovering some incredible hidden gems in a more residential neighborhood. If you aren’t a fan of walking though, Casa Ixchel is right on the main road that runs across the island, so grabbing a taxi to explore everything Isla Mujeres has to offer is very easy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed in Casa Ixchel for 3 nights while we explored Isla Mujeres. The location for me was perfect. Only steps from the Carribean, the sound of the breaking waves drowned out any noise from the cars passing by. The staff at the Hotel and Restaurant were kind, friendly and professional. The added bonus for us was the high quality restaurant located upstairs. If you have an afternoon flight into Cancun, it is very convenient to have a good restaurant on premise because by the time you catch the ferry it'll probably be sunset.

The rooms were as promised but I thought they were a bit overpriced. We stayed in Peace. It had a kitchenette that was perfect for making coffee and chilling Cervezas. If ever lucky enough to be on Isla again, I would stay here. However, if dazzling nightlife and beach chairs are your thing, you may want to stay closer to North Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the Carribean side have the sound of the ocean and a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Md
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a WONDERFUL 5 days at Casa Ixchel. It was everything we were looking for and more.

I'll start by saying one very important thing: If you only travel once a year and/or think that your vacation dollar is best spent being waited on and catered to at a big beautiful self indulgent cookie cutter resort, stop reading and go book a vacation at an all inclusive somewhere else. The charm of Mexico and the people that live and work on Isla Mujeres will be lost on you, and you'll be miserable. If it's peace and quiet you're looking for with a beautiful back drop in which to re connect with your significant other in a charming setting, you'll be very happy with the value of this property.

I am a flight attendant, and I KNOW HOTELS. I live in them three days a week most weeks. Star ratings mean nothing...because it's a matter of personal preference. I'll give you the honest assessment:
These rooms with the exception of the apartment (as are stated in other reviews) are small. We didn't haul all of our scuba gear, so this was fine for us. There was a small closet to hang up a few items, and also a small safe to store our credit cards and passports while we were out and about. My husband and I wanted RELAXATION and that is exactly what we got. We stayed in the "Love" suite. For the modest price this room has a bed, a kitchenette with a two burner gas stove, a mini fridge, and a coffee pot. There was also a HUGE soaking tub with plenty of room for two. There is nothing else in the room. No Tv (which I LOVED), NO PHONE, and no other furniture. If you're looking for a place to hang out on the couch STAY HOME. ;) The bed was uncomfortable, but we frequent Mexico, and this is typical there so we weren't surprised by that. Have a few mojitos before turning in and you'll sleep just fine! The air conditioning unit worked just fine, and we had absolutely no issues with the plumbing or hot water during our entire stay. Also, if you open the curtain, you have a view of the beautiful Caribbean right from your bed.

The on site restaurant Da Louisa is FANTASTIC, serving authentic Mexican cuisine as well as some Italian options. The staff was super friendly and eager to please, and Moy (Breakfast and lunch server) and Juve (Dinner) were delightful!!! They won't drop your check. They consider that rude in Mexico. You have to ask for it, so don't mistake that for slow service.

This is an adult oriented property. NO CHILDREN :) I am the mother of 4 boys. I love kids. But not when I'm on a quiet romantic get away with my husband, so this was one of the reasons we chose this property. The DO allow kids during school holidays (thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter) so keep that in mind. There is a nice pool which we had to ourselves for 2 of our 5 days and there is a rocky/shell filled/coral beach directly down the stairs. We are from the East Coast of the US, and are accustomed to swimming in the surf of the North Eastern Atlantic, and we swam in the sea every day but noticed we were the only ones. If you're going to get in, please make sure you have water shoes on. The bottom is stable but rocky, as this island is coral based. YOU DO NOT WANT TO ENTER WITH BARE FEET. The water was a wonderful 81 degrees!!

There is no real reason to rent a car or get suckered into a golf cart for $35 PER DAY. There is a Chedraui (like a Walmart) within walking distance (four blocks or so), and a few little mini marts along the way if you just need to pick up snacks or water. Taxis run in front of the hotel at all hours of the day, and we never had to wait more than 3 minutes to hail one. You can get to downtown in 5 minutes for about $4.

Downtown area is your typical tourist area. Lots of great bars/restaurants and of course everybody trying to sell you their junk. If you're not interested just say no thank you and keep walking. I don't know why people get so upset by the shop owners trying to sell...THAT'S THEIR JOB! They're not going to follow you home, so relax and smile. You're on vacation. And hey...you may find some great little treasure in one of these shops, so it won't kill ya to look!

So, go. Relax. Get away from reality for a steal. And to those who posted negative things about bugs if you're afraid of insects like ants...don't go to the tropics.

Have a great vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We bought a Groupon Coupon for this hotel because the top of our bucket list was swimming with whale sharks. Casa Ixchel, named for the beautiful goddess of the island, is a hidden treasure. The front entry hides the beauty within. Our room, the Serenity, was tiny, but supplied everything we wanted, including a tiny kitchen with coffee maker and fridge. Lying in bed, we looked over our toes to the fresh-water pool, deck, and blue Caribbean beyond. The terrace upstairs, part of the in-house restaurant Da Luisa, was the perfect place for breakfast, afternoon margarita, or dreamy dinner--all delicious and served by well-trained staff with good senses of humor. The air conditioning never failed and made sleeping so easy. Drinking water was provided. Everyone associated with Casa Ixchel was professional and only too happy to help. BTW, swimming with the whale sharks and Manta rays was exciting beyond words.

Room Tip: We loved our front row room for its view but in other rooms you might hear less pool chatter. It did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ixchel

Address: Salina Chica, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Ixchel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small relaxing boutique hotel located in the middle of the Island with ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Ixchel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Louise Ixchel Hotel Isla Mujeres
Casa Ixchel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ixchel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.