We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hRd working people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Women's Beading Cooperative

Women's Beading Cooperative
La Gloria, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
+52 1 998 161 9659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Attractions in Isla Mujeres
Type: Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unique hRd working people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you visit Isla Murejes you have to visit this area. These people art great artists who can produce some wonderful items.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden behind carnival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a long hot walk searching for this place, though we had good directions. Right now it's hidden behind many many carnival rides, but it's there if you know where to find it. Beautiful jewelry and lovely to see the women there making it in front of you. You'll see similar beaded items all over the Yucatan but I felt much better paying them a lot more and knowing where it came from.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Support the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Bead jewelry all made my local women. There is something for everyone or bring a present home for someone. All different styles of necklaces, bracelets, and rings.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Handmade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Instead of buying crap from the vendors down town try this gem of a jewelry store. All hand made right in front of you. Worth the visit . I bought my wife a couple pieces. Very pretty and inexpensive. It's beaded jewelry no silver or gold. Different then anything else I've seen on the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great community effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Wonderful jewelry produced by local women. Very reasonable prices, good selection, nice workmanship. Love supporting a local cooperative.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Women's Beading Cooperative also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Women's Beading Cooperative? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Women's Beading Cooperative, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.