We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bucaneros

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bucaneros to your Saves list
Hotel Bucaneros
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hidalgo #11 | Colonia Centro, entre Av. Madero y Av. Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

You can't beat the price or location. It's near everything which is both a pro and con. Hotel is outdated but for the price you really can't complain. Wasn't bothered by the "noise" of the streets. It ended at midnight and it was great to people watch. I would stay there for a weekend but would upgrade to a nicer hotel if staying longer. My only complaint were the ants, dust, spotty WIFI and lack of microwave.

Room Tip: Pay for bicycle transport and they will take luggage up to room (no elevator). Ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    93
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
83
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you're planning on staying on the island, and not looking for a glamorous or pricey experience, this hotel is perfect. It sits in the center of the island, in the northern end. The center street that runs below the hotel offers a variety of restaurants, shops, and entertainment. Most nights, starting at 9pm a dance group performs along the stream with large drums. The hotel is cozy, offering somewhat small single rooms, but fairly large doubles. Once we saw the single we had booked we were able to pay the difference for the double, it was worth it. Internet is free, and the staff is very flexible and kind. Breakfast includes toast, cereal, plate of fruit, spreads, milk, juice. Ac, hot water. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent location as their are loads of restaurants on the same street, although it can be somewhat noisy in the evenings but nothing too late, and the beach is just a 3 minute walk. The room was clean with good air-con and a decent fridge. There is everything you need nearby and it is great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

You can't beat this place for location and value. It's located right in the heart of the village, and the rates are very reasonable. However, the room we booked, although advertised as a "suite," was simply a tiny room with two double beds and a tiny kitchenette. In fact, it was so small that it was difficult to walk around the beds to get to the bathroom or kitchen area. The beds filed ip practically all of the floor space. For four people (two parents and two teens), it was really not suitable. On the other hand, we had air conditioning and wifi. And, really, when you're on Isla, you don't spend a whole lot of time in your hotel room. So, this place certainly didn't ruin our trip or anything. But it was not quite as advertised. And, if we'd had bad weather and spent a lot of time indoors, the room's tinyness might have led to family dysfunction. ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I walked in last minute after being Snubbed by another Hotel. Friendly Family Staff! Good English! Clean all around steps away from Music/Eateries/Shopping! BUT!!! The Hotel is Undergoing Construction in the Rear on the second outtet Floors !! Bang bang from 10AM TO Freaking 6PM!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have been staying at Bucaneros for the past ten years and keep coming back for many reasons. The location is perfect - the beach is a short walk, you are close to tons of restaurants, close to the zocalo and supermarket, as well as the ferry and taxis to discover the island. The hotel is clean and there are many options for the size of the room you need, additionally it is a fantastic deal. More than all of that we stay as over the years we have gotten to know the family and staff and it really feels like a second home. Isla Mujeres is a very special place with some of the most amazing people in the world. I will be the first to say it isn't for everyone, but for the lucky ones Isla is a place where each visit back you feel like you never left. We look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We found Hotel Bucaneros last minute online on TripAdvisor and to be honest we were a little skeptical at first because we knew nothing of Isla Mujeres & everyone else we seemed to talk to were staying on the beach all inclusive. But when we arrived we were more than satisfied with our choice. We had had previously booked a standard room at the lower price but once arrived we asked if we could upgrade to a room with a mini fridge & the lady at reception (the beautiful family that owned the hotel) upgraded us to a room twice the amount of the room we previously booked but charged us half the amount. I think it came to an extra 300 pesos which was exceptional! The service was great, the breakfast was everything we needed, the hospitality was excellent and the location was even better. Not only did they speak really good English for us amateur backpackers but helped anyway they could. And not to mention they're baby was sooooo cute! ;)

We had a room with a balcony facing the busy street which some may not like but it was perfect for us. We could sit outside and drink and enjoy the vibe. It was loud but didn't last past midnight. We were close to everything and met some great ppl we will hopefully befriend for life. Not to mention the ppl who had previously stated they were stayin at an all inclusive came to visit and decided against the all inclusive and to stay at Hotel Bucaneros next time. Better value for money and a better experience involving yourself more with the public. Thank you Hotel Bucaneros for the great experience & the memories. You will see us again :)

Room Tip: Choose a larger room with balcony & mini fridge! We were in room 102 and loved the fact we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bucaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucaneros

Address: Av. Hidalgo #11 | Colonia Centro, entre Av. Madero y Av. Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bucaneros 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Isla Mujeres on Avenida Hidalgo, the main pedestrian street, lies the Hotel & Restaurant Bucaneros. The restaurant was created in 1965 by Mr. Javier Hoth, since then, this family run business offers exquisite mexican food, fresh seafood specialties & international dishes in its beautiful restaurant.The Hotel with its 17 enchanting rooms, all delicately decorated in mayan-caribbean style and it's soft and relaxing colours will help you feel you vacation come true. You will be only 8 walking minutes away from the turquoise waters and white sands of famous North Beach. You'll have the best location on the island, very close to all shops, restaurants, cafés, internets, pharmacies, supermarket, mainsquare, jewelries, etc...A personal and professional attention is most important to us to make you feel safe, appreciated and at home on Isla Mujeres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bucaneros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucaneros Hotel Isla Mujeres
Bucaneros Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bucaneros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.