We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay in Isla Mujeres” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bucaneros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bucaneros to your Saves list
Hotel Bucaneros
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Hidalgo #11 | Colonia Centro, entre Av. Madero y Av. Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Super Stay in Isla Mujeres”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

What a wonderful hotel, very clean and tidy, open air balconies on the front and back. Over the street you have two wonderful Restaurants on Hidalgo avenue and the price is very affordable at around $75 a night. Music wafts up until 11 pm to lull you to sleep. Loved, loved loved it.

Room Tip: 202 street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    93
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
82
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I just stayed five nights at the Bucaneros Hotel. Prices on Isla Mujeres have skyrocketed since I started going there in 1982. This is the first time I didn't stay at a hotel with a beach or ocean view, but since I'd just spent two months at a rented beach house in the Yucatan, I was okay to have a room without a view. I started in a $52 a night room on the 2nd floor (like an American third floor). Didn't like all the stair climbing, and since my room still wasn't made up at 3 pm when I needed a nap, I saw the door to room 103 was open, on the first floor. Light was streaming in from both windows, and the pale yellow walls made the whole room look warm and inviting. It was available, so I moved in within 10 minutes, and my rate went down to $42. I LOVED coming back throughout the day to my cozy little room (with air conditioning and WIFI so I could do Skype and talk to my family back home, plus check emails). The very nice bathroom was just steps from my comfy bed. The whole place was spotless, with nice furniture. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We went with a large group of friends, and from the pictures we were pretty excited to see this place. We were put in a room on the third floor in the back, which we later dubbed as the "servants quarters". On any given day we were unsure if we would get towels, clean sheets or toilet paper. Some days they left 1 towel and 2 wash clothes, others it was no towel 1 wash cloth and 3 hand towels. The A/C was broke for the first two days and we froze the first night and were sweating the second night. None of the remotes worked. Wifi did not work on the third floor, had to go down to the lower levels. We rarely had enough hot water for my both my husband and I to take showers. Our room was not particularly clean by any means. Other rooms were more spacious and some people did not seem to have problems getting their amenities. Breakfast was minimal at best. The staff was not truly helpful, just kind of smiled and ignored you. Also, we were unaware that you had to take stairs to all floors which was hard on some of our friends who are older.

Choose wisely.

Room Tip: Lower floors and towards the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Hotel Bucaneros is a very impressive small hotel located in the center of everything. The rooms were very clean and very fine linens and towels. The breakfast was great and served in a nice dining room. Wi-Fi also very good. Great price and great staff. We highly recommend the Hotel Bucaneros.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, staff is helpful. Convenient location in the center of everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here...Hotel Bucaneros is so guest-friendly and convenient to everywhere one needs to go. the room was clean and in good condition. Plenty of towels and large beach towels that could be refreshed every day. Wi-Fi worked great and breakfast was a good start to the day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Was thoroughly impressed. Very clean rooms, and they come with a free beer / wine / soda upon arrival, in addition to the breakfast included. Professional staff, convenient downtown location, and comfortable beds to boot!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bucaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucaneros

Address: Av. Hidalgo #11 | Colonia Centro, entre Av. Madero y Av. Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bucaneros 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Isla Mujeres on Avenida Hidalgo, the main pedestrian street, lies the Hotel & Restaurant Bucaneros. The restaurant was created in 1965 by Mr. Javier Hoth, since then, this family run business offers exquisite mexican food, fresh seafood specialties & international dishes in its beautiful restaurant.The Hotel with its 17 enchanting rooms, all delicately decorated in mayan-caribbean style and it's soft and relaxing colours will help you feel you vacation come true. You will be only 8 walking minutes away from the turquoise waters and white sands of famous North Beach. You'll have the best location on the island, very close to all shops, restaurants, cafés, internets, pharmacies, supermarket, mainsquare, jewelries, etc...A personal and professional attention is most important to us to make you feel safe, appreciated and at home on Isla Mujeres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bucaneros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucaneros Hotel Isla Mujeres
Bucaneros Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bucaneros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.