We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Catrina

La Catrina
Miguel Hidalgo 5 esquina Francisco I Madero | CP 77400, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 166 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Snellville, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Shrimp tacos that were absolutely mouth watering and a "Mexican Plate" which had several fun appetizer items. Great stuff. Nice atmosphere, great service and tasty food! We'll definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Oh dear... We thought we'd struck gold with the deal they were advertising for beers and tacos for a cheap price. It was unfortunately the poorest lamest tacos we've ever had ( basically tiny chunks on meat and a smattering of lettuce), tasteless guacamole and average service. We were then chased down the street for not giving a big enough tip. Avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best tacos in the whole wide world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

While on an excursion to Isla Mujeres my fiance and I found this little gem and I will come back every time I am there from now on. We made it our mission to find this place again after we discovered it in 2013. Thankfully, we have good memories and were reunited April 2014. Cold beer and delicious tacos! I love that the restaraunt is small and has the real Mexican feel to it. The pink-ish oily sauce is so amazing! Sounds weird, wish I knew what it was called. I even asked if I could purchase a bottle, but it is made in house. I will continue to recommend this place to everyone, and I will visit for tacos every time I am on the island!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place had great Mexican food, fast service and no waiting. So good that we came back two nights in a row.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A fun night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My daughter and I stopped in for dinner one night and after walking Hidalgo for half an hour or so, decided to eat here. The food service was a little slow, though our drinks came right away. I ordered Yucatan style chicken and was disappointed because it was rather bland, even though it was nice and moist since it is cooked in banana leaves. My daughter enjoyed her shrimp tacos, but then again, she always does! The service was friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Catrina also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Catrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Catrina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.