We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Palmas
Save
You added Hotel Las Palmas to your Saves list
20 Av Guerrero, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying 2.5 weeks at the Hotel Las Palmas with Katie and Safari. We couldn't have been more pleased with our entire stay. The community kitchen on the rooftop is a perfect place to meet up with people for Happy Hour or for making your own meals which we utilized alot! The rooftop dipping pool and surrounding verandah is lovely for a quiet day alone in the sunshine with a good book. Very close to Playa Norte and a wonderful central location for downtown Isla experiences being a one minute walk from Hildago Street. The rooms were wonderful and the maid service was exceptional. Would we go back? In a heart beat! Would we recommend this hotel? Absolutely! Check it out -- you won't be disappointed. Dave and Sandra Zantolas

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    36
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
104
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had the best experience at Hotel Las Palmas! The staff went above and beyond to make it a great trip. They helped us find a boat to go deep sea fishing, they helped with making reservations, and were always kind. We had the second floor balcony room, and it was clean, comfortable, and roomy. There are beautiful wood doors with unique accents throughout the hotel. The rooftop, was fantastic. It was a great meeting place for the group of us to gather and cook great meals in the outdoor kitchen. They have a nice dipping pool on the roof as well, which was great for cooling down a bit in the hot sun. We plan on coming back next year, and we will be staying at Hotel Las Palmas.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the penthouse on the roof, and it was beautiful... We had the balcony room, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Let me first say that the owners are very nice and were there to meet all our needs. The rooms and public areas were clean and comfortable for the most part. We had a few small glitches in our room but never bothered to report them we were so busy beaching, eating, and enjoy Isla...lightbulbs out, broken screen, air conditioner drip. Like I said, they were small annoyances that we never reported as I'm sure Kate or Safari would have made sure they were fixed or replaced as needed if they knew so it's almost not fair to mention it here.

We had what I think was the best room in the house, second floor left with a "private" balcony as seen from the street. We were very happy that the room was available a day early when we showed up unexpectedly, but we were prepared to take any room for the one night. Lucky! Honestly, after seeing the other rooms, I'd have to say that I would only stay again given the same room. Now...that's just me. I guess I like more privacy than a courtyard room provides. Ditto for the common areas. Just not my piece of cake but I can see where some people (I know many of my friends) would love the set-up at Hotel Las Palmas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We started our first trip to Isla with a 5 night stay at Hotel Las Palmas. Kate and Safari welcomed us warmly and gave us a tour of the entire hotel, from the main floor courtyard filled with plants and palms to the living room filled with sofas, chairs, books and internet. The second floor has a shaded area for relaxing complete with tables, chairs sofas and hammocks. Then up to the rooftop where we had use of a full outdoor kitchen, coffee bar, cool pool, tables, chairs, loungers and a sunbed.

The atmosphere here reminds me of my travelling days years ago, sort of an upscale backpackers lodge. We met many different people here, played cards and shared stories. However, if you're looking for privacy there is enough room for that as well.

The coffee bar was great, 10 pesos on the honor system, as was the fridge in the courtyard filled with cold drinks and chocolate bars. The local market was across the street and we tried 3 of the 4 loncherias, enjoyed the fresh squeezed juice, and bought groceries for a couple meals.

Our room was cozy with 2 comfortable double beds, a little tight for 4 people but we were only in there to sleep. We spent most of our time at the hotel on the roof or lounging in the shade. The water pressure was good and there was plenty of hot water.

The location was close to everything, the beach, the market, shops and restaurants.

Overall we loved this place and had a great time here. There were hugs all around when we left. Thanks Kate and Safari... we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Hotel Las Palmas is the perfect home away from home. The owners (Kate and Safari) greeted us with open arms and made us feel very comfortable. We received a tour of the new community kitchen on the rooftop terrace that has more appliances than our kitchen at home.
Our room was super clean and no shortage of showering hot water during any time of the day. Each room is equipped with a small bar fridge, ceiling fan, and air conditionning. The entire atmosphere in this hotel is so relaxing. You can suntan on the rooftop or relax in the pool, or sit in the shade and watch the island pass you by under any of the shady areas on the first, second, or rooftop. For those of you are "chatty Kathy's" and want to socialize there is plenty of that during the many "happy hours" on the rooftop, but if you want a quiet, lazy holiday the hotel is big enough for that as well.
We have been to Isla on several occasions and as a rule we never stay at the same hotel twice, but after experiencing Las Palmas we have already booked our December stay with this lovely hotel/guest house.
We look forward to seeing Kate, Safari, Dania, Francesco, Cochito, and hopefully Ken and the girls during our next stay.

Room Tip: We preferred the second floor, but to each his/her own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

safari and the gang are so great, i haven't been in years, but i still think of these guys all the time. the hotel makes you feel like home from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. very close to everywhere you wanna be. 2 blocks away from one of the most amazing beaches anywhere. love this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst,MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I had just spent 2 days at a "luxury" B and B on Isla and it was great....wanted to try a new place. Loved this place! If you want a laid-back atmosphere, lots of friendly people and a great location ( right across from the market), look no more. If you want fancy stuff, go elsewhere.
Rooms are nice, beds comfortable. Beach towels and yoga mats available.... roof kitchen/outside area with chairs and a "cool" tub.
I will be back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for a better room.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Palmas

Address: 20 Av Guerrero, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Palmas is your home away from home on Isla Mujeres, tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Cancun. We are a family run hotel (three generations of women, mother-daughter and grand-daughter). Naturally, our place is a very unpretentious accommodation with a casual, friendly atmosphere. We have many comfy communal areas, including a rooftop with a plunge pool. You'll find lounge chairs, hammocks, and tables with chairs to welcome you after a day at the beach - possibly an afternoon siesta. Our communal kitchen is also on the terrace and fully equipped. Our shaded deck on our second level, overlooking the street and is a great spot for people watching or reading a good book.We are located in the heart of the downtown. The beautiful turquoise of the Caribbean and powdery sand beach at Playa Norte are a block away (5 min walk). Just around the corner is Hidalgo Avenue, filled with cuisine from all over the world, live music, and friendly locals and tourists alike. We're directly across from the municipal market with four "loncheria" eating stalls, housing tasty, economical breakfast-lunch meals, as well as fresh squeezed juices.We have a hotel dog, Cachito (hypoallergenic, rasta-hair poodle) who is always ready for a stroll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Palmas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.