We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ISLA BLISS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Secreto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Secreto to your Saves list
Hotel Secreto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seccion Rocas Lote 11 | Punta Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ISLA BLISS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We just returned from 7 nights at Hotel Secreto and wish we were still there! This was our 4th stay at the hotel, and we are already getting dates figured out for August. It seems like each time we return it just gets better. Omar, Rogelio, Victor & Jose go above and beyond to make our stay absolutely fabulous! From the second we arrive, it feels like we are guests at a private beach house. We love experiencing the activity of the island each day and night, and then returning to the soothing enviroment of Hotel Secreto...the best of both worlds. The location of the hotel is perfect; so very close to Playa Norte and Hidalgo. We have stayed right on Playa Norte and while the view is amazing, there is something special about the crashing waves of Half Moon Beach as well. Watching the waves from the deep end of the pool while sipping one of Victor's fantastic cocktails after a day on Playa Norte is absolute bliss!

We usually stay in one of the 4th floor rooms and seriously have no complaints! The bed is so comfortable and the linens are so clean. We have never had any issues with wifi, water pressure or the air conditioner not working that some of the other reviewers have mentioned. The room at Hotel Secreto is one of the best in all of the places we have stayed on the entire Yucatan Peninsula...it is just that good!

Hotel Secreto is the place we dream about when there is 2 feet of snow on the ground and daily life becomes hectic. We can't wait for our return in August! El hotel que tiene un pedazo de nuestro corazon!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    56
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
137
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

While the main focus of our trip was getting out in the water to swim with whale sharks, the comfort and exceptional service offered by Hotel Secreto made the entire vacation a pleasant and memorable one! Our kids (9 and 14 at the time) enjoyed it as much as my husband and I did!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We just stayed at Hotel Secreto for five night in early March. We had an amazing vacation and enjoyed the staff, location and the vibe. It is a few blocks from the main shopping/restaurant area and a couple of blocks from Playa Norte. The staff is helpful, friendly and always available. The rooms were comfortable and the views/balconies were great.

There are a couple of things that you should know... On the website, they tout the 50 best new hotels and other claims. These must have been awarded 5+ years ago. We just kept continually saying how the place had the potential to be AMAZING, but had a lot of small misses. Did it ruin the vacation? No. But you could tell the place had seen better days. Some examples:

- The pool and hot tub - the heater used to work I was told, but hasn't been working for a while. The hot tub is now labeled a kids pool. Throughout the pool, there are a lot of tiles missing or poorly fixed. Even the deck had loose boards that should be fixed.

- The furniture on the balcony - ours had definitely seen better days. Whether it was the "bed" which was overly weathered (ask them to put sheets on it!!) or the chairs which some rooms had cushions, other didn't... they were beaten up. My chair separated at the joints when I sat on it.

- The hallways and rooms - a lot of deodorizer, or cleaning agents. After a couple of days we were numb to it, but definitely a strong odor. Not sure what they were trying to cover.

- Bathroom - The shower head had some mold on it. Our toilet seat was broken and I had to go in and fix the toilet from running continuously a few times.

- And a lot of other little things that just seemed to be lacking attention.

Finally, they don't have food at the place. They make a breakfast (same thing every day for five days) and will happily order food for you, but a bit of a miss, especially when eating and drinking at the pool would really make it amazing.

If the owner would invest in the property, it could easily be a primo place to stay. And I'll be honest, we'd consider coming back, so it wasn't a make or break thing, but it definitely isn't the boutique hotel that it could be, or was when it received all the kudos. But it is a great setting to get away.

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms - Floor 3/4
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you are interested in a quiet place to relax, sit by the pool while the waves crash on the rocks, and maybe nap a little while being taken care of this is the place. This is not a party place or even a place that we'd take our kids ( our kids are 7 and 9 years old and would love it but it's not that type of place). It's a short walk to Hildago Street and all the amenities that it offers so that was a real plus for us. The croissant, fruit, and coffee breakfast was adequate since we could walk less than 1/4 mile to many places to eat (and drink). The staff was very helpful and we are very impressed with them overall. I (we) are looking forward to returning...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

A friend and I spent a lovely week at the Hotel Secreto. The lobby and bar area as you enter are so beautifully decorated. The staff warmly greets you when you arrive. The views are breathtaking as all the rooms face the Gulf.
First off there are just 12 rooms, we stayed on the 4th floor..word of warning there is no elevator.. one of the staff gladly carried our luggage up to the room. I would suggest a room on a lower floor for less money. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom lighting is very poor.. the room is comfortable and most simply decoarated. There is a bed on the outdoor deck which has sheets and pillows with a wonderful view!
The service at this hotel is some of the best I have ever experienced and made our time there excellent.
The breakfast offered each morning was simple and most delicious.. it is not available until 8 or after and is brought to you by one of the staff.
There are no coffee pots in the rooms.
I loved being able to walk a short distance to town each day.
When you look at the website of the pictures the rooms are exactly what you see there.
If you are looking for a quiet place with a nearly private beach andbreathtaking views this is it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

If I would have paid $165 a night, then this would be a 5 star review. Unfortunately, at $289 I was extremely disappointed.

Pros:
Location. Loved being only a block away from the main drag.

Friendly, english speaking, staff. There was always someone available to speak to at the front desk. They were helpful with restaurant and tour recommendations.

Morning coffee and tea delivered to your room every morning.

Great Wi-fi in every room. It was nice not having to use a communal space like most hotels on the island.

Comfortable beds and nice sheets

Cons:
What used to be a jacuzzi is now a children's pool. Apparently, the hotel wouldn't go through the hassle of fixing the jacuzzi when it broke, so, this was their solution. Pretty lame.

The hotel needs a facelift. The windows were dirty, and the overall aesthetic was bare bones and depressing.

The beach in front of the hotel isn't swimmable, too rocky.

At a different price point I would return and recommend to friends. But you can find hotels with similar amenities for well under $200 a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My sister and I were very excited with the possibility to spend two wonderful relaxing nights at this hotel during a business trip in Isla. As we enter the lobby we were happy to see a nice lobby with comfy white sofas, we were greeted by a nice gentleman who served us a mimosa. This hotel is NOT Rome's Lord Byron hotel. As we were entering our room # 2 we almost chocked with the smell of fabreeze and mentioned that to the guy who showed us our room he told us not to worry the smell will go away soon, we should have known something was not right if a room has to be showered with fabreezy. When we came back from town it was late and we noticed a very strong mildew smell all over the room we tried to go to bed, the bed is very hard, the pillows were even harder the mattress cover was underneath the duvet so we undid the bed and tried to sleep without the moldy smelly sheets, at the end we took all the sheets off the bed and sleep on our bathrobes and on top of bath towels, those were the only items that didn't have the mold smell. The shower is just as moldy as the rest of the room, mold all over the floors and walls. The room is large with a sofa and two chairs, the bathroom is ordinary and the hotel provides some cheap toiletries. The hotel provides continental breakfast: Cellophane covered fruit plate with some store bought packages croissants and tepid coffee. This hotel has a tremendous potential, the employees have a great service atttitude, we asked the front desk to have our bedding changed, the A/C filter cleaned to check the room poolside door checked, they provided a Iphone plug, this was done when we asked for, however the smell and mold continued. We left wondering how long this hotel will stay in business, we left thinking
Total Paid: USD 616.42
Way too much money for what we got: We won't recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else or check current reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Secreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Secreto

Address: Seccion Rocas Lote 11 | Punta Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Secreto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Traveler's 50 Best New Hotels in the World. Hotel Secreto is a sleek nine-room hideaway - Santorini-meets-Schrager style. Constantly upgrading, the hotel was renovated in 2005 to include a 20 meter lap pool and an all junior suite lay-out. Designed by an award-winning architect, the hotel looks more like a slick private beach house. Modern touches such as WI-FI and pre-loaded iPods are part of an enhanced poolside service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Secreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secreto Hotel Isla Mujeres
Secreto Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Secreto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.