We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music and owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar

Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar
Av. Rueda Medina | Smz 88 Lt 11 Col Bahia, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
+52 81 7400 0033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 167 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great music and owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stopped in for a bucket of beer and margaritas and garlic fries...yum! And the band was awesome...stayed to enjoy the music and dancing...will be back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    63
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great entertainment, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

went twice. live music both times. great service and very friendly and welcoming, we were staying on the southeast end of the island and liked stopping in on our way back from the town and north beach areas. met many patrons and musicians and made friendships.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went there twice, the food was very good, the music was fantastic, and the puppies were the cutest!! great atmosphere, fun time, The owner's were very friendly and helpful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, MN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Owners, Staff, Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This great little bar is located just south of the Main Square. We stopped in several times on a recent visit. Sometimes, just for drinks - sometimes to eat. The Bartenders were engaging and a lot of fun. The owners went out of their way to make sure they visited with you and that you had anything you needed. The food was amazing - hand cut french fries! Hadn't had that particular treat in many years. Portions were huge. We found splitting something was the way to go for us. The Blue Margarita was especially good - try one! This definitely became our "go to" spot on the island this year. I'd recommend anyone making a trip to Isla be sure to check this place out early in your trip. You'll want to return several times. We sure did.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thank you! Bahia Tortuga always delivers!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was my second trip to Bahia Tortuga. I was traveling on business in Cancun with about 15 others in our party. We had the opportunity to have a free evening, and I recommended that we take the ferry to Isla and dine at Bahia Tortuga. About half the group joined in and we set out for the Ferry. After taking a short 30 peso taxi ride to Bahia from the Ferry, we were greeted by Domino, Mini, and Max as we walked up the steps to Bahia.

I can honestly say this is the MOST talked about evening of our entire three country trip. Everyone LOVED it. Having been to Bahia before, I know it's an amazing place. The owners, Rhonda and Danny are most gracious. They even remember me from my previous visit!!! The staff - JJ, Emilio, and Jorge - as always delivered impeccable drinks and food.

Rhonda graciously allowed us to tour the property. Phone calls were made back to loved ones in the States within minutes of arriving. "We MUST return here for some down time"

We dined overlooking the bay watching the sunset. We ordered a variety of dishes and shared with the whole table - the enchiladas are amazing, the grouper and shrimp outstanding, the tarter sauce is so unique (everyone LOVED it....it became the french fry dip as well), nachos were delicious. Our drinks were amazing - mango margaritas, house margaritas, excellent tequilas, beer, pina coladas with chocolate syrup....you can't go wrong dining and drinking here!

There was a live band playing and some folks dancing. The energy and vibe in the place was very happy and pleasant. I would highly recommend visiting Bahia Tortuga. Thank you Rhonda for CONSISTENTLY delivering the same high quality food, drinks, and service. Bahia Tortuga delivered a fun respite from a weary group of business travelers. We're still talking about the taxi driver and tequila song!

Until next time....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.