We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres

Save Saved
You added Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Puerto de Abrigo | Laguna Macax, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 hotels in Isla Mujeres
Ringwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice room and attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here the first week in November.
The room was spacious and clean. The housekeepers were great, and there was never a wait if we needed anything. My younger daughter opted to use the couch bed in the room and we asked for it to be made up for her on the first night. Every night after they came to do it automatically.
Yadi at the front desk is wonderful. She answered all of our questions and is very efficient at her job. If she is not a manager, she should be promoted!
The hot tubs do not work. The shower comes on boiling hot and takes some work to cool down ( careful with young kids)
Not sure what the story is with the restaurant. Apparently they are separately owned and you cannot sign anything to your room. We had a few drinks and snacks , it was ok. Pool is very clean. Kind of cold. Surrounding neighborhood is a bit run down looking. The location is 30 minute walk from downtown where most of the restaurants and shops are. Just walk to the road and a taxi will give you a ride for 3 or 4 bucks! No Internet except for in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    55
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
29
81
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Restaurants were good- Ernesto was funny but pushed us to do the tour across in Cancun which was horrible- high pressure- do not do it!!!! can walk to everything- family had the resort to ourselves almost last AUG 2011-

Room Tip: No beach is a negative
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I just returned from a 6 day stay at this wonderful resort. A very peaceful and relaxing place, the perfect place to unwind. The welcome staff, wait staff, and housekeeping staff were awesome. Rooms were clean, very cool, and the beds were comfortable. The pool area is very pretty and immaculate. My room had a beautiful view of sunrise each morning. The restaurant poolside began serving at 9 a.m for a traditional breakfast. I loved watching the boats coming in and out of the Marina. The Wi-Fi was not available , but there was easy access to computers in the main lobby. I will return again..

Room Tip: If you want the sunrise view, stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very peaceful and relaxing place to stay. Caring staff, nice pool, clean rooms! Little tip: the tub outside the rooms are not hottubs!! They are "mini pools" as the staff calls them. They most likely used to be hottubs. One flaw would be that the wifi does not work very well but there is use of a computer in the main lobby. No gym would be a flaw to many. Overall, great stay!

Room Tip: Near the bottom, that way you do not have go past everyone else's room (can see into them)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My Mum and I just finished our stay in Isla Mujeres. We had a great stay at Villa Vera, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. When we first booked in the staff gave us a map of the island and marked down spots we should see and restaurant recommendations. The room was very peaceful with plenty of space and a great sized kitchen. The hotel is walking distance to the local super market Chedraui, and about 3 minutes from down town.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Villa Vera provides the key things a weary traveler wants most...bright, clean rooms, wonderfully firm and comfy beds, a quiet pool, and a friendly staff! This was our second trip to this property (we brought friends with us) and not only did we find familiar faces working there - they recognized us from our trip two-years' previous!! Pamela and Antonio (front desk and bellhop) were super helpful and super friendly!

This place is ideal for 'toes-up' time at the pool! There are no rollicking pool-side activity directors, the music at the pool is quiet and remains in the background. Located on Laguna Macax, water activity companies can pick you up right at the hotel by boat (see Squalo Adventures review). The rooms are cool and accommodate sleeping at any hour of the day. Be sure to bring your favorite insect repellant as this trip the mosquitoes were ravenous first thing in the morning and at dusk!

We traveled during low-season so the restaurant is really best for breakfast and snacks by the pool. We didn't bother eating dinner there as there are so many great restaurants around the island and within walking distance. The housekeeping staff makes the cutest towel sculptures that are a warm welcome after being at the beach or the pool all day!

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a kitchenette - the Chedraui grocery store is a couple of blocks away and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just returned from Isla Mujeres. Stayed at Villa Vera, part of the Raintree chain. The room was spacious and well maintained. All the rooms overlook the beautiful pool and bar, and have nice sized patios, perfect for that late afternoon bottle of wine with friends. We walked a few blocks to the grocery and picked up rolls, yogurt, water, etc. Had a watsu massage while we were there. Very nice. The staff is excellent. Well trained, helpful. We would (and will) go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Bottom floor is best. Only 21 units so book early during season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres

Address: Puerto de Abrigo | Laguna Macax, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Hotel Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres
Resort Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Vera Puerto Isla Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.