We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isleno

Hotel Isleno
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isleno to your Saves list
Hotel Isleno
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Madero 8, Isla Mujeres, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Bourne, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wow what a find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

I arrived late the day before and booked 1 night at the rocomar, overpriced room with a very noisy AC unit won't stay there again. I was walking around looking for a room for 2 nights and saw the sign at the isleno for 600 pesos per night, less than 50 dollars. After waiting for the room to be cleaned I was given a tour of the room and I was very impressed, everything is new for the 32 in LCD tv, beds, walls and very nice bathroom. The AC is quiet I have WiFi in the room and there is zero noise from outside. The front desk was very helpful... The only drawback is cash only no credit cards but this is a minor issue with a bank around the corner. All in all an excellent deal, wish I'd known about this before spending 120$ at the rocomar.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

If they keep the price at 600 pesos per night ($50 USD tax included) this new 18 unit hotel is a gem and it's going to give some of the other hotels on the island, who are overcharging terribly, some healthy competition. Yes the rooms are sparkly clean, you can almost see yourself in the sheen of the ceramic tiled floor. Glass enclosed showers with a rainfall shower head. Copious amounts of hot water. Frigid quiet air-conditioning units, mini fridge. Free WiFi works best in the room if you're on the second floor or you can use the first or second floor WiFi lounges. The price does not include breakfast, so walk north a few blocks to the public market, where you can get an amazing 35 pesos breakfast. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Location is perfect. It's just a 5 minute walk to everything: Upon arrival, it's just a 5 block walk north-east from the ferry dock, it's a 5 minute walk to North beach with wide expanses of creamy smooth sand and calm waters and then a block to the west is the main pedestrian stroll with gourmet restaurants galore. In the morning, before it gets too hot, be sure to take a walk or a jog on the new walkway at the edge of ocean, a block to the east. Come quick before they raise the prices!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We booked into this new facility after a disappolnting 4 days at a different hotel. The rooms are brand new. The beds are very comfortable and have not had a bad sleep yet. Rooms are quiet with A/C and wifi and fridge. Coffee ( instant) is available in the lobby in the mornings for free. Rate is 600 pesos per night.

Room Tip: we stayed in a inside room so we would not hear any road or bar noise later in the evening. Perfectl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Inasmuch as the hotel reviewed above was torn down and a new one built, this review is not relative to the 2012 time period. I believe this property has just re-opened so reviews should be coming soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

This is a very clean, basic hotel in a great location on Isla Mujeres. My friends and I came here years ago when we were looking for a budget island destination. We got hooked, and we've continued to return at least once a year for 15 years. Like most hotels on the island in this price range, there is no tv, phone, or a/c. What a blessing! The a/c is not missed since this is the windward side of the island and you get a nice fresh breeze. The hotel is only about a 10 minute walk to Playa Norte (my favorite beach in the world). Hotel Isleno is conveniently located in town. We'd rather stay in town close to the nightlife and not have to walk in the dark from a semi-secluded beach hotel into town at night. We love the hotel manager, Juan, who welcomes us as friends every year. Reservations are possible by phone but not usually needed in advance.

  • Stayed March 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isleno

Address: Madero 8, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Isleno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Isleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isleno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.