We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Save Saved
You added Mia Reef Isla Mujeres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
1 review
“Great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Well me and my BFF came we love the water and the wonderful view.. Got to resort they upgraded us and gave us two rooms instead of one because of no hot water on the resort.. which was kind of okay because it was so hot but I do you like to take hot showers even if its hot.. great place to go snorkeling not enough activity on the actual resort so if you come for peace and quiet and relaxation that's what you are going to get but they don't offer a lot of things on the resort.. the food was horrible I didn't care for the breakfast nor the lunch we didn't even eat dinner on the resort we wind up going out a lot to eat which was amazing... yes I would go back just because the price was great the view and water was beautiful you can always go visit other places for the day but to come back to a wonderful view .. I'm not a big drinker but there alcohol sup and they stop serving alcohol at 1030 at night and they don't start serving it until 11:30 in the morning for those who like to drinks

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Public Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,
thanks for your review. Its always a joy to read fresh new comments that will help us on our services. Please let us know when you will return, we will be happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    350
    191
    150
    139
See reviews for
173
452
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

As an annual visitor to the Reef for the past ten years, I must strongly disagree with reviewers who complain about the bar and restaurant staff. Yes, the service can be slow at times, but that is not the fault of the waiters! We have never met a waiter or bartender who was rude or impolite. If the ice in your drink melts too quickly, just ask and they will bring you some ice.Most of the waiters and bartenders have been at the Reef for many years. Being rude to guests is not conducive to a long career in the travel industry! Many reviewers have mentioned that upon their arrival at the Reef they observed the Reception staff apparently arguing with guests. 99% of the time newly arriving guests received misleading information from whoever booked their package. For example, for years Expedia was selling an all inclusive option at the Reef...the only problem was that the Reef was not an all inclusive resort at that time! So, people paid for the all inclusive package, and they were rightly upset upon arrival when they found out there was no all inclusive at the resort. In fairness, you can't blame that on the Reception staff, yet the Reception staff had to bear all of the guest's rantings and ravings. In reality, the blame goes to management for not verifying the accuracy of their listings on Expedia. I am not a shill for the MIA Reef Management Company. But it's not fair to be critical of the hotel staff for things that are not their fault. In the past I'v blasted the MIA Reef in my reviews,and the faults I listed were agreed with by other reviewers. Here's my list: 1) rock hard mattresses in the hotel tower rooms, 2) super loud ineffective air conditioning units in the tower rooms, 3) lack of reading lamps in the tower rooms (and in the villas), 4) lousy TV reception throughout the resort. I notice that management is now responding to some reviews. That's good news, but nothing at the hotel ever changes! A first year hotel management student can spend 4 hours at the Reef and make a list of simple improvements that are needed to make the Reef a legitimate 4 star resort. Why does management listen to the same complaints from all their guests and keep the status quo?

Room Tip: Get a studio if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Public Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for the comments. WE do take under consideration everything . Every comment, goor or bad is important for us and we do listen to your suggestions. Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I spent a fabulous relaxing week at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres and wondered what all the negative fuss was about. Yes, construction continues - dawn until well after dark - because the new owner is committed to bringing the hotel up to the glory it had before the previous owner let it go to pot. Besides, it was fascinating watching how they constructed everything by hand. The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful and the location can't be beat: clear, blue, warm water, cool white sand, and lots of fish just waiting to be snorkeled. As for the food, with a plethora of restaurants just minutes away, why would one want to eat all meals at the hotel? And, quite honestly, this is one advantage that Mia has over many fancier resorts - you can get out and about and get a flavor for the local climate and culture. If you want an American experience in a foreign country, go somewhere else. If you want a Mexican experience, this is for you. Just be willing to be flexible. I can't wait to come back and see the finished product and most of all, relax.

Room Tip: Ask for the 1 bedroom suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Public Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your kind words. It is in our best interest to always improve our services for our guests. Thanks again for your review, this help us a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst, most filthy, disgusting excuse for a resort i have ever seen. I would have been happier at a motel 6! It was more like a prisoner of war compound than a resort. The people at the front desk were rude. They refused to even give us bottled water. The fitted sheet only covered half the mattress. The sink was broken. The shower had only cold water. The connecting doors didn't latch. We awoke after the first morning to find our suitcase infested with bugs. Needless to say we left after that first night even though we paid for a week. The conditions were not safe, clean, acceptable for anyone. I would suggest starting at a hostile before ever considering this hell hole!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Public Relations Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We will review the details of your comment. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I believe everything that can be said has been . I came here expecting very little and used it as a base just to sleep . It is currently a 2 star room on a 5 star location. The biggest complaint that I have is with management, we had $350 taken out of our room. Security came and took a report and conducted an investigation but we never heard from management. How easy it would have been to offer an apology for the inconvenience and some assurance that they were aware of the situation and looking into it. Instead we were told manager not on property after asking to speak to him for several days. Little things mean alot and it costs nothing.

Room Tip: Stayed in villa hotel renovations on going
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience with us. Every detail help us to improve ourserves into give you a better service. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL MIRAGE, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The location is amazing and the resort will soon be great. Waves literally crash against your room. The rooms are sparse but clean, with new beds, flat screen tvs, and a large balcony. The staff couldn't be nicer, especially if you throw them a few bucks here and there. Food is mediocre but they are working to improve with new restaurant being built as we speak. Drinks are fine. The beach is small but has to die for water. We had a blast!

In response to the guy who says its $270 a day per person. This is a flat out lie. We paid $200 a day that included airfare and hotel all inclusive for two people. These negative reviews are deceiving folks, written by non tippers with poor attitudes to begin with. You get what you give at Mia and in Mexico in general. Be nice and they will be nice to you!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your comments. We also thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please let us know if you plan to come back, we will be thrill to welcome you back again soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I had a great experience in isla mujeres. I did not have high expectations due to the reviews and the traveler pictures, so I braced myself when we arrived. The hotel is very old HOWEVER they are doing a lot of renovating which did not bother us at all. I believe in a couple of years this hotel will be great. Housekeeping kept the rooms very clean which made me feel alot better about staying there. The beds were very comfortable, I think we had one of the new mattresses. We needed assistance with the dolphin adventure which is located on the other side of the island. VIctor at the front desk was very nice and helpful. I really appreciated him!! the beach is very small on the resort but there is another beach on the island where restaurants and shops are located. We only slept and took showers at the hotel, the rest of the time we were in town. The people in town were very nice and we did not have one complaint about the food. We only ate breakfast at the resort, the omelettes were great. some people rented gulf carts and scooters to get around, we walked and caught cabs for the most part, which didnt bother us at all. Overall we had a great experience, it turned out to be the best vacation we've had thus far. The restaurant just over the bridge of the hotel has good food as well. i rated this 4 stars based off of the location and the cleanliness of the rooms. I am a 4 to 5 star type of person when it comes to hotels but it wasnt that bad. I would go back once they finish renovating. fyi.. ferry rides to cancun or anywhere else is around $6 per person, they run every 30 mins. Also try the Columbus lobster cruise. Be careful of the cab drivers trying to have you pay more than you should, my boyfriend wasnt having it lol.

Room Tip: villas are very private and face the ocean. The ac funs great in those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesPR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. WE hope you visit us again soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mia Reef Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Address: Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mia Reef Isla Mujeres 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mia Reef Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Reef Club Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Avalon Reef Isla Mujeres
Avalon Club Reef
Isla Mujeres Avalon Reef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.