We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mia Reef Isla Mujeres to your Saves list
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
EL MIRAGE, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love the location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have been going to the Avalon on Isla Mujeres since 2004 and love it. It is true it has declined in services and ammenities since then, but on our recent trip (12/5-12/13) we noticed some serious improvements. The rooms are stark but you have everything you need. Its very clean and well kept. The location is second to none on Isla. Make sure you get a villa or studio room away from the main hotel tower. Seriously huge difference. This hotel is literally surrounded by water. On one side the waves crash endlessly, on the other smooth and gentle, perfect for floating all day long. There is also a small, protected area right off the hotel beach where the snorkeling is fantastic. The food is ok, nothing to write home about. Breakfast is very good but way too expensive! Drinks are fairly priced and the bartenders and waiters are efficient. (Love that they have a waiter on the beach.) We usually eat in town where the food is excellent and there's lots of variety. The housekeeping staff is super friendly and accomodating. The staff on the whole is excellent but may be in need of some additional training. We had key card issues the entire trip...not fun. It seemed like it was no big deal to the front desk, like we should be grateful that we had to have an escort to our room every time we wanted to get in it. Lets just say they should have moved us sooner. Also, no phones??? Coffee only once??? C'mon man!!! But we loved our room and our stay was still great. We do realize this is Mexico and we may need to chill out a bit. So overall 4 stars. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Second floor villa on the King's bath side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    359
    194
    151
    145
See reviews for
179
465
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
petaluma, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I would agree with all the commentary on the hotel. It is rough around the edges. Check your reservations and all the included or excluded amenities. Roxana and Cesar are by far the best to deal with any and all issues once you get there. Clue that you are in Mexico. The coffee packages are offered only once upon arrival.?? Lots of little rules to follow. However, we did enjoy the location, by far the nicest place to feel like you are away from it all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is most definitely a beautiful location but Avalon is a terrible company to deal with, very difficult to make reservations. amenities are sparse and service poor. We were bombarded with sales personel trying to push time shares and the drinks were very watered down. We have been to the island several times Avalon has been by far the worst if the resorts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could
have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.
The only thing is not clear to me is the part of the timeshare sale, because we don't have timeshare sales in the hotel?
,
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Isla Mujeres was most enjoyable.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Finally , an Apple hotel with character and personality. Not your standard plastic, boring hotel all with the same amenities and nowhere else to go. Because the Avalon Reef Club is on its own island there is no traffic at all - you really feel secluded even tho you are within walking distance of town. The hotel was very clean - people were constantly sweeping away the sand and watering the grass and bushes. The service was fantiastic - everyone was friendly and after 24 hours they knew us and our room number so ordering and paying was easy. I would especially like the thank Roxana and Cesar on the front desk, Jesus and Saul in the bar and Richardo, one of the managers who was ultra efficient and helpful. Yes, the beds are hard, but we slept like rocks and opened the window as wide as it would go rather than use the air conditioner. The sound of the waves is very soothing. We found the food to be excellent altho we also ate downtown due to the variety of restaurants. Would return anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (4,5,) on either side have the best views or ask for a villa. The villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I specifically chose the Avalon Reef Club on Isla Mujeres for their dive shop, Mundaca Divers. Although the resort is a bit rough around the edges, it does have some big pluses going for it. The resort is actually on an island of its own and you have to cross a bridge to get there. Because of that, you will feel a bit more secluded even though it's still very easy to access everything you need in 'town.' The rooms and food are decent, but you'll probably want to sample some of the excellent restaurants in town. The views surrounding the resort are magnificent-try go get a room facing the Caribbean. I woke up every morning to a beautiful sunrise and I left my window open so I could hear the waves breaking on the shore. The resort also has a decent fitness center. If you're looking to get away from the crowds, this is the place for you. On the other hand, if you like to be in the middle of things and have a bit more excitement, there are much better options on Mujeres.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Honestly, they couldn't seem to get anything right. They give us a room directly across from the garbage, weren't particularly friendly or would go out of their way when we wanted to move (we did, and it was a big improvement). When we did move on the 3rd day I had to go to the lobby and wait and wait for the receptionist's attention twice because the keys didn't work. The beds were awful, they were so hard we barely slept and I can sleep anywhere, and the rooms are small. They have no reading lamp in the room, only a bright overhead light, and couldn't give me one when I asked. We got locked out of our room and had to wait for maintenance to break the latch lock. The housekeepers kept entering our room while we were still in bed (no latch lock). I ordered room service, quesadillas, and the cheese was not melted and refrigerator cold. After I complained they microwaved it, turning the whole thing to rubber and brought it back to me. All of the food was disgusting.

Worst of all, the staff just seemed very unhappy, and it showed because no one seemed interested in ensuring that we had a good stay. Last year we stayed at Nabalam where everyone smiles, is happy, and will go out of their way to help you, and the food is outstanding. We ended up spending more time in their restaurant than at Avalon. Avalon's only redeeming quality is the beach access, which I believe is the best on the island. We plan to return to Nabalam in the future, and if they're not available will likely choose a different destination.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could
have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.
The interaction with our staff member with regards to your comments about your bad service experience is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire
service team as a training exercise,
,
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Isla Mujeres was most enjoyable.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My family and I spent Christmas Day through New Years here. This was the second stay for my parents but it had been 5 years since their last visit. This being said had we know it had gone down hill so badly we never would have booked here a second time. The location cannot be beat but other than that this place is AWFUL! The wait staff is down right incompetent and rude. If it wasn't for Alex who worked his butt off everyone would go hungry there. The rooms smelt like sewage and the beds were the hardest things I have ever felt in my life! Also they have free standing air conditioning units and it only cools the area where you sleep leaving the bathroom and sink area a sauna. So getting ready only to sweat is not ideal. We paid extra for the all inclusive that for some reason they had done away with over the years and now I see why, we eneded up eating out almost every night because the food was so awful and that was if we could even get waited on. So needless to say we paid for our meals twice. It is very sad since this place does have such a prime location and USE TO BE a nice resort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mia Reef Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Address: Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mia Reef Isla Mujeres 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mia Reef Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Reef Club Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Avalon Reef Isla Mujeres
Avalon Club Reef
Isla Mujeres Avalon Reef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.