We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but hotel is outdated. Not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mia Reef Isla Mujeres to your Saves list
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice location but hotel is outdated. Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We bought a package on groupon to stay at this hotel thinking it was a great deal. However the hotel rooms we stayed in are VERY outdated. The floor looked like a murder scene. The grounds of the hotel are taken care of but the fact that the room was dirty made it uncomfortable for us. The location is very nice since it is a bit secluded and next to the nicest beach on the island. However the island gets boring after a day with only a few restaurants to choose from and all of them being mediocre and expensive. The staff at the hotel is very friendly but when we asked to be transferred to their sister hotel in cancun, they wanted to charge us the night in cancun as a "transfer fee". Ridiculous and not very helpful. Also, while asking for our transfer at the front desk, a couple came up and the woman had been bitten by a spider next to her bed. Her leg was numb. Not a good feeling when we have to sleep here one more night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback, it commits us to improve our services, customers like you help us to improve ourselves,
Please give us the opportunity, to serve you again in a near future, and
every day and remember that the Avalon Hotel is your home.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    352
    192
    150
    139
See reviews for
175
453
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enid, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Avalon reef is a great place to stay in Isla. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed the 1st night in the tower then moved to a room in the villa's which was much nicer. You have a beautiful beach available and a place to snorkel right at the hotel. Downtown is maybe 4 blocks away and it was very cool. We will be back.

Room Tip: get a room in the villa with the surf outside your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I have a 1 bedroom timeshare at the Avalon Reef Club. Our unit is in the tower and includes a livingroom, kitchen and private balcony with a hot tub. The hot tub looks great and has been replaced since our last visit. The air conditioners had also been replaced in the bedroom and livingroom. We stayed there for a week in November and we were pleasantly surprised by how friendly and helpful the staff were to us. Armando the social director was very nice to everyone and seemed to enjoy his job. We don't normally participate in the resort activities but we did this time. We didn't eat that much at the resort but what we have was pretty good. We like to walk into "town" and eat at our favorite restaurants. We were also happy to see that some sand is making its way back around part of the resort and lagoon area. Overall it was a great trip and we look forward to next year.

Room Tip: Stay in the timeshare section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you to take your time to write your comments about our property, by people like you worthwhile endeavor and feel the reward of our work,

Thank you for believe we have the potential, all the staff are working hard to improve the building maintenence and our service,

Will be very happy to serve you in a near future,

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay here for a week in November 2012 and went with friends who are time share owners. They stayed in Villa 2001 and we were in the adjoining 2002. They were linked by a door that could be locked and each had their own bathroom and basic kitchenette. When we first arrived, our 'beds' were set out seperately like sofa's, but someone soon came in and joined them and it then looked like a large double. The matresses were hard and for us (with poor backs) were perfect and I haven't slept so well for years. The rooms were basic and looking tired, but the view from the balcony and what was outside is what people come to the island for surely?!
The hotel was very quiet and there were no problems getting a sunbed on the small but gorgeous beach. There was a lovely pool, but the sea was so warm and shallow with such stunning views, we didn't use the pool.
We ate at the hotel each morning and it was a buffet breakfast with plenty of choice, cereals, fruit, pastries, muffins, scramled egg, etc and a chef on hand to cook fresh omelette. It was a little pricey, but you could eat as much as you want so would set us up for the day.
With our exchange rate, pena colada's cost almost £2.50, but we able to purchase free between midday and 4pm due to our friend's being member's and I really enjoyed those.
We found all the staff to be polite and friendly, even the gardener's who always said 'Hola' and all staff worked very hard. It was some of the other guests we found to be rude and could have done with some manners. We even saw a couple click their fingers to someone wanting an umbrella to be brought to them on the beach and then didn't even say Thank You or tip!
The main transportation on the island is golf buggy which was great fun. The island is only about 5 miles long so you can see it all in a day.
We stayed in Cancun for our second week and wished we'd stayed on the island which was so much more relaxed and typically Carabbean. It was nice to walk into town at night and we always felt very safe. There were plenty of resturants to suit most tastes and a few shops mostly selling tourist items. The Dolphin experience is also located on the island and you can pet sea lions, manatees and of course dolphin's. You also swim and get lifted out of the water by dolphin's which was great fun and is done in their natural environment-the sea! Great trip.
Yes, the hotel needs some money spending on it. The machines in the gym are rusted up and unuseable. One of the villa's near King's Bath looked like the pillar was cracking in half! It looks tired in some of the villa's, but the grounds and the location make this place very special. I hope someone invests in this place, it would be criminal to let this place decay further, but it still has rustic charm and doesn't need too much costmetic work to get it up to grade. We certainly want to return and hope we get the same treatment if we travel independently of our friend's who were the member's, but we are willing to give it a try.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 2002 which looked out to the calm side towards Cancun. The villa's opposite l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your kind words. It is so overwhelming to read about experiences like yours. Thank you for giving the Reef the chance of showing you Isla Mujeres and be part of your vacation experience,

Please let us know if you are planning on comming back, we would love to help you book your trip

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The island itself is very nice and the club's location is fantastic! We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the tower, and we really enjoyed the ocean breezes. The staff were really nice and accommodating. The food there is just okay. We really enjoyed walking the short distance to the downtown shops and restaurants. We felt very safe here, even at night. We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you to take your time to write your comments about our property, by people like you worthwhile endeavor and feel the reward of our work,

Thank you for believe we have the potential, all the staff are working hard to improve our service,

Will be very happy to serve you in a near future,

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I bought a deal from Groupon to stay here over the summer and was very excited after reading the good reviews and seeing the pictures. It ended up not being worth even the discounted price. The front desk staff made it clear I was not a top priority once they saw I used the Groupon. They were rude and not helpful at all. The villa I stayed in had a broken air conditioner, and the room safe had the lock drilled out and was therefore useless. The front desk's way of fixing this was to have the maintenance man turn the AC down (made it worse) and have the maid leave us a note saying the hotel isn't responsible for thefts if we don't lock our stuff up in our broken safe. The grounds are a mixture of run down and nice, you can tell this wasn't a nice place but whoever bought it spent some money fixing it up, but not nearly enough. Even if I end up getting another coupon to this place, I won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Manager at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could
have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.
The interaction with our staff member with regards to your comments about your bad service experience is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire service team as a training exercise,
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Isla Mujeres was most enjoyable.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The scenery was amazing, the water beautiful, the waiters and attendants were awesome. They are working to upgrade. We stayed in the end tower room with new hot tub. Was a welcome change from our previous stay. We own a timeshare and while we have lost some perks you can't beat the relaxing, beautiful view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mia Reef Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Address: Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mia Reef Isla Mujeres 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mia Reef Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Reef Club Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Avalon Reef Isla Mujeres
Avalon Club Reef
Isla Mujeres Avalon Reef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.