We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Do Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mia Reef Isla Mujeres to your Saves list
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Somerset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Could Do Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel has a great location facing perfect beaches but its facilities and services do not match its setting. The pool was closed, beach facilities were poor, basic room facilities were missing and had to be asked for (bedside lights, towels), the balconies were furnished with rotting wooden chairs and internet acces was charged at five dollars per 20 mins. Room safe keys were only proivided on payment of a 100 dollar deposit. Overall, the hotel was rather shabby. We were told the ownership of the hotel is in transition and it strugglkes to work out whether it is the time share it was desgined to be or a hotel offering acceptable levels of service.

Room Tip: Top floor suites facing the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

We'd like to tell you, we have free service internet in lobby area, pool area y restaurant area, sorry for missed the information on your stay in our hotel,

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    359
    194
    151
    145
See reviews for
179
465
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went there recently to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday... When we arrived, we thought, oh wow... How beautiful... And it is. Don't get me wrong, but our room is infested with ants... I've been eaten alive by spiders... In the bed... They charge you for EVERYTHING... We upgraded to a villa, and we can't even get coffee refills without being charged... The pool is closed. The spa is closed. The food is god awful... And drinks are a waste of pesos... You might as well be drinking water. The bed is hard as a rock... If you only want a view, and don't care about service or comfort, this place is perfect for you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stay in one of the waterfront villas, it had a beautiful view of the bay with a private balcony..
The food was just ok, we prefered to eat arounf town anyways... a great place to hang out for just a few days beause it is a very small island....

Room Tip: Stay in one of the villas, you can't open the windows in the main hotel rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We are getting ready to stay here for the 4th time. This is the most beautiful location. This isn't the place to go if you're looking for night life and partying, but if you're looking for a great spot to unwind and relax - you can't beat this. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We've always enjoyed the food and it's a quick walk into town to enjoy some local restaurants. We've stayed in the tower once, and the villas the other times. My favorite is a villa facing the ocean side. The water is clear and we snorkeled right in front of the hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean.
I would love to see WiFi (or any internet for that matter) in the rooms instead of having to go to the lobby to use the internet. Only 10 days until my next visit and I can hardly wait!

Room Tip: The Villa rooms that face the ocean side are the best. Very relaxing to sleep with the waves crashin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We've been members of Avalon for several years, but this is the first time we stayed at the Villas at the Avalon Reef. I understand and agree with many of the comments from other visitors about the not perfect facilities, but given the amazing location at the very tip of the island, it doesn't surprise me that there are some challenges. I will say that throughout our two-week stay there were gardeners, cleaners, cement masons, painters and security staff working to improve the property all day every day. The staff made all the difference. The guys at Kelly's Bar (Luis, Marco, Jesus, etc.) knew what we wanted before we did. We went with the breakfast plan for the first week and weren't disappointed - the food was fresh, well-prepared and plentiful. The front desk staff and Jose the concierge were great resources regarding island activities. The Mundaca dive shop guys and gals were great, taking I and my two sons both SCUBA diving and snorkeling. Sara, the member services representative, went out of her way several times to help me with numerous work needs, always with a pleasant smile. And Armando, the Activities Director, was the life of the party keeping us amused and involved in so many fun and creative activities throughout our stay - stretching, bocci ball, volleyball, music trivia, etc. He is a treasure at this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa facing the West and enjoyed the great sunset each night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in one of the villas.. Great view every morning.. Room was very nice and plenty of room. The grounds were very nice, somebody always working on them. Great dive shop on sight. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They even called somebody for me on their personal cell phone to arrange a golf cart pickup. AC stopped working and they had someone fixing it in less then 20 min. The water and grounds are amazing. Short walk to town and a very safe place. We will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback, it commits us to improve our services, customers like you help us to improve ourselves,
Please give us the opportunity, to serve you again in a near future, and
every day and remember that the Avalon Hotel is your home.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This resort is by far the best situated on isla. The scenery and landscape is amazing and for us that made the small negatives bearable. The hotel is definetly outdated. We were given a tour of the standard room and the villa, it was a no brainer. We got the villa that comes with a king size bed, satelite tv, big bathroom, oh and a oceanview balcony. If you stay here you will not regret it. After walking around most of isla, this was the best hotel we saw.

Room Tip: Get the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoAlarcon, Gerente at Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is so overwhelming to read about experiences like yours. Thank you for giving the Reef the chance of showing you Isla Mujeres and be part of your vacation experience,

Please let us know if you are planning on comming back, we would love to help you book your trip

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mia Reef Isla Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Reef Isla Mujeres

Address: Calle Zazil Ha s/n Int 7 | Islote Yunque, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mia Reef Isla Mujeres 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mia Reef Isla Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Reef Club Isla Mujeres Hotel Isla Mujeres
Avalon Reef Isla Mujeres
Avalon Club Reef
Isla Mujeres Avalon Reef

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia Reef Isla Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.