We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I have stayed!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poc-Na Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Poc-Na Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Poc-Na Youth Hostel
Matamoros Av., 15 | Col. Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Wroclaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hostel I have stayed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Every time when I coming back to Mexico, really feel the need to go to Isla Mujeres and stay in Poc-Na hostel. In my opinion is one of the best hostels I have stayed in my life. Big comunal area, beach bar with crazy parties in the evening, good food and exeptional rooms are making this place really top. Staff is always taking care about you, providing all important informations you need to continue your trip.

Room Tip: Just bring your own padlock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    93
    44
    24
    28
See reviews for
4
56
68
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I stayed here and went to Isla Mujeres on the recomendation of friends which I will still in Canada. My flight was leaving from Cancun and Isla was the perfect place to end my vacation. The hostel was clean and right on the beach. You can't swim at the beach in front of the hostel but there are lots of hammocks for relaxing. At night there is often live music, followed by the beach bar with cheap drinks.
The best thing about this place is the social atmosphere. I met so many people and everyone seemed to be staying longer than they intended. THey offer free classes during the day (yoga, exercise etc) and you can borrow board games.
Only downfall is that the beds in the dorms are quite narrow and not very comfortable. But this hostel is much more than just a place to crash at the end of the night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Had a great time here! Even extended my stay. Was relaxing everyone was friendly, great location. Read other reveiws Obviously some of these people have not done to much travelling or more luxury travel ..After travelling through other parts of Central America with limited water most no hot water and old school wash boards for your laundry, Id say this is a great place!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is by far the best hostel i have EVER stayed it. Best price. Best people. Best Times

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I stayed at Poc Na in August 2008 during a central america backpacking trip. I just went back to Isla and stayed elsewhere, however we still came over to party at Poc Na every night at the beach bar! I can honestly say it is one of the all-around best hostels I have ever stayed at in all my travels. The people that come here are friendly and fun and you get to know everyone fast. Traveling alone, or with friends, it is an ideal place to meet activity partners and people from all over the world. I was having too much fun to worry about anything else. Yes, the rooms are hot but...this place is not really about sleeping that much anyways!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

If you're a backpacker, this is the place to be in Isla Mujeres. During the day, you can lie out in the hammocks and chill, maybe play some volleyball. In the evenings, you usually have some very goods bands playing on the beach or in the bar. There is a full service restaurant beside the bar (but be careful, it might not be the healthiest), and there is usually a good atmosphere in the evenings. Dorm rooms are ok, bit noisy with the music on all night, but I heard some of the rooms are pretty good. There's free internet downstairs, which isn't bad. We didn't have water for one of the evenings, but this was out of the control of the hostel. Overall, had a great few days in Poc Na.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

My friend and I had booked two nights here in a private room - upon arrival we found out that this didnt include air con or our own bathroom. we werent fussed but were disapointed as we had been travelling around and staying in dorms and were looking forward to a bit of privacy for a change. We took one look at the room and ended up upgrading to a private with air con - its room number 1 and the best room in the whole hostel. it didnt cost much to upgrade and I would only recommend staying here if you can get this room! they only let you pay for one night at a time so when we couldnt get it for the second night so ended up changing to another hotel right on the beach up the road which worked out even cheaper !
this place is packed 24 7 so its great for meeting people and if your travelling solo it would be perfect. the internet is never free - constantly in use. its saving grace is the beach bar but be aware that its not open Monday nights (but they did have a crazy cool band playing instead) and it only starts up later into the night.
there are hammocks all around the beach bar and people usually grab a drink and sit around outside all night - so relaxing and happy atmosphere
its really the place to be if your headed to Isla to meet people and have a good time.
in terms of location its not the best but Isla isnt too big so its easy to get around from the hostel by walking and there are plenty of places to eat and drink right around the corner. the beach out the front of poc na is not swimmable but its only a 5 minute walk to the north beach.

i wouldnt stay in the dorms here or the rooms with fans but if you can get room 1 its well worth the upgrade and even if you dont stay here make sure you hit up the beach bar - its the best party on the island

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poc-Na Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-Na Youth Hostel

Address: Matamoros Av., 15 | Col. Centro, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexicos oldest hostel that still ranks among the countries best. Built in the 1950s it is located on Isla Mujeres, a small Caribbean (7km long) island and is 20min from Cancun by boat. This hostel boasts a restaurant and bar that is open until 11pm, after which the real fun begins at the beach bar until 2.45am. Pocna has access to beach volleyball, games room, movies on demand and bikes for rent. We are close to North Beach, which is Isla Mujeres most beautiful beach and Pocna itself is situated right on its own beach that is perfect for relaxing and taking the sun.This exciting hostel offers free activities such as Yoga everymorning, Spanish classes, juggling and what ever happens to be being taught by one of the many talented people that pass through. If you have the talent and the time of at least one month, you can teach an activity and have your cost of your stay covered.Winter time brings on private parties inside the hostel and also bonfire nights with live music and jamming after. Everynight in there is live music in Pocna and the year also brings many high profile bands to play within the walls of Pocna. Those to date include Los Authentico Decadentes, Los Aguas Aguas, No Te Va a Gustar and La Renga with many more in the future plans. An amazing fun and social hostel. On the backpackers trail and full of international guests. A must to come and visit in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and EasyToBook so you can book your Poc-Na Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poc-Na Youth Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poc-Na Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.