We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza in Mexico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar's Mexican Grill

Oscar's Mexican Grill
Just East of the Ferry Dock | Carretera a Garrafon Km. 3.5, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
998 8880916
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 152 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Oscar’s Grill was founded in Isla Mujeres over 2 decades ago. It is a great place to experience Mexican and International food. Stop by for breakfast, lunch or dinner at this unique restaurant located next to a quiet marina on the shores of the lagoon Macax. Enjoy your favorite drink at its diverse bars, sitting on the incredible wooden chairs; you will be pleasantly surprised how comfortable they are. The only place to enjoy eating lobster chosen by yourself, and cooked specifically for you. Oscar’s can also be rented for all types of events and can accommodate up to 150 guests. Located mid-island, you can access by golf cart, motorcycle, car or yacht. Supervised at all times by the owner of vast culinary experience - Oscar. He will ensure that you are fully satisfied with your food, service and visit at his restaurant.As of September 2012, Oscar’s Grill will also be serving authentic New York pizza and pasta. Pizzas created and hand tossed by Michael (formely of Milagro’s pizza). Don’t miss out on the famous Garlic Bread. Pizzeria open 5pm to midnite, last pizza order at 11:30pmDine In – Take out - Delivery
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pizza in Mexico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

it was fresh and delicious and they delivered. Fantastic Italian food! The lasagna was huge, and the bread knot were enough for a meal!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    52
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great, Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This restaurant is right on the main road, but out of the busy downtown. If you have a golf cart, you cannot miss it as it is well marked. It has unique stools by the tables as well. We went downstairs by the marina to eat. You would not know they had another dining area just by driving by with the golf cart. I would suggest the bottom dining area, again with the crazy chairs. We ordered pizza and it was huge and fantastic. Oscars should be on your to-do-list while in Isla.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahpeton, North Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great view, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stopped at Oscar's during our daytime "Pub Crawl" around the island and we were pleasantly surprised when we were able to walk down by the water. Beautiful view of the marina and the water on the Bay side. We decided to return later that night for dinner. Everyone really enjoyed their food but no one got even close to finishing! As our trip was winding up, we all ate leftover Oscar's food for breakfast the next day....no one seemed to mind! The lights did flicker on and off during our visit but it did not affect our food or service. Very clean and the waiters were friendly and attentive. Really enjoyed this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stopped at Oscars twice during our stay - once while "bar hopping" and the other for dinner. The atmosphere is really fun and unique. For dinner, several of us ordered their pizza while others had various pasta dishes. We all thought the food was amazing. The service was somewhat on the slower side, but as the place was packed and we were all on "Mexican time", no one seemed to mind. I will definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Pizza on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

If you are looking for some of the best non-Mexican food on the island, you must go to Oscars. It's a little down the road from the main area, but if you have a cart or want to hitch a ride, this would be well worth it. I had the New York Oscar's special....I could have ordered two and not have had leftovers. Great people, Great service, Best Food. They also have a full Menu with other Italian and Mexican dishes

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Mexican Grill also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Oscar's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar's Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.