We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enlightening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vistalmar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vistalmar Hotel
Save
You added Vistalmar Hotel to your Saves list
Avenida Rueda Medina s/n., Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enlightening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel represents the true culture of this area, and is a great experience. It takes a little getting used to but in time you will grow to adore it. Great prices, great location, and the maid, Ana cleans the rooms daily which is a major plus. Unlike the other reviews, we quite enjoyed the Canadians' company and found them to very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norwalk ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

well we made it home after 55 days at the vistalmar.most everyone came back this year,and as always it was great to see everyone.this year makes 23 years in the same room,it was painted and looked great.If you want a very fair costing hotel and can get in,that the catch getting in its always full.But give it a try you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: thethird fool sems to be the best,cool and the view is like no other
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

just got home after 2 1/2 months at the hotel vistalmar and as always it was great.Yes people party on the 2 and 3 decks at night and thats one of the things that make the hotel great.We met people from all over the world.And yes they were working on the road out front and like any town that does road work one learns to live with it,hey its their town and like any town work has to be done.
for the price and for what you get its a steal.And yes i partied with Santa like we have been doing for years,it wouldn't be the same without him.
So if your not one of the people that has to show you that they pay 100s a day for a ROOM and just want a clean bed and shower the hotel vistalmar is a great deal.if you don't like meeting people the vistalmar isn't for you,everyone says hello and wants to meet you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Seems that all of the Canadians congregate on the second floor for most of the evenings. They were very ignorant of the fact that others are trying to sleep. Many nights they were so loud that we could not get to sleep until after 1 a.m. Management did very little to keep the noise down for the rest of the visitors.

Also, the second floor Canadians were not very friendly and very territorial. When sitting at "their" tables or using "their" chairs, we were told that they belonged to them.

If you are looking for a place to kick back for some peace and quiet, this is not the place to come.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Pros: Cheap, location
Cons: dirty, clientel, roadwork in front and noise at night in general, no hot water

I stayed here for a few days and thought this place reminded me of an early retirement community home. Most people knew each other and while I have problems with loud Americans in general, most of those I met were loud Canadians. If you are under the age of 50, don't drink, or are looking for anything more than a 1 star hotel, this is not the place for you.

The room was quite filthy and the second day there I had to ask for the room to be cleaned...they swept the dirt right outside the door step lol. The shower would turn on hot for about 20 seconds and then turn ice cold...impossible to take a shower. The furniture on the landing/social area looks like it is from the junkyard.

At night the noise was unbearable at times. One night the workers in the street had their radio blasting right in front of the hotel...guess where they were working? down a block. I asked the front desk guy if he could have them lower it and he said no. I went out and turned it off (the radio in their car).

If you are not one of the long-term annual guests that are aged 50 or above you are not going to feel comfortable here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

This was our 20 year on the third floor in the same room.Each year we stay about 2 1/2 months and always have a great time.
the friends that we meet each year is always worth the wait until next year.
for the price one really can't beat the vistalmar.
http://vistalmarens.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

The Vistalmar is a very basic hotel...exactly what you pay for so don't expect a fancy resort. Our room consisted of 2 small double beds, a vanity, bedside table, closet and bathroom. The shared veranda is a great place to sit and start or end your day. Everyone we met was very friendly and always said Hi! Our room was on the 2nd floor towards the back of the hotel, so we had no problem with noise at all. The only negatives I could find was the lack of places to put your clothes and that the bathrooms could use a bit of updating...our sink only had a cold tap and the facilities were dated, but they worked so I can't really complain. For the price we paid we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was always spotlessly clean and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marcianito
Hotel Marcianito
#20 of 36 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'Gomar
Hotel D'Gomar
#26 of 36 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Francis Arlene Hotel
Francis Arlene Hotel
#22 of 36 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#19 of 36 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#28 of 36 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#18 of 36 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vistalmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistalmar Hotel

Address: Avenida Rueda Medina s/n., Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Vistalmar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistalmar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.