We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Good Company!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soggy Peso

Soggy Peso
Isla Mujeres, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
998-274-0050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 166 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Mexico, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Company!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My hubby and I went here for the first time (and 2 more times) last year while we were spending 8 days on Isla Mujeres. He had seen some reviews of the place on line and thought he wanted to check it out. It was a little difficult to locate but worth the search.

The food was fantastic. Especially on Sundays when they smoke ribs! Mmmmm. The atmosphere is laid back and nobody is a stranger. The owner and employees and even the "regulars" treat you like they have known you your whole life.

The grounds are small but lush. There is a stairway down to the shore where there are beach chairs and an umbrella. Some days there is even a giant iguana hanging around sunbathing.

I would say The Soggy Peso should be a "Must" on the to-do list of any and everyone over the age of 30 who visits the island..


*** There is also a cute 4 room mini-hotel that is part of The Soggy Peso but I will not review it as I never stayed there. However you can see part of it in some of my photos.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    102
    34
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“An island favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Every Christmas my family heads down to Isla and Soggy Peso is one of our all time favorite spots! Best margaritas on the island and such great atmosphere. Goosey is our favorite bartender and he makes some awesome drinks! Be sure to go on Shrimp Taco day...Seriously, they are one of the best things I have ever eaten in my entire life. The crunchy shrimp, fresh tortilas and fresh vegitables topped with that spicy chipotle mayo...to die for! I am already counting the days until we can return to the Soggy Peso this coming Christmas!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft worth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Do not miss the ribs on Sunday... Really really good! We enjoyed our time at the soggy...A lot of the expats hang out here..we met an array of colorful characters ... It is much smaller than it looks in the pictures.. We will return to the soggy on our next visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware County, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Get your bar-b-q fix at Soggy Peso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just one special a day - that's all you get. Our time to go was on Sunday for their Texas bar-b-q. Then on Tues (I think) is their Cheeseburger in Paradise day. Good burger! Always friendly people around to talk to. Great marguaritas, but be careful. More than one and you'll be soggy...errr....sorry.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Been going here for about 5 years now and every time I am pleased. Whether it's great food or drinks, I'm never disappointed. The atmosphere is fun and the owners always make sure you're having a great time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soggy Peso also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Soggy Peso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soggy Peso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.