We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and in great need of painting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Xul-ha

Hotel Xul-ha
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Xul-ha
Save Saved
You added Hotel Xul-ha to your Saves list
Av. Hidalgo 23, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Chatham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“cheap and in great need of painting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel was cheap and very central. We found our room to be a good size but dingy and in desperate need of painting. The bed was well used and lacking in comfort. The bathroom was a good size and had plenty of hot water. The passageways had cleaning brooms and mops piled in corners and gave an un-kept look to the hotel. The central walls had large patches of black mould on them where water dripped. The central garden vegetation was sparse and the area was often used to store garbage before being disposed of. The staff were friendly. We moved to another hotel with similar pricing and much more pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is a great, centrally based hotel with welcoming and obliging staff. It's no frills, but quite adequate and above all, clean.

However, we had a bad experience with the Tours and Info Bureau attached to the hotel.

The day before we were due to leave we purchased a pre-paid taxi from Pt. Jaurez to Cancun airport. Unfortunately, the taxi never arrived and we had no means of contacting the agent (despite having a receipt, there was no telephone contact number). We were forced to take another taxi to the airport ($35).

We don't recommend buying a pre-paid taxi because there are plenty of fixed rate taxis to be hired at Pt. Juarez.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Wonderful place to stay, my room was clean, had cable tv (saw a lot of Big
Bang Theory!), plenty of hot water, very good location and very inexpensive. Lupita, the young assistant, was very friendly and welcoming, though her English is limited. I asked for blanket, as it was cold at night, didn't need fan, and she was very obliging. If you need extra towels, soap or anything to be comfortable, just ask!! The place is a block to some wonderful beach areas at the very end of Playa Norte, fronting several hotels, i.e. Cabanas del Mar, Buhio restaurant. You don't need to rent beach chairs or umbrellas if you only want to spread your beach towel. The beach in front of Jax restaurant is very good, too. Lots of places to eat, Alexia & Giovanny by the marketplace, very good chilaquilles, La Cazuela for breakfast eggs, Aluxes cafe for house coffee with warm milk, you can buy fresh baked bread at Super Express grocery to drink with your coffee, rotisserie chicken across from the hotel for inexpensive lunch, the "cart" across the street and next to the cemetery for tacos, Sesso Locos and El Bruja in the colonias for some good local eats, Rene and Renee for inexpensive local comida. Also, look for lady selling tamale by the main beach, the lady selling empanadas and flan near the church, the "marquesitas" truck again by the main beach, and the fresh orange juice cart on Madero, and Tino the rib man on Sundays across from the PADI dive shop, again on Madero. I will be back, this island has lots to offer in terms of simple pleasures and good eats!!! Very easy to get from Cancun airport by taking public ADO bus outside the terminal, around $3.15 (40 pesos) for 25 minute ride to central downtown Cancun, then there is a collectivo for $.45, outside of main terminal, go to the right, and look for big McDonald sign, take collectivo marked "Gran Puerto", about 10 minutes, and it will drop you off right in front of Ultramar ferry. Ferry ride is 15 minutes and cost 70 pesos, make sure you buy ticket one way as they will sell you ticket round trip. As soon as you get off ferry, walk to left, and go to end of the malecon, Jax restaurant will be in front of you, cross the street, walk two more blocks, turn right on Hidalgo, and you will find Xul-ha, right in front of XS Hostel. Hidalgo is pedestrian main street for tons of restaurants and shops. Oh, by the way, the massage offered in front of the beach is only USD $35 for one hour. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

This hotel is on a main street, across the narrow road from a few bars, so it get very loud at closing time. I was very glad I brought earplugs. We paid extra for an air-conditioned room, but they didn't give us the remote for the air conditioning until the 3rd or 4th day. There was no shower curtain or towels (again, the towels came a day or two later than we did), and the beds were small and hard (two people in one bed is crowded). The staff was very friendly, though, and always smiling. We got our room for 400 pesos/night, which is cheap, and if you're looking to be frugal, this place is what you're after. If I go to Isla again, I will gladly pay extra to stay in the sea-side hotels, as they are out-of-the-way enough not to be noisy at night, and they are bound to be more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooshjigarjoon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Xul-ha was great. Clean, BASIC. but all you really need is a/c which they have. My boyfriend and I were pleased since we didn't have to spend a lot on a hotel we only slept in and had more $$ to do other cool things. and the location on the island is ideal too. Maid + staff friendly, helpful. Very simple place. I also had no problem dialing from my work phone the # and confirming booking later on since they have no internet site.

  • Liked — Cheap!!! and A/C, fridge
  • Disliked — no safe, but we had no problems
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoban
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

great location quite clean but some corners get "missed" good sized rooms clean working refrigerator 3 room lights ceiling fan AND airconditioning reasonably quiet ie no traffic but some evening bar and party noise

  • Liked — at the end of the stroll strip and at the best of beaches
  • Disliked — it was good value
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

When a buddy of mine and my brother went to Cancun a few years back, we went to Isla for a day trip. We stumbled onto the Xul-Ha hotel, and at the time it was $15 for a room with a fan, or $25 with AC. What a deal! AND the rooms were very clean, with showers, TV -- just the basics. It was a really good value. It's right downtown, so the "action" is right in front of you. And it's just a quick walk away from the beach. We liked Isla and the hotel so much that we stayed a couple extra days. I hope it is still as nice, as I am taking my girlfriend there in December. Happy travelling!

  • Liked — Value, clean, central
  • Disliked — No pool, minimalist
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a Spanish speaker to make reservations. They are not very fluent in English.
  • Stayed October 2003, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Xul-ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xul-ha

Address: Av. Hidalgo 23, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 279

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Xul-ha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.