We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but dated hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Osorio

Hotel Osorio
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Osorio
Save
You added Hotel Osorio to your Saves list
Avs. Juarez and Francisco Madero, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean but dated hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I read about this hotel on tripadvisor and thought it would be good value. No website, just a phone so I called and used my booked a room for 300 peso/night, about $24 tax included. Not sure if there was tax, when I checked in all I did was give the young girl cleaning the rooms 600 pesos for two nights. Should have asked for a receipt to prove I paid for 2 nights but there was no problem.

An easy walk from the pier, maybe 2 blocks at most. Central location so quick walk to most places, maybe 4 blocks to the beach. Lots of small shops and restaurants all over the place. I recommend the cocina economicas, small restaurants where the locals eat. Had some great tasty meals for about 60 pesos. Small laundry about a block away, did my laundry in two hours for 60 pesos. Liquor store right across the street, any time I got thirsty I stopped by and bought a beer for 13 pesos.

Took a room on the 3rd floor. No air conditioning, just a ceiling fan. Daytime temps were around 28 celcius so hot evenings weren't a problem. Although the room was clean it was a little dated with faded paint and paint chips in the wall. Electrical switches and outlets were about 50 years old. Shower head was rusted, there was warm water, mirror was faded and tough to see my reflection when shaving. No safe in the room. Relatively quiet at night although you could still hear street noise. Mornings were noisy, I think another poster mentioned the rooster, sure enough it started crowing at sunrise, luckily I turned in early both nights so getting up early wasn't a problem. Didn't see any bugs in the room and no mosquitoes despite no glass in the windows, just wooden louvres.

Anyway, I recommend this hotel for the value and the fact that I enjoy basic accommodations as long as they are clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
5
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Osorio for 4 nights, it is situated very close in walking distance to the ferry harbor and also to the main street of Isla Mujeres.

There are two types of rooms available, with or without AC. As the hotel was almost fully booked and I didn't place a reservation beforehand the only choice I got was a double room without AC but with a ceiling fan, which was 300 Pesos per night. The room was situated on the floor above the reception. It is very spacious, not very clean but not dirty either at an average hostel level I would say. The beds and linen were clean, the mattresses have seen better days, no real comfort here.

As the room had no real glass windows and not a mosquito net on everyone of them, I've been attacked by some of them during night. The hotel is close to the main street so you might hear some noise from (most likely) drunken people passing by. One night I was seriously bothered by a group of guests from the hotel who came home around 5 o'clock in the morning and kept partying in front of their rooms. The following nights there were no disturbances whatsoever..

Overall I think it is a good budget place to stay, especially for backpackers. If you plan to be outside most of the time and don't expect a cozy hotel but more of a hostel it will be alright!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semporna, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Once we visited Isla and decided to move from Cancun, I read reviews and decided to check out Osorio. We were blown away by the price - 300 pesos (about $25 US right now) for a very basic room for 2 with no A/C. They did offer rooms with A/C, fridge, & tv for 500 pesos (about $42), but we were planning to hang out mostly at the beach and in town, so we opted for the budget route. We got exactly that - very basic, but clean, with friendly staff. Great location right in the middle of town, close to beach, ferry, restaurants, etc. I slept fine at night, but we did wake up early in the mornings thanks to some nearby roosters. Would come back if I wanted a very good deal!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We traveled with a group of 10 adults, ages 22-72, to Isla Mujeres for a week starting Dec 31 2010. The Osorio has a big wonderful roof-top terrace where we spent cocktail hour every evening. There's plenty of room to play games, hang up the clothesline, use the internet from the restaurant across the street. The rooms are clean, not fancy, but who wants to spend vacation watching TV in an air-conditioned room? The hotel is located 2 blocks from the ferry, about 3 blocks from the North Beach & 2 blocks from town square with nightly basketball games. It's hard to make a real reservation (we did have a Spanish-speaking friend call since our group was big). Rooms were 300 pesos per night, 500 pesos for AC/TV/mini-fridge room & we were there in the high season.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed there one night, but would have add an other one if we didn't have a reservation in an other city the following night.
The hotel is well situated on the Island, not even 2 minutes walk to the beach, scuba diving shops (try Oceanic), bicycle rental shops, and many restaurants (try Picus).
The family that owns the place gives a great service (only in Spanish) and accept to keep your luggage even after check-out.
The only suggestion would be to do some work in the bathroom since ours had some mildew problems and unsafe apparent-wires lighting connections (just on top of the shower).
Besides that, we really recommand this place that present a good quality-price, especially for this highly touristic location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

The hotel itself is clean and well maintained. However it only has shutters as windows so it can be a bit noisy from about 7.00 on with the traffic outside, or earlier with the Americans. Good location, pretty cheap , generally good if you don't mind getting up early as it's very quiet at night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

Please keep in mind that this is not a fancy resort type place. That being said, it is a clean, friendly hotel 1 block off of the beach. I went to Isla Mujeres with my 2 children (I'm female) and felt very safe. The hotel owners live downstairs in the hotel, and sit outside most of the day and evening and have a small gate at the entrance so that people cannot just walk in off the street. They speak mostly Spanish, but some English. For a triple room I paid $300 Mexican Pesos, about $24USD right now!! It was a great deal. The hotel was clean - did not see any insects or things crawling around. The linens were a bit worn, and the beds are not high quality, but we slept great. There is noise from outside from people, mopeds, and cars late into the night, so bring ear plugs (we slept ok without).

There wasn't a safe in the room, but I never asked if the owners had one in the small office. I would definately return here, as it is an inexpensive place to lay your head and centrally located to everything. It's no frills, but clean.

Quick note: The walking directions from a previous review are perfect - we used them to get to the hotel. To get to the island, we took the cheapest way possible to save money - from the Airport we took an ADO shuttle to the downtown bus/tour bus station ($40Mexican Pesos each), and from there crossed the street and took a "collectiva" local bus for $5Mexican Pesos each to Puerto Juarez to catch the ferry to Isla Mujeres. For the collectiva just stand with everyone else, and when you see one that has "Puerto Juarez" written on it, wave it down and get in.

Can't wait to go back in March!

  • Liked — Price and location.
  • Disliked — Low quality beds/linens.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Osorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osorio

Address: Avs. Juarez and Francisco Madero, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Osorio Hotel Isla Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Osorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.