We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted Evening of Hibiscus and Other Delights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limon

Limon
Calle Lizeta, Half a block up from Super Xpress Supermarket, | Colonia La Gloria, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
+52 998 130 1924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 147 restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dallas TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enchanted Evening of Hibiscus and Other Delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We are longtime customers of Sergio Contreras Martinez, from his days owning and operating Playa Sol Beach Club and restaurant. We have been looking forward to visiting the restaurant Limon, that he has opened in his home in Colonia La Gloria, with his wife Charrissa Gillingham.

We were impressed with the decor of the restaurant, it is modern in design without being pretentious: simple and straight forward. Soft lighting in the indoor areas make the dining room spaces comfortable and encouraging.

We were fortunate to get a great table in the outdoor courtyard area (we made advance reservations) and we absolutely loved the courtyard space for dining. Very romantic and very comfortable. If you make a reservation, you should really consider requesting the courtyard, remembering that on warm nights it might be better to sit inside in the air conditioning. This first visit of ours was on Boxing Day (Dec 26) so dining outdoors was a true delight.

The dining was also a delight. We started with the house margaritas, these are made to order (we heard the blender coming from the kitchen) no pre-mix Slurpee machine here, as Sergio is a master mixologist as well as a fine host and chef. The margaritas were well balanced, not too strong nor too sweet.

Next was an amuse-bouche of a fresh tuna paste served with pita. This did exactly what it was supposed to do, prepare the taste buds and tongue for the main events to come.

We shared appetizers of tomato salad and Tacos de Jamaica, or hibiscus. These tacos are one of the specialties of the house: Sergio sautees hisbiscus flowers with bell peppers and then stuffs the mixture into flour tortillas, wraps and rolls the tacos which are then grilled on a flat top. Sergio serves these with fresh made-to-order guacamole and pico de gallo. A very unique taco, a great appetizer when shared or a perfect entree for vegetarians or anyone who wants a change of pace. My dining companion said she might order the Hibiscus Tacos next time.

The tomato salad was not as unique but was still delicious, thinly sliced tomato in a garlic vinegarette, most suitable and complementary to the Tacos de Jamaica.

The main course for us this evening was fresh tuna steak, on Sergio's recommendation. He presented us with a beautiful tuna loin for our approval, and we almost gasped at the vibrant color and absolute freshness of this fine fish. We all agreed the best way to cook this would be to sear it on the grill.

Another delight of the courtyard is the grill. We got to watch as Sergio grilled our tuna, and I got in there and took a photo of the tuna on the grill, Sergio has several beef steaks and other delights on the menu, and I look forward to the next adventure on this outdoor grill.

The plating of the tuna steak was really beautiful. Sergio and his sous chef (his nephew) made a tart reduction sauce with more of the hibiscus, the citrus in this reduction sauce brought out different flavor notes than the Tacos de Jamaica we had as appetizers. On a small pool of the hibiscus sauce, Sergio parked the tuna steak, along with a mound of yellow rice and a mixed vegetable rollup.

We both absolutely adored the tuna steak: seared on the outside and rare in the middle and everything I had hoped it would be. A memorable chunk of fish and fresh beyond compare>

We finished the meal with spirits in snifters, and as it was later and most of the other guests had finished and left, we got to visit with the owner/chef Sergio for a while, also a memorable end to a memorable meal>

We will return, probably several times on this visit to Isla Mujeres, and hopefully many more times on future visits to the island. I became an instant fan of Limon.

Relaxed but modern, modern but comfortable, comfortable but still fine dining, fine dining with a nod to tradition and Mexican influences.

This is great for couples and friends, and I hope you will try it too,.

Next time I think I will have the filet mignon in four chiles sauce...but that's another review.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate that you took the time to include so many details. Also, thank you for including photos. Feedback is always appreciated and your positive feedback is very encouraging! We feel that you experienced the essence of Limón that we have aimed to create! Thank you for dining at Limón! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    222
    18
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a very pleasant experience at Limon. Sergio was very helpful in every way, from making a chocolate milk for our 12 yr old son to making the food and being very professional and friendly in the service. Limon is a diamond in the rough. Check it out, you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and for dining at Limón.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food at Limon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's not in the downtown, but take a quick cab ride to Limon for 30 pesos and you will not be disappointed. We returned for a second time. Plan for a relaxing meal. The food we had was very good, including Tuna tartar, coconut shrimp, filet mignon, tuna steak etc. There is lots of great food on Isla, but Limon stands out for fresh food and service. A full meal of appys, mains, drinks and wine set us back $80 - quite reasonable really.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. When people return to dine at Limón it is always such a compliment! So glad you enjoyed your meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food on Isla Mujeres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Chef Sergio and his staff are the best! ,order the stuffed jalepenos....you will not be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the stuffed jalepenos, but unfortunately they are not on our set menu, they were a special that night. Thank you for dining at Limón.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Perfect date night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I went to Limon on our last night at Isla Mujeres. We were there on our honeymoon and wanted to find a nice, romantic dinner spot, and Limon was just what we were looking for. We were seated in the patio/garden area, and it was nice and quiet. Sergio came to our table and introduced himself as the owner and chef. He let us know that it was Margarita Monday and that the first margarita was on the house -- we took him up on his offer, and it was great! We asked Sergio what his recommendations were, and he helped us pick out some great dishes. I fell in love with the hibiscus tacos! I am back in Maryland now and still craving those hibiscus tacos. The whole dinner was great, and Sergio was a great host. At the end of dinner, we had a few pieces of meat left, so I asked Sergio to pack up just the meat (I wanted to feed the stray dogs and cats on our walk back to the hotel). He came back with the meat cut into small pieces, perfect for feeding the island's pets! My husband and I had a great experience at Limon, and we can't wait to go back when we visit the island again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening at Limón. How wonderful that you liked our romantic garden setting! Thanks for your review and for visiting Limón!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limon also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.