We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful dinner on Isla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limon

Limon
Calle Lizeta , Colonia la Gloria | Colonia La Gloria, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
+52 998 130 1924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 152 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hutchinson, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful dinner on Isla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic dinner in a romantic setting. A beautiful dinner that would be hard to top. I had hibiscus tacos that were superb. Great service from Sergio and Ray. We will be back the week of November 10-17 and can't wait to visit there again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for dining with us and for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    23
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Out of all of Isla Mujeres- Limón is not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This restaurant gave me my new favorite dish, Hibiscus Tacos. I know, I know. Sounds strange, but I'm telling you, they are spectacular! The steak was phenomenal. It came with a parcel of veggies and scalloped potatoes that were sublime. My girlfriends got the pasta primavera, which I tasted and it was delicate and flavorful. A great meal, not heavy on the stomach. We also got the chicken with peanut sauce to share and it too, did not miss. (especially when we ate leftovers at 2am). Haha!

Sergio, the proprietor and chef is very kind and thoughtful. I found him to be very service oriented but with a kind soul. He even let us taste another of his sauces, just because. It was low season, so the place wasn't busy, but still, he took time with us without being pushy. I very much liked him. I asked him where he went to culinary school, because I was certain that this kind of fusion cooking had to come from some school. He told me he never went to school. He learned from his mamá (maybe the food is infused with love, you can definitely see that it is infused with culinary passion), and also he watches cooking shows. He is amazing! I've never had a better experience.

Now, to find it. If you are looking at the Express Grocery Store's front door, look at the uphill street to your left. Limón is almost exactly next door to the grocery on that street. It has a terra cotta front with glass doors. We ate outback in the courtyard, but the dining room is lovely!

Enjoy!

2 appetizers, 4 entrees including steak, one cocktail and three sodas cost $74 American dollars. Phenomenal value!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you so much for writing this review. We especially appreciate you giving directions on how to find us! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals and evening at Limón. Thank you for choosing to dine at Limón!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic dining experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went into Limon while on vacation and we were treated like family from the moment we arrived! The food was incredible! Great variety and flavor. The atmosphere was chic but relaxed. The food was obviously prepared with love from start to finish. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are always happy to hear that people will return to Limón! Thank you so much for you review and for visiting Limón!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eclectic island dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

As travelers from Europe we have been impressed by Sergio hospitality from start to finish. He was not only a pleasant host but also an outstanding chef. The menu choices varies from traditional Mexican to international cuisine, and we opted for a combination including vegetarian dishes and sea food, that in one word was excellent. We wish Sergio and his family the best of luck, and we use this opportunity to thank again for this experience during our island holiday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and well wishes. Thank you for dining at Limón!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of top 3 on Isla Mujeres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Sunday evening we had dinner at Limon and met one of the owners, Sergio. Here we had another excellent meal, good wine and excellent service. Sergio was upset because his Trip Adviser rank fell from 4th to 20th due to one bad rating by a couple who took the carefully prepared parts of the meal and change them such that the parts were no longer complimentary. There is no way this restaurant should not be in the top three on the island. Getting to Limon in our golf cart was interesting. The only island maps we could find had only a few downtown street name. We had a street name, Lizeta, but no one knew where it was and our IPad map app showed no street names, just numbers? Sergio explained that the street names were all given in the last two years and not many people know them. I suggest you print ot some satellite maps before you go. Limon is in a section of the island identified as La Gloria on the Ipad map app.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We appreciate your review,thank you! We are flattered that you think Limón should be in the top 3 restaurants on Isla! Thank you for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limon also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.