We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique and Special Dining Experience on Isla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limon

Limon
Calle Lizeta , Colonia la Gloria | Colonia La Gloria, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
+52 998 130 1924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 151 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Eastchester, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Unique and Special Dining Experience on Isla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Sergio, long time owner of Sergio's Playa Sol, has given us a new and wonderful Isla dining experience, his new restaurant, Limon. It is unique because it is a sophisticated dining experience outside of El Centro, in Colonia La Gloria. Sergio and his wife, Charissa, have created a beautiful atmosphere for their new venture. The crisp black and white theme, the lovely little dining garden, the cozy feeling to it all, make it very special and very different for Isla Mujeres. Sergio and Charissa are always on hand to welcome you, the waiters are friendly and funny, even the chefs come out to thank you for coming. Wow!

The menu is extensive and has many unique and wonderful choices. Fish, Steaks, chicken, pork, vegetarian...whatever your preferences, you will find something to satisfy your palate on this menu. I went with a group of friends, each of us having something different. The steak arranchera...cut with a fork! Oh, the pork ribs will be my next meal there! Pasta with seafood, my friend loved it and he is a tough critic. Freshest of fresh fish for my other friend, I think it was grouper. We shared hibiscus tacos for appetizer and bruschetta...who ever heard of hibiscus tsacos? They were fabulous.

Sergio has two culinary-trained chefs in his kitchen, they are young and innovative. We loved everything we had and there is no doubt I will be back there very soon!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Than you so much for your lovely review of Limón. We really appreciate you taking the time to write it, thank you! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience at Limón!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    23
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“truly mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

excellent place, the food is to die for, the menu is so nice, so many options it's hard to pick something to eat, but every single dish is amazing. i just wanna say tnx for a wonderfull evening good job guys !!!!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your evening at Limón!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“another isla destination!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Great job sergio.
the lobster sergio style was fantastic. and the mussles are awesome.
service and decor was right on .thanks for a great evening.we will be back on our next visit.
keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thanks so much for your review, we appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Isla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elegant from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Great food, elegant presentation,attractive environment. We loved it

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Glad to hear you loved Limón! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I were very happy to try Sergio and Charrissa's new restaurant Limon.
The decor and food were well beyond what we expected. We decided to try two different meals so we could share both. The hibiscus tacos were fantastic, the pork with pipian chile sauce was delicious. Both the wait staff and chefs made us feel at home and answered any and all questions. Our meals and drinks were charged lower than I would have expected for such an outstanding meal. Koudis to Sergio and Charrissa for bringing this classy venue to LaGloria. We look forward to many more meals at Limon

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio C, Owner at Limon, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Limón. Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limon also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.