We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elements of the Island

Elements of the Island
Ave Juarez 64, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
0052 998 274 0098
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 166 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wow, what a gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Everything is excellent here. The homemade breads and fruit spreads are addicting. The coffee and frothed milk (brought in small container for each person) is strong and good. It's a small cafe, but extremely well done. We ate here twice and will definitely visit again next trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Breakfast of Champions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Not only a great breakfast for Isla which is really saying something,but great for anywhere. Get the combo. Coffee, juice, homemade bread and jam and then your entree. All for around $8 US . The owner is Parisian. Very friendly service. On Juaerz near North beach

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“TRES TRES BON!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Elements of the Island remains - after a change of ownership and many many subsequent visits - one of my absolute favorite spots for breakfast (they also serve lunch, although I'm always there for breakfast). (The only problem being they're closed on Wed). Whatever they do they do extremely well and if you're looking for a quiet spot with fantastic home-made breads, jams, and plenty of other delicious choices, look no further! Add a couple of lovely French owners - mais oui! - and it all adds up to an Isla Mujeres winner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Homemade bread and marmalade, a good, strong cup of coffee, tasty breakfast dishes. We ate there daily we enjoyed it so much. Very pleasant staff, too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh bread makes this breakfast spot shine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Elements is a tiny cafe on Juarez street on Isla Mujeres. We went there for breakfast after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. My husband ordered the Juevos Mexicana, fried eggs served on tortillas with beans and red sauce. This dish was excellent. I ordered the fresh fruit plate, filled with sweet pears, bananas, watermelon, cantaloupe and some Brie. The coffee was hot, flavorful and plentiful. The meal came with a glass of fresh squeezed orange juice which proved to be a great treat. I have saved the best part of our meal for the end of my review. The meal was served with fresh toasted homemade bread. It was amazing, especially when paired with the homemade preserves ( pineapple, banana and pear) and a red pepper jelly as well. Served with soft creamy butter - amazing. The staff was friendly and helpful. The meal was delightful and we will definitely return. I hope this cafe is here when we return again to Isla. Wonderful meal

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elements of the Island also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Elements of the Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elements of the Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.