We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food, setting and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Kan-Kin

Maria's Kan-Kin
Km. 4.5 Carretera al Parque El Garrafon, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
+52 998 877 0015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 166 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful food, setting and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A bit out of the way close to Garrafon Park at the south end of the island, but such nice change from the street dining scene in town. Open air dining, but with protection from rain if it happens, and a creative menu with pastas and local fish, chcken, etc.
Excellent fried calamari, snapper on mashed potatoes with capers, and grouper all perfectly done. Agostina is a warm and charming hostess who makes you feel truly welcome and appreciated- very refreshing! Even our two young daughters found it their best meal(s), although they found their first dish with Salmon and alfredo with ginger a bit strong on the ginger, however it was a minor issue which Agostina quickly and positivly resolved.
We dined at Maria's twice during our holiday and can easily say they were the two best meals that we had on the island.
Only disappointment would be because of the limited wine selection, especially with food this well conceived and prepared, however this is the case with almost all of the restaurants on Isla Mujeres. Doesn't have to be extensive, and I appreciate that it may not be the easiest place to get decent wine, but I wish more restaurants would at least provide a full bodied and a medium bodied wine in both a red and a white. And serve the reds at the proper temperature in the low 60's, not 70- 80 degrees as is often the case...I digress.
Having said that, both the red and the white served here, I believe Argentinian, were reasonably priced and for the cost, quite acceptable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    21
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food on the island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

You have to try Chef Sebastian's local fish with a creamy sauce he makes from scratch and a variety of local seafood. The Shrimp Skewer was another taste treat. We ate there three times and enjoyed everything, including Wednesday night Cuban music.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This place is a bit off the beaten path but once you find it...it is well worth it.
The restaurants nestled in a little cove, for a lack of a better word, is right next to the ocean.
Pool along side of restaurant with a small beach.
With about 9 rooms that one could rent and not even have to leave your hide away.
The Gerente...Agostina Montilla and Chef de Cuisine...Sebastian Birarda are fabulous.
The food that Sebastian made for us was wonderful...I had the Grouper with a herb cram sauce...yummy!!!
And Agostina maked sure that all our needs were met.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening.....great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is a hidden gem.My husband, son and I walked down a dark driveway not knowing what to expect.We discovered a wonderful restaurant operated by a young Argentinian couple...Sebastian is the chef and Agostina the manager.Both the food and service were exceptional.We ordered the calamari as an appetizer to share.It was very good.I had the Mediterranean fish dish(grouper),my husband had the chicken and my son had the daily catch(hogfish). All were delicious and beautifully presented.The portions were plentiful and reasonably priced.We highly recommend Maria's Kan Kin!! It is far from Centro but definitely worth the visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome view and nice welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We went there by chance and we were amazed. Great view with a private beach and a swimming pool. The food was nice and prices not that high. We highly recommand this place to have a nice stay and just spend time aside from the touristic places. We didn't stay overnight

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Kan-Kin also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Maria's Kan-Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Kan-Kin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.