We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Ibette, food good too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bufalo

Bufalo
620 Jesus Martinez Ross | Col, Salina Chica, a unos casas del Veterinario Delfino, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
+52 2747003
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 167 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Grill
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved Ibette, food good too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Never had such wonderful conversation with an owner of a place before. Good food cooked by her husband, lovely smoothies and brilliant conversations!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Qu'Appelle, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We love it when out of the way places are recommended to us. Bufalo's is a great "hole in the wall " sidewalk restaurant that is probably best found by asking a taxi to take you.
We tried the huaraches and quesadillas. Made from fresh ingredients, the portions were substantial and the price more than reasonable.
The people who run the restaurant are very friendly and speak very good English.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The food was average we tried hamburgers soup tacos a d empanadas. Was a slow night business wise but we will give its other shot

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“They offer delivery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've had this place a few times now - once delivery and the other time take out.

The first time my husband and I both ordered Chinese. We shared an order of orange chicken and some other type of chicken. I thought it was pretty good, but wasn't super amazing. My husband, on the other hand, really enjoyed the orange chicken. It also came with egg rolls, which were pretty good. We also ordered some soup, which was really tasty. It had a mix of different things in it, noodles, chicken, avocado, etc.

The owner also makes this really good drink - jugo paraiso. It was amazing. When my husband went to get take out, he ordered it for me and sampled some after ordering. He wished he would have ordered it for himself, which is unusual because he normally never drinks juice. I'm not sure exactly what was in it, but I know there was pineapple juice for sure. Either way, I highly recommend it!

The next time my husband opted for the orange chicken again, while I decided to order some Mexican. I went with the Flautas - which were really good. There wasn't a lot of meat inside, but they were the perfect amount of crunchy and filling.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

El Bufalo is, hands down, our new favorite "go to" spot. A little hard to find, this neighborhood spot is currently offering local fare (tacos, huaraches, salbutes, hamburguesas and more) along with some chinese food at present. The couple who own the restaurant are lovely and speak a bit of english. Manuel, the chef, trained in the large hotels in Cancun and he definitely knows his way around the kitchen. An array of delicious sauces and fresh fruit drinks are made by Ibette and her friendly smile will welcome you when you arrive. Meats are grilled curbside and everything is freshly prepared. On our last visit, we enjoyed huaraches (a large flat homemade tortilla covered with meat, beans, lettuce and drizzled with crema, spiced to our liking by the array of sauces on the table (most of which i could eat with a spoon!). We were far too full to partake of the cookies or pie (baked by an american friend of Ibette's) but they looked delicious! Total cost for dinner--2 huaraches, 2 beverages (no alcohol) 80 pesos! A plate of chinese food is 50 pesos. It can be a little tricky to find this place...as you are heading south out of town, take the airport road and then after Da Luisa stay inland through Salina Chica. another block or so on your left, look for the house with the painted window and walls, courtesy of a local artist. There's a white barrel grill out front and a couple of tables on the sidewalk. El Bufulo is also serving breakfast now.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bufalo also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Bufalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bufalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.