We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lola Valentina

Lola Valentina
North Hildago Street | Pedestrian street in centro...beach end, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 166 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For food lovers looking for creative Mexican and Caribbean Seafood using local and the freshest of ingredients. This restaurant puts out some of the best plates on Isla Mujeres. Stop by and taste the difference everyday 8am-qpm & 5pm-10:30. Smiling faces await to serve you!
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We were on our third visit to the Island and our second visit to Lola Valentina, it was very good local cuisine, good service and a most enjoyable evening.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    107
    46
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I'm not wanting to go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I enjoyed the food but the waitress didn't ask for my drink order, also the waitress started taking our order then half way though she went to a different table then came back to us. There food was very good, it is in a nice location. Some of the people are very nice who work there. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LolaValentina, Owner at Lola Valentina, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hola. We are happy you enjoyed our food and our newly renovated space. I apologize if there was a confusion with your waitress and the service you recieved. As the owner, I personally check on every table and often ask if you have questions or have decided on your orders. I may have been at fault for not introducing myself clearly. If this was the case,, we sincerely apologize again and hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Knocked My Socks Off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This new dining endeavor is a star on Avenue Hidalgo, a street full of delicious food. The menu is surprising and innovative and the food is ridiculously good. The drinks, wow, the drinks. Cucumber & Rosemary margarita? Peach & Chipotle maragarita? Believe me, you will be back for more.

On top of the food, the drinks and the gorgeous setting, the staff is delightful, funny and kind. The owner is full of heart and it shows up in every dish.

Try the coconut shrimp and the chocolate empanadas. Please.

And if you have any food sensitivities or allergies, run to this restaurant now.
Vegetarian, Vegan, Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free - they do it all!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant on Isla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Spent almost a week on Isla Dec 10-15, 2013. Ate at Lola's for breakfast and also dinner.

The service is excellent and they cater to special requests from picky people like me....

Definitely a place you want to eat at during your Isla stay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dinner and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great food-we had the garlic shrimp and coconut shrimp. The margaritas were also great. Nice variety of flavored. Will revisit again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Valentina also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lola Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lola Valentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.