We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUmmmmmmmie!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lola Valentina

Lola Valentina
North Hildago Street | Pedestrian street in centro...beach end, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 166 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For food lovers looking for creative Mexican and Caribbean Seafood using local and the freshest of ingredients. This restaurant puts out some of the best plates on Isla Mujeres. Stop by and taste the difference everyday 8am-qpm & 5pm-10:30. Smiling faces await to serve you!
Grand Forks, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YUmmmmmmmie!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

As I suspected,,,,,,this place is a hit with me and my friends! She has opened another outstanding restaurant, everyone at my table had enjoyed their dinners! Anyone planning on having dinner here will not be disappointed! (The owner was the previous owner of Mango Cafe on Isla Mujeres).

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    107
    46
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great addition to Centro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We ate here twice, both times were fabulous. For Breakfast I had this really unique style of french toast that was not so "eggy". Both times all of the people at the table had great meals.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“AMAZING Creamy Lobster Mac & Cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Heard about this new place on TA and decided we would give it a try.

It was a very nice setup and menu was interesting. Our starter was the Gorgonzola dip with roasted red peppers and homemade bread. OMG that was good!! It had a bit of sweet crunch to it and we swallowed that in minutes!

Hubby had a creamy lobster mac & cheese and I had Grouper stuffed with shrimps, lobster and crab. Hubby wanted to scream his dish was so good!
Mine was OK but I was extremely disappointed they used fake crab meat (what I call Pollock) in my fish. I would’ve appreciated my dish without the imitation crab. I thought to myself, why on earth would a restaurant on this island use fake crab meat in a dish?

And just because of this, I didn't rate it Excellent. But Yes I would definitely go back but will not be having the stuffed fish.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“excellent food- a bit pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

the fusion of carribbean and spicy mexican- we had coconut shrimp starter with yucutan pork and plantains- it was yummy!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Beautiful location, our food was edible at best. One of us had lobster mac and cheese and it was terrible. It seemed like the staff was more worried about setting up for salsa dancing than taking care of the guests with questionable food!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Valentina also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lola Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lola Valentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.